Thumper 9/9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 357
increased to 1.4
+5 - 247
PMPS - 370
shot 1.4

SOS! Don't know where to go!
 
I keep going back and looking at your ss hoping something will jump out at me.

At this point I think the only way to go is up. Give the 1.4u some time to see how she does on it, if you don't start seeing better numbers go up again.
 
Sorry things are still so rough! She really teased you didn't she with that nice stretch, seems like an eternity ago at this point. :sad:

My only other thoughts are to consider early shooting, or a different insulin. Not to say she can't do well on PZI BID, just seems like you've been struggling for a while now, you've tried lowering, you've tried raising, and can't get consistent results. Could be her other health issues so maybe another insulin isn't the answer, but if it were me I would probably give something else a shot at this point - you can always come back to PZI if you don't get good results on something else, but seems like it might be worth a try.

Just trying to brainstorm, not saying that's necessarily the best move, just what comes to mind to me. :)
 
+5 - 210

Joanna, I admit I have been thinking the same thing (other insulins). I don't think I can pull off shooting TID. I know if I go complaining to the vet that's what they're gonna say. I listened to the message the specialist left me again the other day & that's exactly what he said...put her on a "diabetic" diet (they don't consider FF good!) then change insulin, if that didn't work have her tested for a growth hormone? Is that what Acro cats have? I don't know anything about it but I think I read something about big paws/thick necks? She doesn't have either of those things. It does seem like these last several days she's not moving around the house as much. She's staying at one end of the house, not coming to bed with me like she used to. I'm wondering about arthritis/neuropathy. She is pretty stiff when she walks. I have some Tramadol the vet gave me, for some reason she didn't want to give me bupe. She mentioned something about it not being good for something but I can't remember what. I may give her some of that if it works out that I'm home tomorrow. I'm afraid of the other insulins!
 
Acro? wth? Usually no one starts whispering Acro til you are at least over 4u. Wonder if your vet is grasping at straws? I don't know a lot about Acro though. It's certainly a test I would always suggest as a vet, so it's probably good I'm not a vet, lol :lol:

I know what you mean about TID. I did it briefly, and it is pretty wearing. I'm so impressed with everyone here who has done it, and some doing it for a while now, pretty amazing! I don't think I could handle it again, and I shy away from suggesting it too much, it's just a lot to take on.

What scares you about the other insulins? Is it because her eating patterns vary? You might post on the other forums and explain her situation and ask for feedback. I'm sure others have dealt with the same issues. PZI is really flexible that way, but if you can't get to good numbers very often it seems like a slim benefit.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
What scares you about the other insulins? Is it because her eating patterns vary? You might post on the other forums and explain her situation and ask for feedback. I'm sure others have dealt with the same issues. PZI is really flexible that way, but if you can't get to good numbers very often it seems like a slim benefit.

Cause I've heard they yell at people over there! :lol: AND a big issue is I don't want to leave here! :sad:

Her eating patterns really don't vary...well unless you mean cause I free feed? She gets a meal AM & PM but I do leave food out when I'm at work & overnight. Is that a problem?
 
I have read a lot about Acro, but I am definitely not an expert on it. But, from my readings.....I think any mention of Acro with Thumper is a BIG grasp. While you might not like her numbers, her SS does not resemble any Acro SS I have reviewed. "Normally" Acro curves are extremely flat--even on high doses of insulin.

I read an interesting post in Health this week, that discussed Acro and it being underdiagnosed in FD cats. It was an interesting read. But, Thumper doesn't seem to present a SS that would make one think Acro.
 
Be careful with the tramadol. It made our guys foam at the mouth terrible, prob from the extreme bitter taste even if it's flavored. It may do the job for pain, but it so freaked Asher out that I didn't give it again. The foaming made him run all over the house flicking foamy drool everywhere and it scared him. I had to hold him and try to calm him down for a while. Only way to know is try it, but I wanted you to be aware of our experience.
 
Donna, thanks for the info. I was planning on trying to mix it with her food but it sounds like that won't work.

Just because I mentioned her not coming to bed with me anymore there she was when I woke up this morning!
 
Hmmm, I was thinking with her mystery "flare-ups" where her numbers go higher that she wasn't eating well at the same time. Maybe I'm remembering wrong though, or it was just a little bit or something. So never mind. :) Free feeding is my preference.

They do run a tight ship from what I've heard, but at the same time I wouldn't let the board politics or whatever keep you from doing what you think will help her the most (not saying that's it necessarily, but if it is). If they yell, I would push back and point out that it really is not a helpful strategy to yell at people, you just need sound advice, or whatever. And I'm not sure it's as scary as people may think - a lot of people post there every day, and seem to do ok. You could PM someone like Ele & Blackie and ask her what her experience was when she made the switch.
 
Back when she had lots of issues & I was thinking pancreatitis she did have some problems with vomiting & not eating for a day or so but that hasn't happened again. She eats well, sometimes I think too much!

I'm really starting to think I should give Lantus a try. I don't know anything about it but we are getting no where fast like this.
 
Barbara,
I think some people find the LL forum to be really intimidating, probably mainly due to the intense level of activity there. I have steered a lot of "newbies" that way in Health, due mainly to the fact that I don't know all that much about Lantus (but I learn more every day), and because they tend to be so busy in their own forum that they don't tend to hand out in Health. I do know, however, that on the occasions where I have PM'd any of them to alert them that help is needed in Health, they have been extremely responsive and jumped right into the "crisis", always with great advice and experise. There are 3 or 4 lantus members that I have become reliant upon for help, and they have never let "me" down. When I ask them to help in Health, I just sit back and observe, and it's always incredible to see.
The only "problem" I've ever had is trying to go over to LL a day or two later and "find" the next chapter in the story, so I can see what happened next, and that is only due to the huge number of new threads posted daily there.
I've found an overwhelming amount of experience and wisdom in that forum, and it seems like the majority of current members use lantus. You'll always be a "PZIer", even if you make the switch. What it comes down to is that you have to do what's best for Thumper, and everyone here understands and respects that.

Wishing you and thumper only the best, no matter what!
Carl
 
Hey Barbara! You have to do what you think is best for Thumper--if that is Lantus, so be it. My only advice before going to LL is stock up on lancets! You will understand after about the second day of posting in LL!

Good Luck!
 
Thanks for the info Carl! I'm not convinced the Lantus will make a difference but I'm starting to feel like I should at least give it a try. I just don't know. I have been in the dark since April when this girl was diagnosed. She has done well once or twice but now for quite a stretch of time we have had bad #'s. I do know my vet thinks it's good to be in the 300's AM & PM with a 200 something nadir so I don't even know if she'll prescribe the Lantus.

Kim, I can only do so much testing. I don't know how they could expect someone who works to test during the day....it's just not possible.

I don't know what to do....I can't do anything this week other than maybe take her in for a vet visit. I'm sure she would want to see her before she prescribed a different insulin. The wedding is next Sat. so I'm not about to try a new insulin now!
 
Barbara,

You might also read some posts over on the Levemir forum. Darlene and Jack went to Levemir as did Lori and Tom and Laurel and Harley. And Robin and Harley use Lrvrmir, I think. The approach to the protocol seems a little more relaxed and flexible; the insulin seems to work about the same as Lantus. Just an idea.
 
Marcy and Klinger are also using Lev. If I was going to switch from Prozinc, I would research Lev.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top