Thumper 6/26

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
last night
shot .5
+3.5 - 258
AMPS - 308 @ +11
shot .6 @ +11.5

Well, it appears she doesn't like the .5 so I went back up. It's hard to believe that little bit would make a difference. That's what I get for bragging about how good her #'s have been! Not that they've been that great really but I've been happy that she's doing well!
 
I am also happy she is doing well. You will get the numbers regulated-- at least she feels better.

Does the company leave today?!!!
 
I'm glad she's feeling better too. Don't get discouraged, it looks like you're getting there.

This AMPS could be a combo of seeing some greens and the late shot.

Was she happy to see her mama?
 
No, company is still here. We have a big day today, my youngest (the one who lives in FL) is giving my oldest a bridal shower today so we're gonna be busy! The boyfriend leaves tomorrow & my daughter will be here till Thursday. And yes, I think she was happy to see her mama. She has been sleeping with her since she got here. After she moved out Thumper would not go back in her room...it was suprising to me. But whenever she comes home Thumper goes back in there with her. I would have thought she would want to go in there but I guess it makes her sad! I hope Thumper doesn't get depressed & start having trouble again when she leaves!
 
I am so glad that Thumper is feeling better!
As soon as you start to get happy that the numbers look good is when they throw you
a little curve ball to keep you in check! (they dont want you too happy!)
:mrgreen:
Hope you have a great day today at the shower, Enjoy!

Denise and Shakes
 
I think some of the contrast is because her pancreas is likely sputtering. If you get good numbers she can run with it, if you don't hit good numbers, her pancreas can't handle it. So that one drop of insulin might not in itself be making all of the contrast in the numbers, it may be more that it gives her just enough boost that her pancreas can try to take over. Just speculation. :) We do see a lot though of this sort of "all or nothing" effect, where the numbers are either green or yellow, and it's hard to target something like a 120 nadir and actually get that.

I think it also means that you don't have to fear the slightly higher doses. If 0.5 left her high and 0.6 gave her good numbers, she could probably tolerate 0.7 or a little more just fine. It's not like she's going to hypo because you gave 1 drop more insulin, when 1 drop less left her running high. I think with her ketone history, if you are agonizing over tiny increments, you should generally go with the higher dose rather than the lower one. We tend to be a little conservative around here and lean towards the slightly lower dose when there is a choice, but I think in a lot of cases the slightly higher dose is the better pick. We rarely see low numbers here, or even the ideal ones, but we do often see higher numbers, and slightly higher cycles like this last one.

Not picking on you :-D just trying to counter my natural tendencies to undershoot, and hoping it will be a good reminder to others as well.
 
dmartini4 said:
I am so glad that Thumper is feeling better!
As soon as you start to get happy that the numbers look good is when they throw you
a little curve ball to keep you in check! (they dont want you too happy!)
:mrgreen: Denise and Shakes

She's already throwing me a curve ball...now I guess she's not liking the .6

AMPS - 269
shot .6 just cause I was in a hurry & no time to think! I have to go back to work tomorrow morning...ugh...
I will have to shoot at about +11.5 in the morning so hopefully she won't give me any more surprises!
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Not picking on you :-D just trying to counter my natural tendencies to undershoot, and hoping it will be a good reminder to others as well.

I don't think you're picking on me. I was thinking how I was so glad her #'s were better but then realized they really aren't that great. There's a lot of room for them to get better...especially since she's been running a little higher today.
 
Well her PS did come back down a little on the .6, so may not be too bad. I'd probably raise a little more in the morning unless the PS is a lot lower, then I'd stick with 0.6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top