Thumper + 5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
+5 - 114

Never have figured out what her nadir is but I think it's past +6 guess I will be up for awhile. At this point I don't know if she could survive hypo. What if I took the vets advice & shot 1 unit?? :roll:
 
No vomiting & she has eaten some. She's just laying around, not moving much at all. I discovered she had peed on the couch last night, good thing she was on a water proof pad!
 
Those are actually good #s though, I really don't think she is going to hypo. Feeding her some LC though if she will eat it is good. I forget what her PS was, brb.

Concerned about the peeing on the couch. Do you think was incontinence? Or she might have a UTI and not want to use the box?
 
I think you got it right Rob! It's a 66% drop and she is in perfect greens, so the dose looks spot on to me. I think 0.5 would have left her sitting higher, and I think if she were eating more the 0.8 might not be enough. But tonight it was perfect IMO.
 
Robin, I was gonna shoot 1 unit, remember....not your fault!

She ate about another tablespoon.

PMPS - 260
shot .8
+3 - 169
+5 - 114
+6 - 88

Joanna, I don't know when exactly it happened. I'm thinking maybe when she got sick? I'm not gonna worry about it unless it happens again. When I woke up she was sleeping on my lap, which she likes to do anyway so I didn't think about it. I decided to wash her blanket, she had not gone back over there to sleep, now I know why!
 
Just looked at the SS it looks like the injection was Metoclopramide (sp?)/Reglan - someone mentioned Cerenia but I guess she didn't get that. I think Cerenia stops vomiting (but doesn't actually address nausea), Metoclop counters nausea. I know the liquid is relatively short acting and wears off quickly, but I don't know about the shot. They didn't send you home with any of it for her in liquid form? I have a civie on it right now and it seems to really help her, and I had a civie a few years ago it really helped. For some cats though it has weird side effects, I've had a couple I had to stop it for due to that.

If you can reach them in the morning, I would report that she is barely eating and you would like some anti-nausea meds you can give her at home. I wouldn't take her in unless she is sicker, but if she's not eating great, I think she should be on at least Pepcid and probably more than that. I am not a vet of course, but when I've had cats with problems, those are things they have routinely prescribed for us, usually for something like 5 or 6 days and then stop it and see how they do after that and reevaluate if they need something longer term. But a one-day approach (maybe I misunderstood & they sent you home with meds for her) doesn't make sense to me - why take the risk if she isn't feeling well? That will just have you back on their doorstep in another day! It's one thing if it's a cat with a hairball or something, but clearly she is having a bigger problem than that if she isn't eating well and it's been a few days or more now that things have been off.

I would decide what you want and then call them and be insistent like someone else said.
 
They only gave her the injections, no meds to take home. I don't know if I'd say she was barely eating. I noticed her eating earlier in the day....come to think of it not long after we got home she was at the bowl. I gave her dinner early thinking I was gonna shoot early then I didn't. She probably ate about the same as usual, sometimes she eats more but not always. I think she got up once since then & got a little snack and when I've just tried to get her to eat cause her BG was going down I just took it to her & she ate both times. I could just get the OTC stuff but I wonder how being on that would effect the pancreatitis test?
 
Hmmm, I don't know about it affect the Panc test. If she is eating ok I wouldn't worry about it, but if you think she is undereating, I would call and exaggerate it (oooh, I'm *awful*!) and get some meds - or at minimum find out if it's ok to give the Pepcid. Especially since they are only there in the morning, I'm thinking if she is doing better today from the shots but then that wears off tomorrow, she might not be eating well tomorrow night, so you might feel better at least knowing you can give her something Sunday night if needed. If she is still eating ok in the morning though, it may not be an issue.
 
I just found some generic Zantac & Wendy mentioned that's what she gives her cat but this expired in Feb. Should I use it?

Boy, I'm hitting the jackpot cleaning out my cabinets. I found some Pepcid but it's the Complete & it expired in April.
 
I meant to answer you the other day about the internest. Yes, like you said here in VA we have to get a referral to go there. I think it's ridiculous...who's paying the bill? I guess maybe they're just too busy?
 
Weird, it's like an HMO or something I guess. It's so totally different out here, I don't get it - here I just call them directly and go in for whatever I want.... they are more than happy to take my money!!! :lol:

I don't know anything about the Zantac. I know there is an alternate to Pepcid, but I thought maybe it was Tagamet or something? Not sure.... maybe post on Health, or PM Wendy?

I think expiry dates are often bogus. From what I have read or seen on some expose or something, a lot of meds are good for years after the date. Obviously not something that could spoil, but Feb is not that long ago, I would think it is still good. I would just do some asking around & make sure it is safe for cats.
 
It's not that expenisve, I can get some Pepcid tomorrow. Wendy posted on my other thread earlier about the Zantac. If she starts throwing up I might just go ahead & use it. Like you said I think they just put a "safe" date on there. We are almost at +7 & it's been about 45 mins since she ate. I'm gonna go test her again.
 
