Thumper 5/14

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
We are just hanging in there. SS updated....since we kept hanging in the high 200's or low 300's I decided to up the dose to .8 I thought that was gonna be a good decision since we got some blue's today but now her +2 is back up to 312. Oh well, we'll see what develops. After I increased this morning I remmebered what the vet said about changing the dose too much. Is that a concern? I don't get why I would leave it if she's staying in the high 200's....and ya'll have probably told me before I just don't get it. :?
 
You're right, but sticking with a dose and letting it settle in works better at higher doses. Although we do see some wonky numbers with dose changes they do settle in. The insulin doesn't usually start to kick in until +2 and later, so they usually rise during the first 2 hours from the food.

At these small doses you shoot the numbers, your PMPS was almost 100 points lower than your AMPS so you may see a green tonight, YAY, can you get a before bed test in?

If your next AMPS is lower than tonights PMPS I might pull back to .6u.
 
well, about changing the insulin too much, your not changing too much. and the changes you are making are very very small.
human insulins can't be changed to often...and alot of cats use human insulins so i wonder if he is confused about that.

as for your numbers and dose.
i guess you need to ride out the dose change for a time...2 or 3 days which is 4-6 cycles.
and then, your call. go back to .2 to see what up
or go up another .2 which is 1 unit.

know that it is crazy...
that oddball +3 is enuf to drive you nutz
 
i don't necessarily understand why you would pull back if your amps is lower than tonights number. i would tend to think that is a good thing. especially since you are able to test and watch (sunday)
i mean if i'm missing something....
 
Yes, I will get a +4 number and I will go back to .6 if she's lower. I would like to be able to get to a dose hubby can safely shoot while I'm gone & feel good about it. I will be in touch with him though and hopefully he can safely shoot the same dose at least every morning so he won't have to wake me up early every day....especially since I'll be in a different time zone!
 
I'm having a hard time getting on the board...hopefully it's fixed now..whatever it was. Anyway, among other things I don't understand the bounce. :dizcat That is exactly what I feel like!
 
i was having trouble too with fdmb.
the bounce, you know what the bounce is yes?
 
I was having trouble too.

A bounce is that they get used to the higher numbers and when they get back to lower numbers their liver preceives it as a hypo from the numbers that they are used to so the liver dumps sugar to protect itself and bring the bg's back up to what they are used to.

I know, sounds crazy, but that's what happens.
 
well....sometimes when a kitty goes low, or lower than they are used to, their little bodies respond by pumping glucose (from the liver) into the blood. to help the body.

I don't know if that is what is happening...it crossed my mind that the dose needs to go back down.
I'll tell you why after I take another look at /ss if you want.
 
kitty only rose 30 points in the 3 hours leading up to the pmps. then shot up 100 points after the shot.
does that strike you as the insulin creating the rise?
potentially?
 
At the risk of being a broken record :mrgreen: I like to repeat, whenever it seems unclear, that there are 2 kinds of bounce:

- True rebound, which comes from #s too low or a drop that is too steep. This kind of rebound means the dose is too high and the needed response is to lower the dose

- Liver training rebound, which comes from safe #s that their body is not used to and protests b/c it thinks there is danger when there isn't. This kind of rebound does not require a dose decrease, in fact that will have you lose ground and delay regulation. For that kind of rebound, you just hold your dose and ride it out.

It is VERY confusing, and the trick is to distinguish which kind you have going on so you can dose accordingly.

When you see blue #s like you did yesterday followed by an all-pink cycle like last night, that looks like liver training where you got better than normal #s (but no lows and no steep drop), and then a protest cycle of pinks. The lower PS this morning is a bit confusing, but hopefully that is last night's bounce wearing off, rather than something wonky. :?

If it is from the dose being too high, I would try 0.7 rather than going all the way back to 0.6. Althought that said, on 0.6 I would have tried for some mid-cycle checks before raising the dose. I doubt the dose was working well, but that is just a guess - you can't judge by PSs alone. Not trying to be critical :-D just so you know for the future.

If it's any consolation, things are really pretty good even though I'm sure it doesn't feel that way to you right now. Things are still new, you are getting some intermittent good #s, and even the bad #s aren't horrible. It's a process to get things going well - you may have seen some newbies around lately who just blink and get good #s, but the is the exception rather than the rule. For most of us it took months, and lots of struggles and trial & error. You are collecting data right now, and at some point you will have enough information that it will be clear what is needed, and then things should pop into place.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top