Thumper 7/5 curve ball

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
AMPS - 155
20 mins later 157

Everyone was angry that I wasn't feeding them so I did. How long should I wait to restest? I wasn't expecting this one...of course I should know by now she likes to surprise me! But, why after a long weekend when I'm home? And, I just got her back on schedule Sunday night. We are gonna be at least an hour late now.
 
Food can spike for 2 hours. If I was you and going to shoot, I would back the dose Down . I don't think you can get. True bg reading for a couple of hours after feeding.


Just my thoughts
 
Thumper keeps things interesting, but at least she moves in a nice downward direction. My theory is that her numbers are closely tied to the way she is feeling on a given day. Tummy ache or whatever....
 
Sometimes I think the kitties can smell when it might be inconvenient to change the schedule on you ;)
Good on ya today Barbara. Hope Thumper shows you some good numbers!
 
I agree with Sue .... Thumper seems to throw numbers out according to how she feels .... but she has been having some nice #'s!

The one nice thing about pzi is that it is so forgiving. I have used it up/down and all around and it bends nicely! And usually if you can get it within an hour your ok.

Nancy and Payne
(who would LOVE these #'s!)
 
+14 - 177
shot .4
+7 - 138

We are @ + 9 now I think I will test again @ +10, that will probably be about as late as I can feed them without a riot! It would be nice to be able to shoot at that point but we will see. Otherwise I will be early in the morning.

I think you are right Sue & Nancy...it all depends on how she feels. I have been giving her 1/4 tablet of Pepcid each day since Sunday so I'm thinking that must be helping whatever is wrong. She is moving around a little more & still eating good. Only time will tell. I wonder IF it's Pancreatitis why the Pepcid would help? I do think I read something about nauseau so I guess that's it.
 
+10 - 191 actually we are maybe 15 mins early

They are hungry...it's amazing the time clocks they have! I need to feed them...should I go ahead & shoot early? It would make my morning shot pretty much on time. And should I stick with .5?
 
I was a little late getting home today, so instead of shooting at 6:30, I was only ready to poke. Alex gave me a hard time b/c he was hungry. They both were. Must be something in the air. :lol:
 
Fed them & shot .5 @ + 10 so we'll see what tonight brings!

Ginny, mine are always like that. Actually my civvie Petey is awful! He won't even let me put the food in his bowl...he's licking it out of the can as soon as I open it...sticking his feet in his bowl & being bad. I told him he's holding things up but he's a male...what can I say! :lol:
 
Nice numbers! I would stick with the higher dose too. Bix got like that once his liver got through boot camp - just didn't really zoom, and although the numbers were nice and I'm sure it meant his (and Thumper's too) pancreas was working, it made dosing harder. When you know zoom is coming you are shooting the dose against that. When it is flat, you're not sure what to do!!! I never quite figured it out with him really, but I do know that lowering the dose never worked well, he just went flat, or drifted higher over a few cycles.

Great to see all the blues though, and hopefully that means she is feeling well! When Bix didn't feel well he needed close to 2x the amount of insulin that he seemed to need when he was feeling well. It's a puzzle, but you roll with the numbers as best you can.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top