Thumper 9/3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
PMPS - 322
shot 1.3
+3 - 307
+5 - 265
AMPS - 405
shot 1.3
PMPS - 343

This girl has got to have something else going on. She has been acting fine but tonight she seemed a little more lethargic. This is our 3rd day on 1.3 & her #'s get worse. It makes no sense to me that night before last she dropped to 161 @ +5 on a 358 PS then last night on a lower PS she only dropped to 265 @ +5. I decided to shoot the scruff tonight just to see what might happen.
 
You are probably seeing a bounce from the blues on 8/31. It will clear.

If you suspect something else is going on maybe you should have her checked out.

Have you given any thought to a sliding scale? Looking at your ss it looks like every time you shot a normal dose on a much lower PS she went high again.
 
Rob & Harley said:
If you suspect something else is going on maybe you should have her checked out.

Have you given any thought to a sliding scale? Looking at your ss it looks like every time you shot a normal dose on a much lower PS she went high again.

You know how well that went last time. Tonight is the first time she's acted a little off & right now she's out laying on the patio so I really don't think it's anything at this point.

You mean shooting different doses AM & PM? I could do that if I could figure out what worked. It seems everytime I raise the dose she's good for a day or so then goes right back up.
 
Just so I am sure that we are talking about the same thing.... "sliding scale". That's when you draw various lines in the sand that say
If kitty is over 400, shoot x units
over 300 shoot y
over 200 shoot z
Is that right? Because that's how Bob was treated after about the 3rd week of treatment.

Using that was also why he ended up most days getting different AM and PM doses.
It worked for Bob, but ECID.

Carl
 
Yes Carl, that is what I mean. That is how I regulated Harley, I havn't thought about what the scale might look like yet but I'm wondering if it would work for Thumper.

I hope she feels better tonight.
 
Barbara,
When was that last time?
I wish the spreadsheet fit all on one screen so I didn't have to scroll right and left to see the comments. Is there a way for me to reduce the width while viewing? I'm not all that up on googledocs

carl
 
Carl, the last time I was referring to was when she had some sort of illness. I have decided I live in vet hell here. She has been seen by 6 different vets (3 of them at one practitice, 2 emergency vets & a "specialist") for some sort of mystery illness that no one can figure out. They are all very quick to say her problems are uncontrolled diabetes. I suspected pancreatits from the info I got here but by the time we got a blood test done she was feeling better so of course it was negatitive. Her problems were not uncontrolled diabetes, she had good #'s before & has good ones since. Back in July I thought we were real close to regulation on a small dose then again for some reason her BG started to shoot up & she's been all over the map since. I can't seem to find a dose that consistently works for her. She still has a good appetite and most of the time seems to feel fine. I was going to search for a new vet but I just haven't had the money to do that (especially since my current vet gives me a discount). That's why I have vet "anxiety". If I take her back they just want to blame everything on the diabetes. I hate going there with her cause I feel like I'm beating my head against the wall. They mentioned home testing to me when she was first diagnosed but when I tried to show them her SS they said I was testing too much! :roll:

I have no idea how to come up with what dose to shoot according to different #'s. I've always sort of felt like that's what I wanted to do. Each time she goes high I want to increase immediately but I've heard so much about holding the dose I didn't think I should do that. I also think if I go back to the vet & complain about #'s they will want me to switch insulins since they have already mentioned that. They are also perfectly happy with her #'s bening in the 300's.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top