Thumper 7/13 What dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
last night
PMPS - 344
shot .6
+4 - 239
0.2 Ketones on Precision meter (that is low I think, maybe the same as trace?)
AMPS - 334
shot .7
+3.5 - 283
+6.5 - 195

So should I go up to .8 tonight? SS is updated so you can see the movement up over the last day or so. She's still eating & seems ok. I wish I knew what was going on with her!
 
The information on the meter states that the no ketone range is ( 0.1>1.6) trace would be above 1.6. So let's hear it for no ketones!

No idea on dose at this point, she can go low and uses so little insulin ..... I do best with the big gulpers!
 
Thanks Nancy! I looked at the sheet that comes with the strips last night but didn't see that. I'm not surprised! I'm all for increasing to at least .8 especially since I will be home tonight. I want to get her out of these high #'s but I'm never sure I'm not missing something.
 
I seem to always be the person who wants to reduce the dose......But I liked her numbers at .5 and .4. Wonder if a lower dose when she is feeling well will give us some more greens and blues. Let's see what others think.
 
She was getting good #'s on those doses but then she started going up. That was the only reason I increased the dose. I'm thinking I need to be more agressive due to the #'s I'm getting tonight.

PMPS - 368
Ketones - 0.3

I know Nancy said that was still considered none BUT it has increased since last night, not even 24 hrs, so I think I need to try to keep them from going higher. Should I increase to .8 or go ahead & jump to 1 Unit? Part of me wants to do the 1 unit to get her down since there's really not that much difference in .7 & .8
 
hi Barbara
I think I might increase a little, especially because of the preshot number
I hope her numbers go down soon!

Dneise and Shakes
 
I went ahead & increased to .8 I will get a +3 or +4 later. If she's still staying high should I go up in the morning? She's laid out on the floor like she was a few weeks ago but still eating.
 
Barbara said:
I went ahead & increased to .8 I will get a +3 or +4 later. If she's still staying high should I go up in the morning?

I guess that would depend on what your +3 or +4 is and what her AMPS is.
 
Yeah I don't think I would jump right to 1u with her. If she doesn't look well in the morning and the numbers haven't improved I would probably try 0.9 tomorrow. Ideally I would stick with the 0.8 for 2 or 3 cycles. You know her best though and you are doing a great job, so I would go with your gut. If you do raise more, you know how to be prepared just in case it's too much. I'm not worried about 1 cycle on a higher dose, but sometimes you do get a lot better action after 2 - 4 cycles, so that's where I get wary of raising too fast. If you are testing though, that takes a lot of the risk out, as you can feed any early drop if needed.

[ETA I don't have any ketone experience and I know the rules are different for that, so if the ketones are on the rise and you need to increase, I would increase.]
 
+4 - 184
Ketones 0.1

So I guess I will stick with .8 tomorrow unless she's lower and with her nothing would be a surprise. Why the heck would she suddenly start going up again? Just thinking out loud I guess no one really knows the answer. Of course the vet would say these are good #'s. ohmygod_smile
 
Bix used to go up sometimes for a few days and needed a lot more insulin. I never knew why, except that it seemed to correlate with him not feeling as well. He had IBD and if he was having a little nausea it seemed like his numbers would go up. In hindsight I wonder if maybe it was mild pancreatitis? I don't know, but in any case some cats just seem to need more sometimes.

We've seen that already with Thumper, so I would guess that is the case now. Is she acting ok? You said she was a little lethargic but otherwise fine, so hopefully it is nothing more. Do you have Bupe on hand? You could always try a dose and see if you can tell she is feeling better (tho who wouldn't on Bupe, right?).
 
My daughter came home & said she was playing a little today and fussing at one of the other cats today so that's a good sign. I don't have any Bupe...remember, my vets think her problems last time was just her diabetes. ohmygod_smile I had considered pepcid but she fights me when I try to give her anything like that & it's just not clear to me why that would help since she's eating & has not vomited at all. I'm all ears though if someone can explain to me why it might work?
 
This is totally unrelated right now, but I just was looking up P'titus and saw that Lasix can trigger it! (Maybe we already knew this? I can't keep it all straight!).

Here's where I saw it: http://www.marvistavet.com/html/pancrea ... line_.html

I don't remember exactly how the timeline fell out when she got that shot, but I thought it was curious to read that. I can't even remember for sure if you think she has P'titis :oops: but it says the most common symptoms are lethargy and appetite loss.

That is great that she is playing, maybe it's just randomly needing more insulin. Her pancreas is probably sputtering and maybe it sputters more or less on different days? Maybe it just wanted a vacation!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top