Thumper 6/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
Well, we have 165 this morning. I was hoping to get back on schedule...guess not. I'm gonna retest in 20 mins then I'm gonna have to feed...you should see them...they all want to eat! :lol: Petey is really fussing at me! We are really at +11.5, hopefully she is rising. The what to shoot dilema again.
 
We are at 206 & still 20 mins away from +12 so I'm gonna shoot 1.2, hopefully that will work!
 
That sounds reasonable Barbara. Glad you got over 200. I have been there waiting with cats that want to eat. No one is happy during that process. Hope you guys have a great day with great numbers!
 
I can't say for sure, I left 2 cans of frozen out but I'm thinking she didn't get any. She usually goes under the bed after she eats in the morning & was still there.
 
That's an inverse curve. I would lower the dose on the lower PS's I know there is that ketone issue but I would still lower the dose accordingly. I'm getting so mad at your vet :evil:
 
No Judy, it's not your advise.

It makes me mad that her vet won't treat Thumper for the ketones and acts like it's no big deal and I can't even imaging how stressful it is for Barbara with that hanging over her head every day. This sugar dance is tough enough without having to struggle with the vet not treating on top of it. Grrrrrr!
 
Ok, I take that back. I went and looked at the ss and your nadirs aren't that low. Maybe she got into some contraban?

Full moon madness?
 
Judy, def. not your fault! I need for her to come down off those high #'s.

Robin, there is no contraban she can get into. I just think there is something else going on with her. I've about decided to take her in again tomorrow. I will get no where with them on her #'s though cause from what they said before mid 200's are good. :roll: I bet if I say anything about the 300's they will say increase her dose....never mind she goes low randomly.

I'm gonna go with the fact that she is still breathing funny & just laying around. I just have this sinking feeling that it's not good.
 
Good Luck!
Hang in there!
It seems I am going to have to pray for just about everyone on this site tonight
What the heck is going on?

I hope she feels better soon!

Denise and Shakes
 
Hope Thumper has a better day tomorrow and if you take her in to the vet, you will get some answers.
Prayers and hugs to Thumper!
 
Thanks for the well wishes!

AMPS - 165
206
shot 1.2 @ 206
+6 -387
PMPS - 344

I have no idea what to shoot. Any suggestions?
 
Arrrrrgh! :dizcat maybe cut back to 1.1or 1? I hope some others will chime in. The question is bounce or liver training as responsible for the higher numbers? And I really don't know how to tell.
 
Robin said something about an inverse curve. I don't know what to do about that. I think she's eating more lately. With my little knowledge I would go for 1.2 again? I just don't get it at all, and typically no one else is on this time of day.
 
Hmmm....would that be why she's lower now than she was at +6? I guess I should drop back to 1.1?
 
I want her to feel better too!

I understand how you feel about going to the vet, but go. You need to know what is going on. Don't worry about the vet's dosing advice-- in one ear and out the other. Just agree with them.

Hopefully tomorrow will be good.

Keeping you and Thumper in my prayers.
 
judy and squamee(GA) said:
I think your idea about going to the vet makes sense.

I'm planning on going tomorrow morning. I just hate it, seems like they don't know much either. I attempted to find someone else that knew more about diabetes but they said someone would call me back....they never did. I don't think all that's going on with her is diabetes. The enlarged lymph nodes have me worried. Are they just guessing it's an infection causing that so they gave her 30 days worth of zeniquin just to wait & see? I never got to talk to him since DH picked her up that day....and I don't get a lot of info from him! Geez, I haven't even paid them yet...no telling how much all that was.
 
I agree with Kim. Usually doesn't pay to ask them about the diabetes. But you want them to help you with a diagnosis.
I don't remember if I told you this, (perhaps I did in a very long post awhile back), but among other things. Squamee had a jaw condition that interfered with her eating. None of the vets in my practice diagnosed it, another vet I took her to for a consult charged me $700 and did not correctly diagnose it,a dental specialist did not diagnose it, and I ultimately found an exact description of it on-line! so much for the medical community.
 
That's crazy Judy, and one of the reasons I hesitate to go to the vet. I had the same sort of problems with my dogs....seems like they never really knew exactly what was going on. I'm going to take her in the morning though. I hate to stress her out for them to not tell me anything but hopefully that won't happen.

+3 - 285

Don't know what any of the #'s mean. I'm not planning on checking anymore tonight.
 
It stinks when the vets don't know the answers, but I must say, in all fairness, I have had the same experience with the medical community with each of my 3 children. Potentially life threatening condtions seriously misdiagnosed . We just want doctors to know more than they do. Of course, there are also better and worse ones, which complicates it.
Anyway, sleep well tonight, have a happy dream, and good luck if you go to the vet tomorrow.
 
I was thinking inverse curve too (= dose too high), but then it didn't really drop down for the PMPS so I think it's more a raised flattish cycle. So could be the dose was too high, or could be from the shot being late, or could be other factors. ohmygod_smile Any chance it was a fur shot or she got into some HC or something? (Grasping at straws for the easy explanation here ;-) )

Last time you dropped to 1.1 she went high that night, so hmmm. Well, see how it goes. It's probably what I would have done just to check in case the dose was too high. If the #s drop down by morning, then you'll have confirmation. If she stays high, I would go back to 1.2.
 
On the ketone question, I thought the rule of thumb was if it's anything above trace it's an immediate trip to the vet, but trace you give as much insulin & fluids if you can and watch like a hawk? And still take to the vets if you want, but not required? I'm not 100% sure on that. I think there are other peeps though too where the vets have sent them home when it's trace, maybe with fluids and a dose adjustment, but no particular treatment. I don't think they would want to use a fast acting insulin to bring her #s down since on the whole her #s are actually pretty good.

confused_cat

Have you tried testing for ketones with the pee stix rather than the blood meter? I know there are some differences that are pretty complex from what I gather. I would try to test her pee if you can out of curiosity. Maybe that would be clear and would put your mind more at ease?

Sorry she is not feeling well, what a day here! Hope she is doing better soon. I would defintely have the vets look at her breathing if it continues to be strange.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top