Thumper 5/10

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
I forgot to write it down & I'm at work but AMPS was in the low 300's. So discouraging & confusing! Should I try .6 again tonight?
 
Hmmm, agreee, confusing. She does seem to be a kitty that reacts to a dose and then goes wonky for a few days. I think .5 or .6 for a few days and try to hold whichever dose you choose to see if she settles in. Get some mid cycle tests in when you can - a before bed test is always good info.

Don't get discouraged, though. These are not awful numbers and you are giving less than one unit of insulin. It isn't that you are having to increase rapidly; you are just trying to find a dose that fits her - well, at least for that day...... :mrgreen:
 
Just checking on you.
Remember Thumper is getting the 5 star treatment.
And the numbers as Sue said are not BAD.
Reds, Blacks...those are BAD...
You are in the early part of the dance and low pinks....average.

You cannot expect to control this disease perfectly Barbara...it will make you crazy if you expect to. Do you remember that 'oh pancreas' christmas song by 'howdygirl'
Some folks are here for a very long time working the numbers without complete regulation.
You still have a good shot at it.

When I first came here in "07 there was more humour on board. I guess the old timers then just knew the importance of it.
You can tell by the songs and poetry I put up a few weeks back.
Heck, if you read the lantus board you have to wade thru the humour to find the actual kitty reports.
Lot's of sayings..."it a marathon, not a sprint'

Guess I'm just trying to remind you to take it easy, don't stress the small stuff here (like a low pink) DON'T expect to have it all figured out....and go with the flow loving and enjoying your kitty and the friends you may make on the board if you can.
This is not life or death....this is what we affectionately, with humour...call....the sugar dance.

and life dancing with you sugar cat can be very interesting...let it.
Lori
and Lord Thomas
 
viewtopic.php?f=24&t=42244
the old stuff.
and let me find 'oh pancreas for you..

btw,,,,on the board kittens are sometimes referred to as aliens. by the other cats in the house. as per the 'ringworm poem' carefully constructed by the very smart cats on the board.
 
lori and tom Post subject: Re: Thumper AMPS 4/28Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 7:49 pm




Location: so. cal.
Member since: 08 Aug 2007 And so, with great pride and confidence that I am not, in fact, crazy, I present the song I hatched during tonight’s workout.

(To be sung lovingly and loudly to the tune of O Tannenbaum.)

O Pancreas

O pancreas, O pancreas,
Why did you have to leave us?
Since you’ve been gone we now rely,
On insulin called PZI
O pancreas, O pancreas,
Why did you have to leave us?

O pancreas, O pancreas,
Sometimes you rear your head
And when you do, blood glucose drops,
So I give food to make it stop
O pancreas, O pancreas,
Sometimes you rear your head

Try TID, try BID
Or change the dose, no guarantees
Tomorrow morn, she could be high
Or might be low, I can’t deny
That even now I have no clue
From day to day just what she’ll do

O pancreas, O pancreas,
Why did you have to leave us?
refrain...
 
did you poem by Cat Astrophy and the rap song in the other post.
bout the ringworm
and bout the car ride to the vet?
these types of things make dealing with FD more .... um,,,,,enjoyable?
 
Paws crossed for some nice #'s for Thumper today. Come on Thump you can do it.

Humor definitely brightens things up and makes hard things bearable. I have to admit I enjoy it much more than I can dish it. Thanks for sharing Lori.
 
Thanks for the laughs! PMPS was 273 so that's better. I stayed with the .5 since she was lower this evening. We'll see where this takes us!
 
Yay!
+4 - 186

On the other hand got another ketone test & it's still showing a trace? I will be calling the other vet tomorrow about that. Now that I know I could go out and buy a meter myself to test blood for ketones it really makes no sense that the other vet was telling me they don't test blood for ketones. I'm thinking I might need to invest in one of those. I checked today at Wal Mart...didn't see the meter but they had the strips on the shelf.....EXPIRED in 2010!!!

And another thing....I switched and gave her PM shot on her side. Don't know if that has anything to do with +4.
 
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat doing the sugar dance with you...YAY!
wanna watch a serious hypo unfolding...check on health the member is 'ohbell'
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top