Thumper 5/5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
AMPS 276 I went ahead & shot .4 just cause I don't know why??? LOL! I'm sorry I'm such a mess. Hopefully that will be good, we will see tonight.

BTW, if any of you freeze food and ever eat at Kentucky Fried Chicken I discovered (in my area at least) they are serving their sides in these re-usable plastic containers & they are perfect for a can of FF plus they have a lid. My youngest cat loves it when I put those frozen cans of food out, she acts like she's licking a popsicle! LOL!
 
None of these dose decisions are life and death, Barbara. It does feel that way at first, but as long as you test and keep track of his numbers, he will be safe and you will just be gathering data. Be patient with yourself. You are doing great and so is he - to be down in such low doses early in the game. Oliver took 6 months to get off insulin and we were told that was very fast. You are keeping him safe and healthy and working toward regulation. Life is good. :-D
 
I know why. Because the .5u on last nights PS of 350ish gave you an 80 point drop at your next AMPS so you droped your dose like we did when we were trying to stop the swings from high to low and back. Granted sticking with the .5u on AMPS 276 might get you down into the blues next PS but since you work and Thumper is home alone during the day I think you did just fine.

Give yourself some scritches, you've caught on to this pretty quickly and micro dosing can be nerve racking nailbite_smile

Robin
 
I can give her something at +3 they are actually ususally begging anyway, sometimes I give them food sometimes I just put frozen out for overnight.
 
Robin, I do leave food out but I"m not sure how much she might get. Petey is a pig & he's always grazing. Thumper is & always has been pretty lazy & he picks on her so I don't know how much she get up during the day to eat? She did have a snack tonight @ +3 and her +4 is still 247. Should I go up to .6 or stay at .5 for a few more doses?
 
Sorry Sue, no disrespect.

Barbara I think you might be seeing a small bounce from the .4u on the 276 because a .3u was a bit too much on the 300's before and she had a snack at +3 so your +4 will include some food spike so slow the drop.

I would not go up to .6u. I would stick with a .3u or .4u depending on your PS, maybe .3u on a 200 something and .4 on a 300 something.

Robin
 
None taken, Robin. Are you thinking less insulin, not more? So little data and confusing pre shot numbers.

Barbara, I think one of the reasons we are struggling with the dose is that we only have pre shot numbers and few mid cycle numbers. Can you do a curve this weekend to help us out?
 
i am totally not suggesting 2u...however has anyone looked at the beautiful 1st dose curve on 2u.
and with nary a green in sight...and pinks all over the amps and pmps....why the discussion between .4 or .3 or .5?
i think this kitty has been handled with the baby kid gloves for some time now.
still not willing to shoot below 180?
i'd shoot at 150 if it's on the way up.
but i've bowed out of this one as the numbers just get higher.
FWIW
IMHO
Lori
 
Yeah, but if you look at 4/13, 1.5 looks to be too much. Then on 4/27 & 4/30. something around 0.3 looks perfect, #s still decent next day, then weirdness after that. Possibly too much reduction too fast and it caught up with her, but still, I think the doses are justified by the #s. She came down from 0.5 b/c PSs were getting to be under 150. She may need to go back up there or past to get back to good #s at this point though.

OK, back to sleep. :mrgreen:
 
There are several people here right now that work full time, including me, who have no opportunity to get mid cycle tests until the weekends. If she wants to try a higher dose, I would rather see her do it on a weekend when she will be there to test and intervene if bg's go low.

Since when do we here in PZI suggest to a new person to shoot into a 150, seriously, maybe my memory isn't what it used to be so show me the kitty. Our no shoot starts at 200, when there is enough data we move to 180. With the exception of Joanna, Gator and myself who had been at this long enough to know what we were doing I can't think of anyone we have pushed to shoot into low numbers.
 
I think we can all agree a curve this weekend and a dose increase or decrease based on that data, would be wise. Barbara, will that work for you? As I told Denise, it doesn't have to be all in one day - a few tests on Saturday with a few more at different times Sunday to fill in the gaps would be great.
 
well, having been here since '07 I think it's safe to say Robin," with the exception of Lori' too. Since you have wanted to be the mind at work here I bow out....not to say I don't know what I'm saying. Barbara will tell you I am the one who first suggested she down dose by 1 unit in the first place. Yet you have treated all my thoughts as rubbish.
You have been treating this Newbie and my words as if your in another forum...where newbie's are newbie's for, well, ever. And only your voice of reason presides.
Take it all, if you want it that badly.
Barbare and Thumper will be fine.
 
Maybe I should have been clearer Lori. With the exception of Joanna, Gator and myself - meaning that we shot/shoot at numbers lower than 150 once our cats became regulated. I didn't realize that you were shooting PZI at those numbers too. I apologize. You didn't keep your ss current back then so who knew.

I have been micro dosing Harley for quite awhile now and felt qualified to help since micro dosing can be trickier than dosing high #'s with high doses.

As for the rest of it, I don't know what you're talking about.
 
Apology accept. And yes Robin, Tom was on PZI in '07 and went OTJ shooting below 150....and then all of last year we were on PZ and I have no problem shooting 150 or when to suggest other's do so...if and when THEY are ready...;not I. This kitty always is on the rise....150 means nothing if he is on the rise he can be shot. She has data.
But Apology accepted
Lori
You really think I could be in this room all these years and not see a fair amount of 150 shooting??????
 
Sorry, I still don't see where she has the data for it. If you want to play fast and loose with Tom that's your choice. Please point out all of these others who are shooting below 150.

I think it is dangerous to be telling newbies to shoot at these numbers until they have the time to wrap their heads around all of the information and gets to know how their cat reacts to their insulin and get comfortable shooting their numbers and understands how to read their spreadsheet.

I thought that was what we did here. Teach the new people. Stop badgering her. This isn't a popularity contest, this is about a cat named Thumper!

You're problem is probably with me not Barbara, so please take it off her daily threads. She doesn't need the added stress.

I have no intention of engaging in this chiildish behavior with you any longer. You have a problem with me, you come to me, leave everybody else out of it.
 
wooooo, end of a long week? well, our cozy PZI family has always been a somewhat dysfunctional one :mrgreen: but I hope we can continue to keep it cozy & friendly.... I know there are differences and personalities, and I also know that we all care about the kitties & the beans, so hopefully y'all can sort it out off-line, or alternately let it go....

don't make me have to go over to Think Tank to be able to relax!!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
not :lol:
not funny.
i pm'd robin to find out why she is dogging me...no response.
i am not really loving it.
and i'm all about Thumper....i care.
why would you say it's about you robin...it IS about Thumper.
:-|
Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top