Thumper & civvie Callie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
Well, I typed out 2 messages last night & lost them both trying to post so I gave up!

We just can't catch a break around here. Thumper's littermate Callie is Hyper T and ended up sick last weekend so we went to the vet on Monday. She was VERY constipated & had to get an enema, they also ran some blood work. She ended up even sicker when I got her home so back to the vet we go the next day. She got VitB12, cerenia for nausea and pepcid. The diagnosis is it's her kidneys. I didn't ask a lot of questions but I didn't think her values were too awful, problem is she is loosing weight and now she's not interested in eating. She's getting fluids, pepcid 2 X daily & this morning I added ondansetron since she barfed again overnight. I resorted to syringe feeding her some Clinicare RF with Nutri Cal mixed in last night but only got about an ounce in her. She actually acted like she felt worse after that & fluids last night. Now I have to read up on CRF & see what I can do for her. I'm really struggling with the food right now. Thumper has become picky since the pancreatitis so I fed some higher carb stuff that she would eat then her BG went up of course. :YMSIGH: The new vet also encourages "prescription" food but at least she says she knows a lot of cats won't eat it...so that's my story...they won't eat it. :roll: I was pretty confident I could battle this kidney problem so we could have a few more years but today I just don't know. :sad: We've had the 2 of them since they were 1 day old & Callie was Jennifer's. I haven't mentioned all this to her....she will be hysterical..she's just like that so it makes it harder to deal with. :sad:

Thumper seems to be feeling better. Twice this week she has come to sleep with me & she hadn't done that in months. Jen came over yesterday when I was at work & she was sleeping in the window, it's been quite awhile since she's done that too. It looks like I'm going to need to increase her dose but I just haven't been able to get too many mid cycle tests this week since I've been dealing with Callie.

I don't really have a "home" on the board. I did end up posting on Lantus Christmas eve cause Thumper threw me a curve ball & they were very helpful but I just haven't gone back. I'm just trying to keep my head above water!

Kim, Petunia is a little love bug but she does like to pick on the other cats. I thought I was probably the only person in the world to have a cat named Petunia but I actually saw someone else has a cat by that name. I can't remember where I read it but it was pretty funny.

Have a safe & Happy New Year!

Barbara
 
This is your home, Barbara. We just don't give dosing advice! :mrgreen: I am so sorry to hear about Callie. Eating seems to be such a big part of a cat's life when they develop problems. And then the bean feels like a short order cook with a difficult customer.

I have been lurking and the Lantus seems to be working better for Thumper. I think you have the best of possible worlds. You can post on relaxed Lantus unless you need immediate help and no one is there. Then the regular Lantus people will help you out.
 
Oh my Barbara,
I am so saoory to hear about Calllie, I will pray she gets better
This is so much for you to handle
Try to hang in there...

but on the other hand I am glad that Thumper is starting to do well
I read your post over on Lantus and checked out the SS
Looking pretty good on Lantus
Fingeres toes and paws crossed that this keeps up!

Hang in there and know we are all here for you!
 
Barbara,
Sue said it best. This is your home. You know I don't give out too much advice, but I can listen to you, laugh with you or cry with you--whichever suits your mood. I'm so sorry Callie is feeling bad. Hang in there!
 
So sorry about all the craziness Barbara. It always seems when it rains, it pours :(
Of course this is your home! We love hearing from you and hope that the news will improve over time.
Sending prayers and good vibes to you and the fur babies. (((((hugs)))))
Best and better to you and yours in the new year.
peace,
Donna, Tom, Asher and Alby
 
I'm so sorry you are struggling with both of them. I hope they both feel better soon.

Mine are all from the same litter too and the aging ailments are showing signs in all of them.
 
Thanks for all the well wishes!

Rob & Harley said:
I'm so sorry you are struggling with both of them. I hope they both feel better soon.

Mine are all from the same litter too and the aging ailments are showing signs in all of them.

That's right I had forgotten about that. I do have the younger 3, hopefully none of them get sick.

Callie did manage to eat 1/4 can FF & I syringe fed her about a oz of Clinicare with 2 tsp Nutri Cal mixed in. Boy she hates it & that's about all she can stand before she starts really fighting & growling at me. Thumper was easier to syringe feed but maybe that's cause she was really feeling bad at the time.

I guess all it took was for me to mention I thought Thumper needed a dose increase cause her PMPS was 125 and that was after a +6 of 320. I don't get it. @-)
 
I've been looking for your posts in RL and started to worry when I didn't see any.

It's hard to learn a new insulin and not have knee jerk reactions from the old one. These insulins are so different that you need to forget everything you know about PZ and completely start over.

BTW Thumper is doing awesome on Lantus.

((((Barbara Thumper Callie))))
 
Thanks Judy! Same to you!

Well, the Clinicare didn't stay down long, about an hour. :sad: And that's after she's had 2 doses of Pepcid & Ondansetron today. She's always liked to drink milk but it has always made her barf, I wonder if it's the same issue like some kind of allergy? I hope she starts eating her food more quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top