Thumper's curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
I did a curve today, spreadsheet update. Now I don't know how much insulin to give tonight. I reduced it this morning since #'s weren't over 250. Do I continue with 1 unit?
 
Hi Barbara, great job testing.

Looking at your ss, your nadir has been getting later and later which makes me think that the 1.5u was a little too much insulin and now you have removed all dry food and got that flat curve today. I would be tempted to lower your dose to see if the 1 unit is a little too much now.

Robin
 
I don't get the spreadsheet at all, it all gives me a headache! LOL! So, lower to .75 maybe? I'm gonna have to get some different syringes I think & try to figure out that conversion. So, if she has too much insulin it causes the #'s to be high? And I thought I read somewhere to let one dose "regulate" for a few days? I think that's one of my problems....I've read too much info. in the last week & my old brain can't take it. I can't remember any of it!
 
Don't worry about it, none of us got the ss at first, LOL, the learning curve is very steep in the beginning, poor Joanna answered the same questions from me day after day until the light bulb finally came on. :lol: And she's still speaking to me.

We do say to let the dose settle for a few days, but by taking away all dry food and treats her insulin need may have dropped. I would try to eyeball a .5u to .75u and see if her #'s improve a little.

Print out the conversion chart and have it handy for every injection before you switch to the U100 syringes. That said the U100 syringes will make it easier to make smaller adjustments in dosing, be sure to get the ones with the half unit markings.

This will all get easier as you go along.
 
PMPS was 213, odd that it was the same as AMPS. I shot .75 as near as I could since I don't have U100 syringes.
 
Wow, that is one colorful SS. I've got to say it makes my brain go SPLAT too! And I've been looking at these things daily for almost a couple years now, LOL.

I'd say 1.5 seems too high, you know that from the cycles where you got a number to low to shoot at the next shot time. So you are actually in pretty good shape I would say, it's just a matter of doing some experimenting & data gathering to figure out what dose actually works, and you've already got the high end nicely bracketed.

If the 0.75 lands you in higher #s over the next cycle or two, I'd probably try something like 1.25 and see where that lands you. I'd lean more towards thinking the 1u was too low, as flat #s often mean the dose is too low. But really it's kind of a toss-up, you a try a dose change and see what happens. If you get a nice nadir tonight and good PS in the morning, then you went in the right direction on the dose. If the #s just run higher overnight, then you try the other direction.

On the topic of dose settling you can get varied answers, but basically there are two patterns I have seen:

1) They get a good response on cycle 1 but lose that on the following cycles.
2) They don't get much response on cycle 1, but get a better response on cycle 2, 3, or 4 if they get a little overlap between doses.

ECID applies though, and some cats seem to do better on a steady dose, & giving it a few days to settle in. Personally I like holding a dose for 2-3 days (or longer if the data isn't clear or there are practical concerns, like you won't be home to test) when you are on a dose increase path.

If you get mid-cycle #s below 50 or PSs below 150, you want to lower immediately. No dose holding in that case. It's more when you are increasing doses, you want to wait a couple cycles to really see how the dose is working for them before embarking on your next increase.
 
Oh my, what did you say? LOL! I need to print this one out. So, I should contine testing every 2 hrs at least till I go to bed & then try to do every 2 hrs tomorrow also?
 
Updated the spreadsheet. I don't know if I did the right thing or not but since her AMPS was higher I went to 1 unit. I don't know what the 436 @ +2 means but @ +6 she's back down to 269. I didn't get a +4 since I wasn't home. I'm thinking of staying @ the 1 unit this week? I can't really do a curve during the week, most I can do is get a +2 & +4 in the evening.
 
I think a one unit trial is a good idea. I would also routinely test for ketones. And I notice on your spreadsheet, that your No Shoot number is 250. That's higher than we normally suggest, even for newbies. We usually say 200 - as long as the number is headed up.
 
Good grief, I see what your saying Sue. I think I've just confused myself cause I have written down no shoot 200 or lower then unless it's over 250 give reduced dose. Thanks for pointing it out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top