Thumper 6/1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 163 waited 20 mins 173 shot .9
+4 - 156
looks good to me but I don't know much. Should I be concerned that she will go lower? DH was home again so got the +4 but he won't be there for +6. I told him to get her up to make sure she had some food.
 
I think it is looking okay, Barbara. If she has food, she should be able to bring herself up if she goes down low. These are nice numbers. The other time she was close to these numbers was the day she had the late nadir - the 50 at +10 or so, and you will be around by then? Any way one of you can get home a little earlier tonight so you can see what is going on? Info on this dosage, particularly when given around 200, would be good info for you to have.
 
Sue and Oliver (GA) said:
Any way one of you can get home a little earlier tonight so you can see what is going on? Info on this dosage, particularly when given around 200, would be good info for you to have.

I'm thinking DH will be back home this afternoon, he will def. be home before me. I will prob. be rushing in about shot time. I'm keeping the other day in my mind where she was lower @ +10 than @ +6. She just doesn't seem to do "typical" patterns so I'm always concerned she will do something strange & I won't be there!
 
That is wonderful!!

keep it up Thumper!!

Love the BLUES

Denise and Shakes

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Yikes! Looks like we're gonna have a repeat of Monday.

+8 - 107

Good but scary! And I'm not gonna be home this weekend!

I only shot .9 well, as close as I could tell but anyway it was less than 1 Unit. Looks like I will need help for PM shot & I'm not going to be home until right before time which is 6:30 EST. That is if she's high enough to shoot then. It's been 2 months today....what a crazy 2 months it's been! bcatrun_gif
 
Just remember - you WANT to see numbers like that, Barbara. They make your life more exciting, but they mean she is responding well.

So it may be a longer nadir like the other day and probably means the dose was a little too high this am. Let's see what you get at pmps. We want to make sure she is headed up, not down, but it would be nice if you could shoot at least a mini dose to keep the amps lower. Glad you got a +8 so we have a good picture of what is going on. Did DH get it for you? He is coming in pretty handy at this stuff. :-D
 
+10 - 95

So, I bet she's not going to be getting a shot in 2 hrs. I will give an update when I get home probably in about 2 hrs.
 
PMPS - 69 that's really a +12

No way was she gonna come up to 150 in the next 20 mins & it's time to eat so I fed them. When should I test her again? Her poor ears are gonna look like pin cushions!
 
Based on the other day, I would say test once an hour as it seemed to take Thumper a while to rise...maybe 1/2 hour until she's rising. I'm thinking once she gets in the 180 range a micro dose (.2u to .4u) might be in order to head her off going really high but also hopefully give you shootable # in the morning and back on schedule. What do others think? Someone else mentioned it, but I think you might be seeing some sputter action. Thumper's mantra must be to keep mommy on her toes. Great numbers today!
 
I like Holly's advice. Thumper either went down in the past 2 hours or stayed the same (depending on that 20% variance) I would go ahead and feed her and then test again in an hour. I don't see how you can plan on anything other than a mini dose tonight, if that.

I think I would plan on lowering the dose in the am - maybe .5 or .7?
 
I've updated her SS but this is looking similar to Monday night. Ketones on pee strip showed neg. but 1/2 later blood test showed 0.9 but I'm not worrying about that. She ate after +12 so the +13 was about an hour after food.

+13 - 102

She's a bit higher tonight so I'm thinking she will get to a number I can shoot later. Then of course I have to worry about the AM & usually no one is one at that time of morning. Also, I will only be here for the AM shot on Friday then will be out of town till Sunday night. DH can do it & I will be able to text him but I'm not confident about what to shoot and I won't be able to get to a computer. Hopefully I will find a safe dose before then!
 
I'd agree, I think that Thumpers P has started helping out. For tonight when you get to a shootable # I'd give a small token dose so you will have a lower shootable bg in the morning, something like .2 or .3u

For the morning I would lower the dose to .5 or .6u so you can try to avoid a repeat of today.

Just for fun to test her P action, test her again at 2 or 3 hours after eating. If her P is working the food will bring her bg's down again.
 
