Thumper 5/31

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 351 this is actually a +23

I guess this is zooming! I did check one last time last night, right as I was getting in bed she was 141 @ + 16
I'm shooting 1 Unit....
 
yup that would be a zoom :lol: Amazing how she stayed low for so long last night. Oscar did that a couple of times on Prozinc and I never knew why. It would just happen out of the blue like this. I think 1u is a good dose for right now.
 
DH was able to get a +6.5 it was 319. Guess there's nothing else to do but increase tonight?
 
Typically he can't, he just happened to be there today! I'm thinking 1.1 just since it seemed that 1 wasn't enough in the past but I don't know all the variables. I hope she's ok with the ketones!
 
I was so excited to see how she did overnight I had to get the computer going at lunch time! That is really not bad at all for an overnight number, I wouldn't even call it zoom. I was expecting a black #, that it really pretty tame for no insulin, YAY!

I wouldn't judge much from today's data. Since there was no shot last night, there won't be any overlap with today's shot, so the 1u from this morning will have less oomph than it would if it were following another shot. It's like starting over from the beginning. I think 1.1 is fine for tonight, or sticking with 1u is fine also. See what your PMPS is.

Hope she is feeling great with all the attention she is getting!!!!! LOL
 
That is not a bad number at all for a zoom and going that long without insulin.
Hope Thumper gets some more good numbers on whatever dose you decide on.
 
PMPS - 378

But Mom screwed up & left the insulin out all day!!!!! And after I yelled at DH for doing the same thing! Like 11 hrs & the A/C was turned up to 77 in here! Not hot for the cats & ok if you're just sitting around but....

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile

I don't have any choice but to use it. What should I do? And am I shooting 1.1??
 
Good grief I'm having a bad night! Now I dropped the bottle in the floor...didn't break but....is it still good? Should I just go ahead & get another bottle or is there any way to tell if its good? And I shot 1.1
 
Late to the party with all your excitement Barbara, but I think that 1 unit or the 1.1 is fine. The insulin will most likely be fine with air conditioning. We have all left insulin out. If it turns bad, you will see soon as it will stop being effective.
 
+2 - 315
ketones .8 with the Precision Meter - haven't caught her peeing I couldn't get this meter to work last night, wish I could catch her peeing tonight so I could see how they compare.
 
Yep, I've left it out too, I've even dropped it a few times. We are down to our last few drops and it is still ok. You're numbers will tell you if you need to replace it.
 
You would think I've got some kind of nuclear bomb on my hands the way I act about it! Hopefully it will be ok. Going to get a +4 BRB
 
No not at all. I would not worry about a +4 unless it were under 100 - 120, and possibly not even then, depending on their normal patterns, what the dose was, etc. For her I would not worry at all. She's unlikely to nadir below 100 if that's her +4, and certainly nowhere close to below 50.
 
Ok, good. I was wondering why in the world she was lower yesterday @ +11 than she was @ +6. She always has some kind of surprise!
 
Tomorrow morning, if your PS is below maybe 250, I'd probably pull the dose back to 1u. If it's below maybe 180, I'd probably pull back to 0.9. My thinking is if you get *that* much improvement on the PS, the dose may be a hair too high. It will probably be some trial & error to find exactly what dose works for her, so I wouldn't stress too much about it and worry too much about trying to pick the perfect dose. I'd just trial & error, gather data, and fine-tune as needed each cycle.
 
Barbara said:
Ok, good. I was wondering why in the world she was lower yesterday @ +11 than she was @ +6. She always has some kind of surprise!

I think it was probably a combo of the dose being a little high, and a sputtering pancreas. If her panc wasn't doing *something*, I'm not sure she could have sustained those blues for so long after the +12. It's not uncommon that once they hit some solid greens you see radical & sudden improvement in the #s. So it's a good thing!!! Confusing to dose of course, but still good.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top