Thumper 6/12

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 307
shot 1.2
+4 - 155

I was gonna try to get some testing in today. I went back to sleep this morning so the +4 is the first one I've gotten. Should I do a +6 and +9?
 
Barbara, I hope Thumper and you have a great day!

Looks like you are off to a good start.
 
+6 - 85
+9 - 116
PMPS - 198

I'm retesting again in 20 mins but I'm sure she's rising. I guess 1.2 was too much? Should I go back to 1.1? I like her #'s all day but I'm not sure about the PMPS being below 198?
 
Sweet!!! Why are you waiting & retesting? I would shoot. You know it's rising from the mid-cycle check. brb will look at your notes on the dose. Today looks perfect to me so my first reaction is shoot what you shot this morning....? but will look a little more carefully right now...
 
Now she's at 207, she's eating but I'm not sure what to shoot. Oh, & I got a ketone test in today, it was 1.4 on the Precision Xtra.
 
Ok I see, looks like you are worried b/c the PMPS is so much lower than the AMPS, and it looks like a 72% drop which is slightly high (though might be ok). Maybe try 1.1 then? I wouldn't say 1.2 was too much though, I would say it's perfect for a higher PS. And I don't think it would be a problem if you want to shoot 1.2 tonight since the PS is already going to be over 200, but if you do that I would get in a spot test or two between shot time and nadir. But even a 72% drop puts you at a nadir around 55 which is perfect - not much room for error, but still a perfect nadir.
 
Really anything in the fat 1 to 1.2 range should be fine. I would probably go with 1.1 if you don't want to be worried tonight about the possibility of her going low, and if you want to be able to shoot on schedule in the morning. If you are worried about ketones (I forget what 1.4 means), I would go with 1.2 and get in spot tests.
 
That's my dilema....want to have a shootable # in the morning but want to keep her in the lower #'s cause of ketones. When looking back to the end of May it looks like it did take quite a few days for the ab's to start working on lowering her #'s...if that's what it was, so I'm also wondering if her #'s are gonna start coming down anyway. I'm tempted to keep the 1.2 but a little scared.
 
I think she'll be fine - it's already a late shot at this point, and your nadir today wasn't low by any means, so there is room for the dose I think. I would just get in a test at some point this evening (and don't panic if it is above 50!).
 
you could always make it a teensy bit on the low side of 1.2, so more than 1.1 but still a little skinny - depends on how late the shot is at this point - if you are an hour late I would just go with 1.2, if it's only like 20 minutes late I might skinny it up a bit
 
I ended up shooting 1.1, mostly cause I was trying to adjust the dose just a little & pushed the syringe too hard & that's where it landed. She's not been moving around much, she's been laying on the rug beside her food dish & taking a nap after she eats. I'm still trying not to think too much about what might be going on...
 
Hmmm, like she's not feeling well? Darn. I don't know what it might be, but I'd trust your instincts, and take her to the vet if you think that's what's in order. Hopefully it's nothing!!!!
 
Really good #'s today...yay! Hope that the meds are kicking and doing their job and Thumper is feeling better.
 
+3.5 - 331
ketones still 1.1 - from what I can gather this meter is not really reliable & the last time I got around this & then checked a pee strip she was at trace.

Something is weird here...how could she possibly be this high when I only reduced by .1? She seems a little agitated also. I think we are going back to the vet in the morning. I never got to talk to them after the visit on Wed. but I would think after 5 days on zeniquin she would be better than she's acting. At least she is still eating.
 
Good that she is eating, that is so important! I don't know anything about those ketone meters, but with even a trace I would be asking the vet about it.
It's hard to know what one number means, especially after a good day, but if she is agitated, maybe something's up--- so it sounds like checking in with the vet is not abad idea. Good luck tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top