Thumper 5/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS - 334 may not be exactly right cause I'm going from memory, I forgot to bring it to work with me. I was a little surprised by this #. I shot a "fat"1 Unit. She would not come out from under the bed this morning & was a little grumpy when we finally dragged her out so I don't know what the heck is going on. Yesterday she woke me up around 4:00 talking....I just figured she was telling Petey to back off cause every time she gets up like that he wants to chase her, but now I'm wondering if there is food left from overnight & if she went in there and got a snack. I guess the only way to know is to quit leaving food out overnight. She ate but not as much as usual & was fussing at me about her shot. I noticed there was a spot of blood when I removed the syringe. What is that about? This girl is gonna be the death of me! :YMSIGH:
 
I liked those yellow PS's better. I wonder what she's trying to tell you, I love chatty kitties, mine are talkers too.

At least it's Friday AND a long weekend. We can all get a curve in sometime over the next 3 days.
 
The spot of blood on the skin has happened to Oscar before. I never saw a difference in his numbers for that cycle, so it is probably due to poking through a small vein or something in the skin.
 
PMPS - 329
Seems odd she's going up after 4 days of antibiotics? I'll get some #'s this weekend.
 
She's grumpy but still eating, although it doesn't seem to be as much. I'm crushing the antibiotic up & putting it in her food at night so I don't know if that's got something to do with her not eating as much or not.
 
The AB might have a taste she can detect, will she go back and finish her food later? Can you just pill her? I know from experience that isn't always possible.

She might be grumpy because she's still not feeling well, I would give the AB's a few more days.
 
I'd keep leaving food out.... snacking is a good thing (LC snacking that is, no sneaky Kitty imitating allowed!)

If she isn't hitting greens mid-cycle, it could be that her insulin needs are going up. With your mid-cycle shot checks this weekend, if the nadirs aren't at least low 100s or lower, I'd consider going more aggressive with the dose, especially if you will be around to test. Without ketones in the picture we are often pretty relaxed about pushing for better #s, but with ketones, I would say be as aggressive as you can tolerate. Of course with safety caveats - if you bump up the dose you want to be able to test more mid-cycle.
 
Robin, yes she goes back later & finishes it. I noticed she left her bowl & moved to one of the others but I took that from her so she left but in about an hour she came back, finished her's and moved on to the other bowl.

Ok Joanna, I'm gonna get some #'s this weekend. I might possibly get a +6 tonight. Is that helpful if I don't have the earlier #'s from tonight?
 
Barbara said:
Ok Joanna, I'm gonna get some #'s this weekend. I might possibly get a +6 tonight. Is that helpful if I don't have the earlier #'s from tonight?

I'm not sure what you mean, but yes, any data is helpful! Do you mean is a +6 useful even if you don't have a +3 or a +2 +4, as in some sort of a curve going? Absolutely!!! In most cases there is no need to do actual curves, even though they are certainly useful, and I have often found that 2 spot checks in the same cycle can be useful to see where the #s are in relation to each other. But generally speaking, as an alternative to doing curves you can do one spot test every day or every cycle, and vary the times. That fills out the picture.

If you have a typical nadir point (which many kitties here don't seem to have - not sure if that is a ProZinc oddity, or what, but it seems like the nadirs lately are pretty hard to predict), you can test PSs and then a nadir test every few days, if you already have other spot tests in to know the patterns. Bix used to nadir around +6.5, so I would often try to get a spot check in around there if I wanted to be sure he wasn't going low. He was a lot more predictable though that kitties around here seem to be lately (with a couple exceptions).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top