I know it is scary, but it looks like you are having great success. I am happy for Thumper and you!
 
She didn't go down Monday night after food. It was just a slow climb.

Thanks Kim but I'm not getting too excited yet. She has been on a low dose before then went right back up. I really thought we were heading for 2 units again. I wish I wasn't going away this weekend!
 
Sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet!!! Remember that when she has that late nadir it's not the kind of hypo risk that you get from lower #s earlier. If she is at 100 at +6 say, even if she goes lower after that I really don't think it's a danger zone, it's just wonky is all.

I agree to reduce the dose, only I wouldn't reduce too far b/c you don't want to overdo that and have the ketones come back. My guess is that a lot of this is pancreas action, and you get that from hitting the good #s mid-cycle. So I'd keep reducing another 0.2 or so when you have a cycle like this, but I wouldn't drop the dose way down.

Once she's shootable tonight I'd probably go with 0.7. If that freaks you out then I'd go with 0.5. Doses lower than that often are like shooting water, so I'd keep the pressure on with trying to get her in good numbers each cycle. If her panc is pitching in - which is how it looks to me - then more cycles like this are what will help promote healing and help support it if/until it is ready to take over 100%. You still want to reduce a little though IMO b/c it's not clear how much of this kind of wonkiness is from the dose being too high, and how much is from panc action. She's not hitting any low #s though, today not even near 50, so I'm not worried about hypo particularly.
 
+15 - 150

Should I shoot now? And honestly I don't even know what to shoot! She's only 9 hrs away from AM shot.
 
Looking good. Don't be scared by the low numbers, this is not hypo range. Even tho you don't know why it happening, just keep remembering this is good for her body. It is frustrating because it is hard to know what to shoot, but these are good choices to have to make. Hope there are no zooms tomorrow.
 
Ok her P didn't bring her down after food so you can go with a little more insulin than I suggested earlier.

I'm voting .5u or maybe .6u so you can get a shootable bg in the morning.
 
Choices I see are:

1) Shoot a normal dose like 0.8 or something - fair chance she might not be shootable in the AM.
2) Shoot a token dose like 0.2 or maybe 0.4 to try to keep her from going too high overnight, and then hopefully shoot a moderate dose in the AM (I'd reduce a little on a +9)
3) Skip the shot and regroup in the morning.

I'd probably go for #1 or 2, depending on your ability to spot test any tonight, and your schedule tomorrow. If you want to go for good #s tonight, maybe get in a bedtime spot test, and you won't be worried if you miss the AM shot tomorrow, then I'd do the first. If you want to be sure you can shoot in the morning (like if you have to go to work and can't delay the shot, etc.), then I'd go for the second.
 
Ok, so I'm ok to shoot since she's at 150 now? And should I feed her again, like I usually do when she gets her shot? I don't want to skip cause she's rising & the other day when I skipped she was 351 by AM. I do have to work tomorrow but there is a chance DH MIGHT be home some tomorrow again....just can't count on that. I think I'm ok with the .5 so do it now?
 
Since she has food on board raising her bg's and you want a shootable bg in the morning I might go with .4u. I would rather deal with a higher bg in the morning than be worried and up all night and worried all day at work tomorrow.
 
I think the 0.5 sounds fine, whatever feels best to you. Do NOT stay up all night testing, LOL! I'd let her eat if she wants to, no biggie either way. You want them to eat something between PS and +4 or so, that's all. Whether it's with the shot or not doesn't really matter. I believe in snacking though, and if she likes a bedtime snack or whatnot I'd go with that too.
 
Ok, I went with what I call a "fat" .4 but if stress causes her to go up faster she probably go up higher. She had a fit when I tried to give her shot, took 2 of us to hold her & she still managed to bite me. She has been getting worse all the time about it. She will let me test fine but when I start trying to tent she starts fussing.

I will probably only get in a +1.5 or something like that....unless she's real low then. So what's my shoot # in the AM? And should I just reduce todays AM of .9 to like .7?
 
