Thumper's AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
Just a quick update & question. I'm at work so I will check back in this evening. I updated her SS, I hope it worked, just in case it didn't. AMPS was 141 I fed them all & she ate, then I retested an hour later. It was 194 & I had to leave so no shot again this morning. This girl likes to keep me on my toes! I will be back with her PMPS # but what the heck? Anyone have any ideas why it drops like this then goes back up? She seems to be acting fine & I decided not to take her in to the vet cause she hates it. When she hears me getting the carrier out she hides....actually they all run & hide. LOL!
 
Just when you think you're figuring out what you're doing, kitty throws a curve ball. Glad Thumper is eating and doing well. Nice #'s this morning. Go Thumper! Looks like you may be heading into micro dose territory. Depending on your tests today, you may want to consider a micro of .25u tonight.

It's early to tell with Thumper. Some kitties take a week or two or even longer to settle into what dose works for them when starting insulin and the diet change, and, for some kitties, the change in diet and support from insulin can allow their pancreas time to heal and start sputtering back. Again, it's a little early to know with Thumper, but I think you can be happy with how well she is doing.
 
Hmmm....didn't check here before I gave her shot. She was @ 315 so I went with .50, she had been 25 hrs without insulin due to the fact that I had to shoot early last night & her #'s were so low this morning.
 
Since Thumper was higher than lasts night's number, I think the .5u is fine. If you get a low-ish number again the next cycle, that would be when you would want to consider a micro dose rather than skipping. It can be a little tricky when you're kitty is getting good #'s but still in the diabetic range. It may turn out that Thumper just needs a tiny amount of insulin to keep her numbers good. Paws crossed.
 
That's not a bad number for a +25.

I think Holly is right, I answered your post about the U100 syringes, you will need to get them and be sure to print out the conversion chart, you are heading into micro dosing at lower numbers to support her P while it heals and then who knows!

I think .5u was just fine for tonight.

Go Thumper!!!!
 
I'm thinking I just need to go to a different pharmacy & pay the price till I really figure out what's what. Can you buy them in smaller quantities?
 
You don't have to pay the extra price if you don't want to. But there is a pay off, I don't think that the BD syringes have the bubble problems that the Relion do.

You can buy the syringes by the 10ct bag.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top