Thumper 6/20

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
AMPS - 286 which is really a +14

Now I'm wondering is .7 too much? She pretty much stayed the same. Or is this what I want? PMPS only 18 higher than AMPS, I don't know again. I thought I would know what to do this morning. What was I thinking? :roll: It looks like she did better on .8 though so I'm thinking that's what I'm going with.
 
There's usually no one around this time of morning....sorry I can't help but as you know I don't know if I'm coming or going!
 
Barbara-- in a perfect world you would want the same amps and pmps. But, you want some drop-- not a flat curve.

I didn't look at the numbers, but don't get discouraged at having the same preshots-- that is Geat-- as long as you are in good numbers.

200s are ok-- regulation= 200 preshots and 100 nadirs.

At least this is what I understand!!

How is Thumper?
 
You must have already shot. Sorry you can't get help when you need it. What did you shoot? Keep in mind when feeling discouraged, that lots of people strggle with red and black numbers. You are really keeping her in a much better zone. Hope you have a good day!
 
It is too bad none of us are up this early in the morning to help. But you are doing a great job thinking through the dose and figuring it out, Barbara. I think your dose was fine. I would figure you are keeping her stable while figuring out what is going on.
 
I wasn't able to get any #'s on her today but at +12 is was only 119. I guess I'm just waiting for her to go higher.
 
Well I for one have been running around like a chicken trying to get ready to go out of town.

If I remember you shot .7u on a 155 last night, right?

If so then I would shave another drop off the dose and go ahead and shoot. If I'm not remembering correctly let me know, I'll be around for a while tonight.

Tomorrow morning I'm leaving on a business trip until the end of the week, I'll try to log on if I can but don't know if that's possible.
 
Robin, SS is updated. I shot .7 last night & she didn't go down much, shot .8 this morning into 286. I haven't checked her in about an hour. I'll go check. brb
 
Rob & Harley said:
Well I for one have been running around like a chicken trying to get ready to go out of town.

I hate going out of town...just for that reason! I always have to stay up late the night before cause I'm never prepared! Have fun!
 
+15 - 166

Shot .7 last night @ +22 BG was 258
AMPS - 286
shot .8
+12 - 119
+13.5 - 155
+15 - 166
 
Hopefully Robin or Sue or Joanna will come along. If not, it seems to me that if you want a shootable number at +12 you should consider lowering the dose a bit.
 
True, but you don't know what she went down to, it is conceivable she had a good nadir and a decent curve. So much of this is guess work. You could do .8 and see what happens in morning. Will you be around if you can't shoot at+12? or you could do .7 again and see what happens tomorrow. No crisis either way.
 
If you are scared, leave food out. I don't remember if you have a problem with other cats. You could consider keeping her separate with the food, tho that's not great, I know.
 
Welcome back to the world of micro dosing. If you are worried about it you could go with .5u.

You don't want to give up these great numbers and go back to the higher ones. That said I don't have to stay up and test her or agonize over her am dose. But in days gone by, anything under .5u never really did much for her.

I'll try to check in tomorrow morning. But things will be crazy trying to drop off the drooler at the kennel, etc.
 
Ok, remember a late shot is a dose decrease so the .5u will have less oomph. So shoot now, then in the morning an early shot will be a dose increase so if she's high enough to shoot shave some off the dose you would normally shoot on a similar PS.
 
Ok, I shot what probably ended up being more .4 I guess maybe a fat .4 just cause I couldn't see it good & pushed out too much insulin....ugh....

So for morning assuming she's somewhere around 250 instead of shooting the .8 like I did this morning reduce to .7?
 
Maybe she is crying out for 0.75? :lol: :lol: A lot of times they do seem to have this all or nothing reaction on PZI, we have seen it a lot. It can be pretty frustrating.

Since your morning shot will be early, 0.6 makes sense to me. It looks like she needs 0.8 if it's 24 hours since the last shot, but might only need maybe 0.7 on a +12, so 0.6 on earlier than that sounds good. Unless you get a # like 150 tomorrow, then I would probably stick with 0.4 if she did that well on it overnight.

Her #s are awesome lately but these lower doses and later shots are making me edgy in the ketone department - is she still testing negative? Is she eating ok?

And how is she doing otherwise? Acting any better overall?
 
I haven't been able to catch her in the litter box...she's been more sneaky than usual! Of course according to my vet it's impossible to be DKA with these #'s. :roll:
No more vomiting & she's eating fine. She actually just went to bed with my daughter, which she hasn't done lately so I'm thinking she feels better. She had just been staying on the couch or in the floor till I picked her up & put her on the couch. I have slept on the couch with her since she came home from the ER. I guess I get to sleep in my bed tonight! Just got a bg from her.

+2 - 193
going up...hope she doesn't go up too much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top