Thumper 6/6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
AMPS - 364
+6 - 151

Don't really understand why she was so high this morning. I know illness causes bg to be high, but if she had something going on would it drop like it did today?
 
Well, she is a cat and they can do whatever they like..... :mrgreen:

Wonder if she went lower than usual overnight and the am was a bounce? Or the food was a little different - eating or not eating?

Regardless, nice nadir number!
 
Hi Barbara

I hate giving advice as I am so unsure of myself
but I will tell you with Shakes, sometimes he has high pre shots for a day or two
then all of a sudden he will have a low shot
my advice might be to hold for another day to see what happens....

but please dont listen to me and lets see what everyone else says!!

Denise and Shakes
 
You got a very nice nadir today and yesterday. I'd be tempted to hold but you have the ketone issue hanging over your head. There is room in your nadir for an increase but I would go to .9u and see where that brings you, the 1unit in the past has seemed to be a bit on the too much side.

Have you checked for ketones today?
 
I think holding would be okay. An increase should be okay too. You had planned to get a little more aggressive when you got back, right? I think .9 is good, or of that is too hard to measure, a skinny one unit. That is, if you can get a test tonight.

What do you think?
 
I did a ketone test & it was 1.2 same as yesterday. I was thinking of increasing but was wondering about the 151 @ +6 but that's not like she's all that low. If she still had some kind of infection the antibiotics didn't take care of would BG stay high? I think I will do a .9....which with me is just somewhere between the lines.
 
Yes, infection will raise her bg's.

Your +6 151 is about a perfect nadir for your AMPS, but I wouldn't worry about 151 being too low.

I think .9u with a bedtime test is fine.
 
Robin, I had read infection would raise BG but was wondering about the drop, like would it stay high if she had an infection? She's so hard to read, I guess since she's naturally lazy.

I heard the most awful thing. My cousin's 15 yr old cat died a few months back so she had gotten a kitten. She took him in to be neutered and he died on the operating table!! He was almost 5 months old & seemed to be perfectly healthy. I have never heard of that happening! Has anyone else? She was hysterical....so much so they had to call her husband to come get her at work. I feel so bad for her.....it's hard enough to loose one but he was just a baby! :cry:
 
Well if the infection isn't cleared up her bg's will probably stay higher but if the infection is gone and her bg's don't drop some then hummmm. Harley's bg's started creeping up lately and I knew that he had something going on so I took him in to get checked, bg's can be a good indicator for us to stay alert to what is going on with them.

How awful for your cousin, I've never heard of that happening before but I suppose anything is possible. Fly free little boy kitten.
 
Awww, how sad. Anesthesia is always a risk, and kittens can be fragile too. Could be any number of reasons, and maybe he had some underlying health problems (?). Still so sad though. I hope the vet is able to give her some insight into what happened so she can be at peace with it (if that's possible).

I would go for the higher dose if you don't mind the possibility of her not being shootable. It makes dosing so confusing, as well as any attempt to manage your schedule in a sane way, but the mid-greens if you can hit those give her the best chance for pancreas healing. You can keep a 150 no shoot, and maybe pull back to 0.8 if you get something around there for a PS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top