Thumper 4/27

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
AMPS was 223, waited 20 mins got 247 - fed her & shot .3 now +1 is 187. I have to leave in 30 mins. I just sat her back at the food bowl - LC - should I do anything else?
 
Thank you so much! I was hoping someone would see this. I'm thinking about seeing if the place beside my vets will do kitty day care....I know they do doggie day care. It's owned by my vet. I think I would feel better if someone was watching her during the day & could check her BG. I do know though the last time she was at the vet for the day they said she wouldn't eat, but my vet said she tried to give her that Purina can food for diabetics so maybe that was it? IDK, I worry too much about her during the day. nailbite_smile
 
It's hard not to worry about them. I spent all last summer running home at lunchtime to test and make sure he was ok, and hour and a half round trip. :shock:
 
Barbara the day care is away from home right? probably not good for thumper's numbers now as stress can do a whopper on those numbers.
Did you read that dear mom letter I sent you?
You can start to relax a little....you actually have numbers many mommies would kill for ;-)
 
Just a quick update. Lori, I did read the letter....but I'm hard headed! LOL! Thanks! I ran home at lunch...not easy to do but not as bad as you Robin!

+7 is 113

I made her get up & eat something. I think she's pretty lazy & I wouldn't be surprised if she slept all day. I'm thinking she will be ok? I will get back to her at about +11
 
That's a very lovely +7. Looks like Thumper is having a great day. As a somewhat recent newbie, I totally understand the worry. She's giving you exactly the numbers you want, but it's hard not to worry when you're not used to those beautiful low blues. They're great though...go Thumper!
 
I understand the worry too, it’s the mommy’s job ;) But you guys are doing a great job! Pat yourself on the back Barbara!
 
are we gonna have to call the para-medics when you finally see a nice normal green????
and honey, prepare yourself now...don't freak out ok....you are likely to one day see a lowish number...perchance something...oh, let's say in the 50's. I just don't want you to faint or any number of things nerve wracked people do.
thumper is doing FANTASTIC :mrgreen:
 
Hi Barbara,

I'm not going to be around tonight until later so I thought I would throw my 2 cents in now.

If you get a PS similar to this morning 230 to 250 I'd stick with the .3u.
200 to 230 I'd drop to .2u
180 to 200 I'd drop to .1u

Unless you are uncomfortable with that or there are any unknown variables.

I'm hoping you will start getting nice even preshots.

Robin
 
Thanks Robin....don't you know you wouldn't cover the one # I got....PMPS 172...I'm waiting 20 mins!
 
+2 is 261
I can get a +4 on her if I need to, or should I just leave it alone? I keep making plans for the next shot & whatever I think might happen never does. I'm lost as usual!
 
Barbara... .1? I hope but do not think we will see any real action on that dose.
I know you are being conservative and I can respect that....but if you wake up to a number not to terribly high...well, Mr. P. is really trying to help out.
I don't really see the point in shooting that tiny a dose into that number.
But my fingers and tom's paws are crossed right now... ;-)
 
Whoa I didn't see that coming. If you can get a +4 that would be great. It will tell us if the .1u wasn't enough or the 261 was food spike, or maybe Ms P got lazy.

Judging from your 60 point drop in PS's I would say you could shave some off of the .3u. How many pairs of reading glasses do you have :-D
 
food drop?
these numbers are no where near low enough to encourage these mega low doses.
 
Ok Barbara, I think you are a front runner for the nailbite_smile award. :mrgreen:

Here are my votes for tonight:

- No to kitty day care. Adds to her stress, BG readings won't be reliable, and if she won't eat that's just asking for trouble.

- Yes to leaving food out if you aren't home, and then relaxing and knowing she is ok. Our bodies naturally signal to us to eat when our BGs are low, and I found that brought me a lot of peace of mind. She will be FINE.

- Yes to getting some perspective on actual risk. You are shooting teeny tiny doses, and have not seen #s that are anywhere close to risky.

Nice curve today! I think 0.3 on higher PSs and 0.2 on lower PSs looks like a reasonable place to be.
 
Ok, so I guess I'm just confused again....I thought from Robin's post I was shooting the right thing? I seriously don't understand this at all. I have gotten a lot of info since April 1 & was never really a fast learner anyway. I'm not good at making decisions...especially ones this serious. I will be posting a +4 in about 25 mins. Then will try to make a decision about tomorrow morning.
 
It's fine Barbara, no worries. It's a lot of experimentation to see what works. You will know from tonight if 0.1 has much effect (a lot of cats don't seem to respond to doses under a certain level), and then that will help you refine things. Don't stress about it, and don't drive yourself crazy trying to get each dose perfectly. It took me literally months to get the hang of things, and even with that I still get puzzled all the time watching others' kitties. She is seeing nice #s, so ... happy dance! dancing_cat
 
Barbara some folks are more conservative...others are a bit less so.
I think Robin was erring on the side on extreme conservative with that suggestion.
It's ok to be confused. You will not always be so. You will sooner than you think be making these decisions more or less on your own with just confirmation from others.
it's ok honey...it really really is.. it's ok.
your kitty is doing so well and that's what's really important right?
 
+4 is 275

That's the last one for tonight. So should I shoot .3 again in the morning if she's over 200? Thanks for the encouragement ladies! :smile:
 
yeah barbara that sounds good. you are giving thumper the 5 star treatment ok. he could'nt get any better if he was a millionaire paying for it! mommy's love, good food, insulin, care, security...nothin better than that.
you will not overdose your cat on these small doses ok hon?
 
I think either 0.2 or 0.3 is ok. She will likely be higher in the morning b/c of the lower shot tonight, so if she's in the pinks I would go with 0.3. If she's in the yellows (which would be surprising), I would try 0.2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top