I won't be around in the AM, here are my thoughts:

The shot will be at +9, right? (I'm assuming you can't delay the shot by much at least)

If she is under 150, skip the shot
150 - 200 go with 0.4 (thinking that means tonight's 0.5 worked fairly well, so lower a hair on an early shot)
200 - 250 go with 0.5
over 250 go with 0.7

Those are all lower than what I would shoot at a +12...

ballpark #s, that just what comes to mind for me.... you should shoot what feels right to you!!!
 
If she's upset I'd skip the spot test tonight. She's unlikely to go low, the dose is less than half what you shot this morning. We deliberately suggested a low dose so that's you'll have a shootable #s in the morning and not have to skip that shot. So IMO there is virtually no hope she will hit low blues or greens tonight. I'm aiming to keep her in yellows if possible til morning, and keep you from having either an unshootable blue or an icky pink at tomorrow's +9.
 
I really need to find something DH can continue with for Fri PM until Sun PM also. My daughter said she won't even let her pet her now but she's usually ok for the ear prick. I think she's really feeling better, she wanted to go lay on the patio again tonight so that's probably why she's fussing at me!
 
Ok, I'm writing it down cause I know I will forget by the morning! :lol: I'm going to try to go to bed! Thanks!
 
Where are you shooting her, scruff, flank? It seems strange she's ok with the ear pokes but not the shots. The shots are usually a non event.
 
Scruff - I tried the flank & she really got mad about that. I wanted to change some so I wasn't shooting the same place all the time. It really seems like her skin is not as loose as when we first started but boy as soon as I start pickin up her skin she starts growling. The last several days a few times I've had to stick her more than once cause she screams & jumps up. I will barely prick her & she starts. It seems crazy to me that she doesn't flinch when I stick her ears and I've been sticking them a lot lately. I might go get some of the shorter needles. I was using the 1/2 in cause I was afraid I wouldn't really know when I had the others in and that's what I was used to with the U 40's.
 
The scruff doesn't absorb as well as the flank. Is she dehydrated? I use the short needles and feel around to make sure I have a tent that isn't too thick.
 
I don't think she's dehydrated. She was like this the last time she was at the vet & they said she wasn't dehydrated. I remember reading the scruff wasn't the best place although that's where my vet taught me so that's why I tried the flank. She really got mad about that. I do take a lot of time feeling around and making sure I've got a good spot. I guess I need to be quicker and I think I'm gonna go get some of the shorter needles.
 
Yah the shorter needles are way better in my experience. My civie was getting some shots recently and with the longer needles she would cry a little bit (awwww) - I thought maybe the stuff she was getting stung a little. But then I was sneaky and switched to some insulin syringes I still have with short needles, and she didn't even blink, so now I think it was the needle. Also with the short needles you don't really need to tent, you can just lift up a little bit of skin and that's enough. Some even shoot straight in though that freaks me out.

That's tough figuring out what DH can shoot, it's so confusing right now. How much will he be able to test? I mean, you could go with something like 0.6 and he can probably give steady shots, but with the recent ketones I'd be scared to do that. 0.8 seems better to me, but then if she hits good #s (which you want), and Mr. P joins in (good, but bad if it will throw off DH), then she may not be shootable.

Tomorrow morning will be wacky b/c of the early shot. Depending on the #s between now and tomorrow night's shot you might try something like 0.6 or 0.8 tomorrow night and see where that lands you Friday morning, and if the PS is yellow or high blue, then just stick with that dose, or if not, adjust the dose up or down a little for the next shot. Not much time to settle on a dose, but at least the window to decide from isn't too big - less than 0.9, and no teeny doses yet. Worst case I would just pick something in the middle and hope for the best. Yikes.

Well, sleep tight, don't worry about any of it for now :lol: :lol: :lol: and I'm sure it will be ok! The good news is she is doing so great right now, at least it's not like you are leaving her with red #s and ketones or something super-scary like that. So she should be just fine even if DH screws it all up. LOL. :mrgreen:
 
I used the short needles and found them much easier. Mostly I don't think Squamee even felt it. Perhaps your vet can watch and give you suggestions?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top