Thumper - Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving. I've just been LAZY! :lol:

Thumper's SS is updated & I increased to 1.8 on Thursday & she's gotten a couple of blue's but we are still fighting the high PS's. She's still the same old mystery.
 
Re: Thumper

Well I will tell you that my vet told me not to worry about the preshots,
its the nadir that matters....
I did not agree until after 6 months all of a sudden out of the blue we are having
all yellow preshots...
hang in there...sometimes it just takes lots of time and patience
 
Re: Thumper

I am so glad you have had time to be lazy. You really deserved that. Hope the increase helps bring down her preshot numbers.
 
Re: Thumper

I'm glad you got to be lazy.

I got sick and went down for the count over the weekend so I ended up being lazy too, it would have been wonderful if I had felt better.

It looks like Thumper likes the 1.8u, you may be starting liver training all over again. Hang in there.
 
Re: Thumper

Sorry you were sick on a holiday weekend! I hope no one was counting on you to cook!

If Thumper was liking the 1.8 I don't think she is anymore. I was surprised to see her AMPS was 100 pts lower than PMPS so I tested 2 more times before I shot. I stayed with the 1.8 but now she's had a pretty flat cycle & I'm thinking she's gonna be high PMPS since +7 was 303. I don't really remember what the PS being lower than the previous one means. I guess I'll stick with 1.8 tonight then I'm thinking I will increase again since I wasn't getting anywhere with a lower dose either. Again I'm confused and is it just me or does it seem no one gets any good results on PZI?
 
Re: Thumper

I think it is that #@$% ECID thing. We do see the newbies that come in, give a couple weeks worth and are OTJ. Then there is someone like Donna and Asher. She is giving a good amount and he is regulated. And Kim and KItty. With her multiple issues, she faces a lot of challenges but generally is doing okay. With some kitties, I am thinking that you get them regulated on a higher dose and they stay there. With some Lantus cats, it is certainly the same. There are some cats who have been on Lantus for years; most are well regulated but they are not close to OTJ.

I was wondering if any of the kitties that switched from ProZinc to Lantus are doing better. I know Sue and Samwise are still struggling with high preshots and low nadirs. Mary and Sumo are still struggling, I think. I do think a couple kitties that went to Levemir went off the juice - like Darlene and Jack. Laura and Harley are doing well on Levemir, I think.

I wonder if some cats are just difficult to regulate - regardless. We do have a number of those - like Thumper and Shakes. And then we get someone like Cello who is headed OTJ in 3 weeks.

Having said all that, I would never discourage anyone from switching insulin.
 
Re: Thumper

I don't really want to switch insulins, all that shed stuff has me worried and I like the fact that PZI is so flexible, but I don't want to stay at Thumper's expense either. I guess there's just no real way to tell unless I go ahead & switch.

So, I stopped typing cause it was time for PMPS. She is lower than she was at +5, so she has gone down all day. What the heck does that mean? I'm going to update the SS & retest in 20 mins.
 
IF I remember what Robin has said about it before, I think it means you need to reduce the dose....? I'm going to see if I can find that thread.
Carl
 
carlinsc said:
IF I remember what Robin has said about it before, I think it means you need to reduce the dose....? I'm going to see if I can find that thread.
Carl

I was thinking that but she's not done well on 1.6 either?
 
I found the thread....
Sorry Sue, I don't know if being home with his bean is effecting his bg's or not but todays curve suggestes a lower dose to me.

PMPS was lower than AMPS thus dose decrease.
Rob & Harley
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=55139&p=596380

Barbara,
Big change in 20 minutes, you are right. But not a lot lower than the AMPS. I think yesterday looked good. Maybe today is a bounce from the blue? I'd got with 1.8 I think.
 
1st scale said 1.8 over 300 & that's the last one I was using. The second scale said 1.5 over 300. You really think I should drop that much? I'm willing to try anything.
 
Sure, NOW Robin shows up after I knocked myself out searching!!
Barbara,
Go with the lower number. The 1.8 doesn't seem to be working well right now. 1.5 or even less like Robin posted.

Carl
 
I was looking at the second scale. Go with what you are comfortable with and what your gut tells you. You got a good surf today and lower PMPS The first scale says 1.5u or 1.6u depending on which PS you go with.

Sorry, I still don't feel very well.
 
Ok, I'm going with 1.5 since I don't think she looked very good on 1.6, she hasn't really looked good on anything actually.

Robin, I'm sorry you're still not feeling well. What a pain...getting sick on a long holiday weekend, that is if you have a job that allows you to be off for the weekend.

Hey Kim!!
 
Robin,
feel better soon. We need you here.

Barbara,
1.5 = good. I'm thinking you should maybe set up some sort of "pin the tail on the preshot" game, and let Thumper pick a dose when you aren't sure. :lol:

Hi Kim!
Need any help setting up that new spreadsheet? I have been shown how to do one! Look at my link! Sort of looks like Kitty's. :mrgreen:

I love you gals. You crack me up!
 
Yep I had 4 days off, I didn't have to cook this year and had a list of things to do as long as my arm.

Harley and I both got sick and are on AB's. I got a smart phone that I don't know how to answer or get messages and it is freaking me out because I somehow programed my message alert to sound like 3 knocks on the door so I keep thinking someone is here but no one is and I don't know how to get my messages. Geez.
 
Even when you're sick, you crack me up! Why do they call them "smart phones"?
Robin, on mine, at the top there's a "notification" bar that you can drag down. There should be a little icon up there that tells you a new message has arrived? If so, more detail will be there once you drag it down, and you should be able to "click" on it and it should automatically take you to your message. Because the phone is "smart", I guess...

The knock three times thing.... easy to fix, but not so easy to tell someone how to fix. Settings, then sounds, then some choice should be "notification ringtone". You should be able to change it from there....

If all that fails, this should work: (couldn't find one with a phone, but same general idea)

Carl
 
Thanks, love the icon!!! That's exactly how I feel right now.

I'll try it tomorrow, I'm going to climb back under my blankie now and let the kitties pin me in like a mummy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top