Thumper 6/2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 266

shot .7

I'm struggling with these between the mark doses. I drew the insulin 3 times today...not that I'm worried about wasting it cause I think it will poop out before I use it all. I think I had a defective syringe or something cause I kept getting an air bubble...so not only am I struggling to see it I couldn't get the bubble out! I got a new syringe & it didn't give me that trouble, so it must have been the syringe, not me. :roll:

Hopefully DH can get some spot checks today. Thank you so much for hanging with me. I know you all have things to do other than spend your time babysitting me! I don't know that I will ever be able to pay it forward though...I'm doubting I will ever understand enough to give anyone else advice.
 
Barbara,
I feel the same way. I've asked for advice many times in 7 week I've been at this (seems like much longer) and don't know if I'll ever be able to repay.

For all you ProZinc experts (and everybody else), I really do appreciate your input!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
You both can help others in very valuable ways. Even if you can't give dosing advice, you can share your experiences. It means much more for a newbie to hear from someone who was recently in their same scary place. Just to hear from you that the testing gets easier, that food changes are possible and do make a difference - and maybe, most importantly, that these crazy cat people on the Internet do have advice of value. All of that can be so important to someone just starting out. We have several posters who do just that, and do a fantastic job - Holly and Kathyh to name just two. Both have kitties off the juice, but they come back and help out newbies.

Btw, Barbara, good dose. Hope your numbers today are good, but not too good. :mrgreen:
 
Don't knock babysitting, it can be very rewarding! :-D I like to think I make a valuable contribution even tho I mostly don't give dosing advice.
 
+6 - 199

Of course you make valuable contributions Judy! I always look for you & didn't even notice that you aren't giving dosing advice! :lol:
 
PMPS - 266

Well, now I don't know what to shoot. Looks like she was flat all day? I will be here for AM shot tomorrow then won't be back till Sun night. This looks like nice safe #'s for DH but I don't know what's best for her? I think I dropped the dose this morning since it was only 9 hrs from last night's shot? Yesterday's .9 didn't give me a # I could shoot for PM until +15. Should I go with .8?
 
I got some of the 5/16" syringes today....another adventure :roll: She still fussed at me though. I think they are harder to use & I don't think I've ever given a fur shot but I can see how easy it might be with these. I really couldn't tell if I was getting the needle in her, except when she yelled at me, but I'm gonna keep on trying. The good thing is I was able to shoot on her side with these. I'm not sure DH is gonna be able to use these cause she fusses at him more I think. She just starts yelling when I grab her fur to tent. It's amazing though, she just sits perfectly still for poking her ears, doesn't even flinch. Well, every once in a while she tries to move away. You would think that would hurt worse than the shot! Silly girl....never does anything normal!
 
Seems like the other day Thumper had a flat cycle after seeing some greens, so maybe she's just getting used to the nice #'s. Paws crossed.
 
I'm gonna get a +4 so we'll see what this .8 did. I figured she usually keeps dropping so I will just give her ears a break. I will be shooting in the AM & will post #'s but after 10:30 am EST I won't be able to get on the computer anymore. I doubt I will be on all weekend actually. Will someone be able to check my #'s in the morning around 10:30 just in case I have a question? Maybe I could get a +4 tomorrow also then post it right before I leave.
 
0.8 sounds good to me, hope it goes great!

With the tenting, can you fake her out and make her think you are petting her? That's what I do, since with the short needles you don't have to really do a full-blown tent. I just do a little scratchy-scratchy, pull the skin up a little, poke, push plunger & done. I kind of keep some pressure with the syringe against the skin flap to be sure it stays in while I push the plunger, so no fur shot.
 
That is probably part of the problem, I keep messing around trying to make sure I don't poke through (since I was using the longer needles) & getting through the fur. She probably gets mad at me cause I take so long. I'm hoping since I don't have to tent so much I will be better if I can get used to these short needles. I really didn't want to shoot at her scruff cause I've heard too much scary stuff about them getting tumors. I'm gonna get a test in about a 1/2 hr. will anyone be around?
 
+4 - 181

I'm happy with that & feel comfortable telling DH to stick with .8 hopefully AMPS will be a good # & she will hold while I'm gone this weekend. What do ya'll think? He will be testing & I will keep in touch with him by phone so if she goes over 300 I can tell him to shoot .9 or 1 Unit. I have hypo instructions printed out also. Anything else I need to consider?
 
Now I look at it & realize it's awful close to yellow. I could shoot .9 in the AM but then I can't help him if she goes longer than +12 before she drops. I get too confused at this point & I'll be with a group that might be hard to get away from.
 
I would err on the side of the higher numbers. It will be easier for him and less stressful for you. And she isn't in really high numbers. Her numbers are very safe-not too high and not too low.
 
Ok Thanks!

Good grief, I gotta go pack. I hate packing & I'm always last minute doing it. I will post her #'s in the AM.
 
Hope you have a great trip!!!!! I would stick with this dose, or if the #s are a little higher in the AM maybe go with a fat .8. I think it is better for her to get steady shots even if the dose is a little too low, than to have him end up skipping shots if she isn't shootable. Keeping the dose a little low isn't ideal, but still I think it's better than a skipped shot, so what can you do.

Thankfully she is doing well and it's only a couple days. Maybe she'll be nicely regulated when you get home! :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top