+7 - 86

Well, it's slowed down but I hate that she's still dropping but she has done this before. Now I doubt she'll be high enough to shoot in the morning. Ugh....why's she such a challenge? It makes me more nervous since she's got all this other crap going on. I think I'll go back to not shooting unless she's 250. What do you think? And since I shot .8 into 260 tonight I guess I should pull back a little? If nothing else was going on I wouldn't but....
 
Sorry I wasn't around yesterday to lend support Barbara. Me and the fur crew here are sending you guys all the best.
(((((hugs))))) and sleep and peace to you and Thumper!
 
Barbara said:
+7 - 86

Well, it's slowed down but I hate that she's still dropping but she has done this before. Now I doubt she'll be high enough to shoot in the morning. Ugh....why's she such a challenge? It makes me more nervous since she's got all this other crap going on. I think I'll go back to not shooting unless she's 250. What do you think? And since I shot .8 into 260 tonight I guess I should pull back a little? If nothing else was going on I wouldn't but....

I know it's a pain, but this is actually good. The numbers are good, still some margin for error since they aren't at all low. I would shoot on anything over 180, or 200 if that makes you too nervous. It keeps the drops from being too steep, and keeps insulin in her. With a ketone history, I think waiting til 250 is really risky, I am sorry the vets put that kind of thought in your head. It just makes 0 sense to me to wait once she is above even 150 really.

I would not reduce the dose from the 0.8. That was picture perfect. I would much rather see her be unshootable in the morning because she got good #s than running highish all night. Of course it's a dilemma for morning, but the good #s will do her good. Then you can hopefully delay the morning shot a little if you need to, and shoot a smaller dose if needed.

Somehow people seem to get nervous when the #s dip into the greens, but really any nadir that is above 50 or 60 still has some room for improvement. I would certainly agree that this isn't the time to push the dose and *aim* for a 50 nadir, but I wouldn't reduce a dose that gave you great numbers and no scary numbers.
 
It mostly scares me since she's in kind of a touchy situation. She's eating but who knows when that might take a turn & she stop again. She's improved but still not herself. It also bothers me that she didn't start going back up until +11.5 & then it was slow. I only have about an hour to play with in the morning then have to leave her alone all day. DH might be around but I can't count on it.
 
But the good numbers will help her feel better. You want to avoid steep drops, numbers below 50, and numbers above 200 (I'm guessing at what number is the turning point, I really don't know). Any of those things will cause her to feel worse. The more time she can spend between 50 and 120 the better she will feel.

The fact that she wasn't rising late in the cycle is AWESOME news. This is the kind of stuff to cheer about!!!!! If she saw any low numbers I would say it is a sign the dose is too high, but since she was in good numbers all night I think it is a sign she has a sputtering pancreas.

Now I'll qualify it with one thing - if you are convinced the only reason she didn't go under 50 is because you were feeding her, then that's a bit different and I *would* lower the dose a bit on that theory, unless you expect to be feeding her (or leaving food out for her to eat if she wants it) tonight. That would be sort of a case of the dose being good with extra food on board, but too high with no mid-cycle food.
 
Joanna & Bix (GA) said:
Just looked at the SS it looks like the injection was Metoclopramide (sp?)/Reglan - someone mentioned Cerenia but I guess she didn't get that. I think Cerenia stops vomiting (but doesn't actually address nausea), Metoclop counters nausea. I know the liquid is relatively short acting and wears off quickly, but I don't know about the shot. They didn't send you home with any of it for her in liquid form? I have a civie on it right now and it seems to really help her, and I had a civie a few years ago it really helped. For some cats though it has weird side effects, I've had a couple I had to stop it for due to that....I would decide what you want and then call them and be insistent like someone else said.

Reglan isn't the best drug for pure nausea, but it works great if the source of stomach discomfort is slow gastric emptying. Vets used to prescribe it for nausea, but there are much better drugs out there like ondansetron now. Cerenia is for vomiting and does work for cats, though it originally was developed for motion sickness in dogs.

I agree that you need to be insistent, here. Something is definitely wrong and needs to be diagnosed properly. Peeing in inappropriate places could mean a UTI, or it could mean Thumper was sleeping so soundly that they didn't notice.

I just finished reading through the rest of the threads. I'd go ahead and use the Zantac, provided it is the 75mg form. It helps with stomach acid, but it also helps with gastric motility so it can help move things through the stomach a little faster. It isn't quite like Reglan (which controls stomach contractions) but if the nausea is due to things sitting in her stomach it may help calm things down some. 1/8 tablet twice per day, though in bad cases you can use a little more. Don't worry if amounts are not precise as it is hard to cut them up evenly. IMPORTANT: Zantac is very bitter so if you can find an empty gel cap to put the sliver in, do so.

When is the vomiting happening? Right after eating, or at other times? What does it look like? Is it like foamy spit, or does it have food in it?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top