Thumper 5/6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 389

I went ahead & shot .5 but I'm starting to think I need to move up to .6? Assuming she's high again PMPS should I go ahead & shoot .6?
 
Hmmm...I see there was some activity on my post last night. I haven't read it all yet but I did see Sue asked about a curve this weekend. I think I can get some numbers on Sat. I will be leaving the PM shot to my husband for the first time Sat night though! I will be home with her tonight so I might be able to get a +6...depending on how sleepy I get.
 
I would not go above the .5 if that is what you are presently doing. Let's see what the curve tells us about whether to increase or decrease, Barbara. I know it sounds counter productive to consider lowering the dose, but if you do a curve and he is going low in midcycle and the higher ps numbers are due to a rebound from a low number, then the higher dose is the one that wouldn't work. See this info: Rebound
 
Stuck with the .5

Yes, it was lower...someone said this was a confusing disease....I REALLY see that! Her #'s were so good while you were gone then all of a sudden they shot up. I will be getting a +4 & hopefully a +6 tonight. I will do what I can tomorrow but I'm gonna have to make a decision about tomorrow PM shot by 4:00 pm Eastern time as I am going out & my husband will be giving her shot. He has checked BG so I can get him to do the PMPS & probably get a +2.....if he remembers!
 
I know Barbara. I don't know what to make of Thumper's pattern either, but she is still on a fairly low dose of insulin and maybe needs a little more time. If you're still getting the same pre shots and get a +6 tonight or tomorrow and it's not low, I would creep the dose up a little. Great that hubby is helping out.
 
So now Thumper is PISSED....I could barely get her BG...let me stick her ear but wouldn't hold still, I had to resort to trying to hold her down & get it so now she's not happy. :YMSIGH: She's always been uncooperative, I'm surprised she's not let me have it before now. She's started to gripe at me when I give her shots also. Hmmm...just occured to me...maybe she's feeling better....starting to be her *****y self again. :lol: When her sister came down with the over active thyroid I remember saying if it had to be anyone she was the best to have to give a pill to twice a day, little did I know 6 months later I would be facing this!

+3 - 261
 
If she's getting feisty she must be feeling better. Nice +6 last night.

Have you looked into the I131 Iodine treatment for you civie's Hyper T? Harley and his brother both got sick at the same time Harley was dx with diabetes but his brother was dx with Hyper Thyroid. I tried the pills for a while then the gel since the pilling wasn't going well. I finally got him the I131 and it cured it. It's expensive but for me was worth every penny.
 
Is that the radio active treatment where they have to stay at the vet for a week? I read a little about it but my vet didn't seem to push it. Callie is really easy to give the pill to thankfully & she seems to be doing ok. I think if I didn't have to leave her for a week I would have thought more about it.
 
Yes it is. I had heard that the pills work but over time the HyperT still damages their heart, etc. The I131 is a cure for most cats although like anything sometimes it doesn't.

You could ask over in Health, there are alot of HyperT kitties here. I got a lot of great information when I was asking but havn't retained much of it since I opted for the treatment.
 
How old was your cat when you had it done? They kinda acted like cause she was almost 15 it wasn't beneficial? And did you have to leave him for a week? She gave me the name of the vet that does it around here, he's about 45 mins away. Callie seems happy & ok with the pills so I just didn't push it. She's very skittish & nervous so that's why I hated to leave her for a week. I had read a little about the pills causing problems sometimes but just put it out of my mind. She takes the 5 mg pill, 1/2 in the morning, 1/4 in the evening.
 
He was 13 1/2. It was a year and a half ago, they just turned 15 this April.

I had to leave him for almost a week and a half. I know that's longer than usual, but this is the midwest. And he was not happy, vet visits have been horrible ever since. However his last vet visit his blood work was perfect and the vet described him as a "lean mean cat machine" especially for a senior. But one of us was not going to survive a twice a day pilling so getting the treatment was a no brainer for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top