Thumper AMPS 428 after 24 hrs +3/296 +6/185 PMPS/263

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
This is about the dumbest thing I have done with Thumper's diabetes. I was super busy at shot time so DH tested & fed. I didn't think anything of giving her shot, I got a +4 (what I thought was a +4) & she was at 401...since she bounces so much I thought that was the problem....now 30 minutes later when I'm thinking about how high she is I realize I never gave her shot tonight. So we are now almost 5 hrs past shot time. What do I do????
 
Re: Need dose help!

Hi Barbara, well phooey! It's so easy to get distracted. You could go ahead and shoot but your am shot would be 12 hours from now, which probably isn't going to work very well. You can change the shot time by 30 mins per day or 15 mins per shot so it would take almost 2 weeks to get back to your regular time. You can also skip this shot and treat it like a fur shot. Then you could shoot at whatever time you wanted in the morning. Don't worry, it happens. Thumper will get back on track.
Liz
 
Re: Need dose help!

So with Lantus there is no reducing the dose since it's late? Ugh....I hate to let her keep getting higher all night. I can't believe I did that, it only sunk in when I was commenting to DH about how high her +4 was. Guess it was high since she didn't get any insulin! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: Need dose help!

No, that's not a good idea, especially this late. Oh well, it happens. Don't be hard on yourself.
Liz
 
Re: Need dose help!

Barbara,
if you did a fur shot, and most of it ended up on the outside of the cat, what would you do?
Swear and wait for the next shot time to shoot. It happens.
I would not shoot hours later because you will have a devil of a time getting back on schedule.
 
Re: Need dose help!

Thanks for the help ladies. You of course are right, even if I could pull of the dose times I would have a heck of a time with the feeding schedule. These guys have time clocks in their tummies & I don't think they would let me get away with a wacky schedule for 2 weeks. I hate to see what her BG is gonna be in the morning!
 
Re: Need dose help!

I nearly did the same thing this morning (although, it was a matter of minutes vs. hours). I make sure I leave the loaded syringe in a place where I'll see it. Having a routine seems to help so there are some safeguards should i get distracted.
 
Re: Need dose help!

DH did that once, too, but he was only off by half an hour. However, I had reminded him 2 minutes before shot time "Don't forget to do Trixie's shot!" :roll: :lol: . It's easy to get distracted.

I hope Thumper leveled it off, but no matter what, it will be OK!

~Amy
 
Re: Need dose help!

AMPS after 24 hrs was 428, considering she was @ 401 last night at what I thought was +4 that's not so bad. I was almost afraid to look at the meter! I still can't believe I did that. :roll:

Sienne and Gabby said:
Having a routine seems to help so there are some safeguards should i get distracted.

That's the problem, my routine was off cause I decided to cook dinner. :lol: I was cooking a dish I haven't made in a while & it got late on me so I asked DH to test & feed. I was gonna shoot as soon as she ate. Well, things weren't going well with me in the kitchen soooo...that's what happened. Geez, I even cleaned up their food bowls & still didn't remember!

Thanks for the help. I panicked when I realized what I had done. I was glad there was someone around to calm me down & tell me what to do. Pro Zinc mind again wanted to shoot a reduced dose.

Barbara
 
Re: Need dose help! Update AMPS 428 after 24 hrs

Thumper will be back on track in no time. I have forgotten plenty of shots - my routine with Jazzy was to draw up the shot, set the syringe on the counter while I got the food ready, and shoot while she ate. There were many times when I went to do the routine, went to set the syringe on the counter, and saw the previous night's syringe still sitting there! ohmygod_smile Oh well, what can you do?
 
Re: Need dose help! Update AMPS 428 after 24 hrs

Aw, Barbara...it's a familiar story :-D

I had trouble drawing up Binks' dose one night...
left the syringes laying out, and shot him with an empty one ohmygod_smile

didn't realize it till next morning when I found the filled syringe laying on the counter...

Thumper will come back just like they do with a furshot.

Don't be hard on yourself, lady!

celi
 
Re: Need dose help! Update AMPS 428 after 24 hrs

Thanks Celi! Thankfully she did come right back down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top