Thumper 4/25

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Very Active Member
I'm telling you this girl stays a mystery! AMPS was 351, I really wasn't prepared for that, I ended up shooting .4 and I noticed her drinking a lot of water as soon as she came in the kitchen with me. My bad boy Petey was having another argument with her about 45 mins. before I checked her BG. She is the only one he picks on! Don't know if that has any effect on anything or not. I'm at work so I can't stay on. I will be back with my PMPS & advice before I shoot tonight.
 
Was looking at your thread from yesterday and looks like I missed the PMPS excitement. Thumper is definitely her unique self, as most cats are, which is why we always have to say ECID (every cat is different). Stress can raise BG so if Thumper finds Petey's antics stressful it could raise her BG a little. Who knows? She could also just roll her eyes and think Petey, Petey, Petey...whatever! Paws crossed for nice #'s today.
 
well I can venture a guess why it was so high... you shot her .2 less than usual.
and on that rapidly rising number.

i still really believe if you got a number on the rise...and especially on the rise with any zoom in it...at +12.5 or +13....I would not be so extremely cautious.

sure it will take a lot of data collecting...and even some 'best guess' work...but sometimes you have to go with your gut.
 
Barbara, just got here. you did the right thing...you did what i would have done anyway.
 
Good for you! I think that was a good choice. I had not read yesterday's posts till after I posted. With what everyone said, I think your decision was a good one. These decisions can really make you crazy. As long as your kitty is safe, it helps not to think of any one shot as too important.
 
that last number was like +15 was'nt it? getting back on schedule?
 
I updated the SS. What # Lori? I actually shot an hour late last night so AMPS was really +11, then PMPS was back on schedule. Wondering why AMPS was so high? Maybe .4 is good for her? I hope so!
 
I'm sorry, I think I got you confused with another newbie here and she is rearranging her schedule so.....
sorry for the confusion.
let me go look at your updated. i had just tried and it was not up yet.
brb if your still here k?
 
Barbara I think it was the perfect choice. only problem I can think of is.....was thumper indeed on his way up?
Sorry you are burdened with this dilemma as it is most unusual with pzi....we deal with it often on some of the other insulins but so rarely on pzi.
let's see a +2 if you can ok?
 
I think .4u was a good choice. We were leaning towards lowering your dose anyway.

The safest way to see if your dose is too high or too low is to first drop back to a lower dose, if your numbers improve than that was the right choice, if your numbers don't improve than you know that you can safely raise your dose. You will know which one it is pretty quickly.

Unless something out of the ordinary happens like another low PS or too low nadir I would stick with this dose for awhile, if your dose was too high it might take a few cycles for the bounce to clear.

Robin
 
Based on the PMPS, looks like Thumper did well on the .4u today (yay!). Paws crossed for nice #'s tonight. You're doin' good.
 
I have to say this girl is just like her mama.....STUBBORN...you see I'm really her grandma...her mama went off to college in 2004 & Thumper stayed. She graduated but can't afford to live alone & the only roommate she could find is allergic. I will never let her take her now anyway! I have custody! :lol:

Just my luck to have a cat that is doing something unusual on this insulin!
 
well if she has to be doing something unusual...i would rather a cat who does this than a cat i can't get down at all . trust me, that happens.
 
There's definitely something about taking care of a sugar kitty that makes you extra close. I wouldn't ever let Thumper go either. Too bad daughter! ;-)
 
+2 - 276

Good, right? Should I try to get a +4? And I guess I should stick with .4 in the AM, assuming her # isn't too low & if it's low & I recheck make sure it's rising?

Also, do any of you order syringes online? I'm not wanting to go back to the store for them. These Walgreens ones are giving me air bubbles & I'd rather not deal with anything else getting on my nerves! I looked at the Monoject ones at American Diabetes Wholesale & it says you might need a prescription.
 
You would expect this morning's PS to be high b/c the shot was late last night. That tends to give it less oomph. I usually think of it as 0.1 or 0.2 (depending on the cat's overall dose & sensitivity) per hour that it changes. So a 0.3 shot at +13 or +14 is more or less equivalent to what would have been a 0.2 shot at a +12. Conversely if you give a shot like 0.3 at a +10 say, that would be like giving maybe 0.4 at a regular +12. I still thought you should go with the 0.3 though last night b/c things were so uncertain about the dose - so I figured a little on the low side is ok, let the AMPS be a little high (possibly), and regroup in the morning.

You are doing great. The idea is to shoot what makes the most sense to you, gather data and learn from it, and that's how you learn what works and what doesn't, and you start to get the hang of it over time (it took me months). There aren't any magic answers, so don't stress yourself out that you have to figure out the perfect dose with each shot.
 
Just an update

+4 - 240

That's all for tonight. I'm planning on sticking with .4 unless she's real low tomorrow....no need to really plan with this girl though....she likes to keep me guessing!
 
go THUMPER! your heading in the right direction now....have sweet dreams both of you. ummm, Thumper, actually not too sweet for you...maybe mousie or bird watching dreams ok.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top