Thumper 5/2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
Just a quick update...no time for SS right now! Thanks Holly...from your post last night. And Robin....yes someone is trying to throw a curve, but it might just be me!!
AMPS was 333! BUT, I realized as I was drawing her insulin for a .25 that I was right in the middle of the .2 mark & the .4 mark....which dawned on me would really be .3 right? I'm now wondering if I did that before & that's what's going on with theses high AMPS? Ugh....
 
Could be. When I get home tonight I'll try to find the pictures of what the micro doses look like, it really helped me. I practiced with a little colored water, drawing up different doses until I felt more comfortable doing it.
 
OMG...is this never gonna be any better? I'm totally confused...had my daughter & husband trying to read it with me. They said I'm shooting halfway between .2 & .3 and it totally looks like .3 to me. I guess my eyes are just bad. Heck I'm so confused now I don't even know what to call that?
 
I don't think much needs to be made of the difference between .25 and .3 .
You can drive yourself crazy and the difference is sooooo miniscule. But Robin will likely dissagree and I bow to her expertise.
My 2 cents?...the dose is needing a bump.
 
I'm not opposed to increasing the dose but when I was shooting .3 I was getting AMPS so low I couldn't shoot.
 
things don't stay the same...you gotta go with what you have daily. it's not like a perfect dose is the right dose forever kwim?
 
Nothing has changed, she eats Fancy Feast Classic...an assortment of the low carb ones I found on here somewhere. What a mystery this disease is. Does anyone know if it's like this for people also, as in dose changing daily?
 
No, people pretty much shoot the same dose and make changes after fructosamine tests on a quarterly basis.

Kitties have a much higher metabolizism and process the insulin faster, that's why we shoot twice a day instead of once like most humans, not to mention they are much smaller.
 
Oh, I thought people adjusted daily, even more than we do here? I saw a think on SuperNanny with a diabetic kid & the rents had to get out the calculator with every meal and add up all the carbs in what they served, how much finicky kid actually ate (they learned to feed then shoot if I recall after some scary bits), and then figure out the dose from there. It was scary to watch, frankly.

Thumper is actually doing really well. You may not realize it and I know it is uber-frustrating, but you are seeing some really good numbers and are on a teensy dose, so it's just fine-tuning. Hang in there!!!
 
I was getting really happy with her #'s but I don't understand where all these 300's are coming from. And when I was shooting .3 she was getting such low #'s I wasn't able to shoot the next time, usually happening in the morning when I was on a schedule. I guess I'll head back up to .3 tomorrow...assuming she's still in the 300's in the AM. I know I should never assume anything though...cause she'll for sure change up!
 
I think once we stop the swings from high to low and can even out the PS's she will start to show us her true bg's and then we can adjust from there.

My ex was diabetic and shot the same dose every day. They only adjusted after his quarterly blood tests. He was the one that told me I couldn't shoot insulin into a living being (Harley) without testing his blood sugar daily so I went searching for information and found this site.

Thank God!
 
:lol: Ok, I will admit that was good advise. He counted carbs too and watched his diet and calorie intake, I don't miss that diet much, MMMmmm Ice Cream. He was always after me to keep better track of how much Harley ate and when he ate it, but with multiple cats that's impossible, don't miss that either. :-D
 
confused_cat But if he NEVER changed dose why did he have to test before each shot....I think humans must change dose occasionally.
 
Actually I've said twice before that he changes his dose based on blood tests (A1C) every three months. He checks his bg's 3 times a day and adjusts his carbs accordingly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top