Thumper 4/23

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
Oh boy! This girl likes to keep me on my toes! After all the worrying about what dose to shoot this morning since I FINALLY got the right syringes her AMPS was 323!!!!! UGH! I stuck with the .5, I wanted it to be low so I could get used to shooting the lower dose with these U100's. And her +2 is 322. I'm still trying to figure out exactly how much to give if she's under 200. Just in case no one is on when I need to shoot I think I'm hearing I should shoot .2 as long as she's heading up after the pre shot #? And Lori, did you say I shouldn't have to worry about hypo when shoot at .2 or .4? Also since I've been shooting .5 is just moving to .4 (check me here) which is the 1st mark to the right (1/2 markings on the left?) on the U100 syringetoo much insulin when her #'s are low? Geez, I hope ya'll can follow this cause I barely can!

Great, she just barfed her food (she ate 3 hrs. ago) right in the middle of me typing this. Now she's in here eating what was left in everyone's bowl from this morning. This is the first time she's done that since switching to wet food (it wasn't a hairball). Moving on...not thinking anything of it....unless ya'll tell me I should.

Oh! I forgot all about it since I was so consumed with geting the correct syringes but I got some ketone test strips @ Wal Mart, at least the lady knew what that was! I was in the right place at the right time that night (Thursday) & she was negative. I guess that can change quickly though? I just don't usually catch her in the litter box. It's almost as if she can sense I'm watching her & if I follow her to my bedroom (the box she uses most of the time is in my bathroom) she just lays in the floor & stares at me as if she's saying "I'm not going till you leave!" LOL!!
 
Yay for getting the right syringes!

I said this on your last post but I wouldn't start shooting into lower bg #'s until you get a curve done to see what her cycle looks like. She's getting a pretty big punch from .5u on a 300+ bg. In order to know what dose you can safely shoot into a lower number takes alot of data gathering on your ss. We look at the PS and the nadir to see how a dose is working in each kitty, every cat is different.

Yes you are reading the conversion chart right.

We say test feed shoot. Some folks wait 20 to 30 minutes after feeding to make sure they don't barf. They need to have food on board in order to get their insulin. If they are not eating or barf up all of their food, don't shoot, wait and feed again.
 
Thumper is sure keeping you on your toes. Just when you think you know what you're going to do next, she does something different. Like Robin said, try to get a curve in today or mini curve and that will help you see what Thumper is doing throughout the cycle. While higher than expected, Thumper's AMPS was lower than the PMPS so it's headed in the right direction. Paws crossed for nice #'s.
 
well i would'nt say you don't have to worry about hypo when shooting .3 or .2 into a low number...i just don't consider 180 and on the rise a low number. i would not shoot that into a dropping number that's for sure...and i would not at this point shoot that into a number under 130....but yep, a 180 on the rise i see no problem with.
and if i differ from my dear friends here on this it is what makes for good medicine...combination of ideas and thoughts and sharing them to come up with what you may find...or us as a group may find...the perfect match.
these are my thoughts.
 
as to your question about the syringe's and the markers, consider each mark..whether half or whole unit mark to be .2u of insulin.
soooo.
first 1/2 mark is .2
first full u mark is .4
next half u mark is .6 and so on.
 
SS updated with #'s from today. I had to be gone for awhile but got what I could. Shot .5 again tonight since she was staying in the 200's. Could the reason that she's not getting back under 200 be that I didn't give her insulin Thurs & Fri morning? I'm gonna get some more BG's tonight. I hate to keep sticking her ear. Should I continue to do every 2 hrs tonight until I pass out and also try to stick with that tomorrow as much as I can?
 
well barbara you don't have to keep at it...i mean give both of yourselves a break.
let's look at this curve so to speak cuz it's very unusual and interesting for this particular insulin.
first yes, i do think she loses ground when she misses a shot.
but it appears she lingers on a number for quite some time....no real curve. this would help explain what's happening with the blue mornings. she's a slow moving cruise ship.
this insulin usually has a definet curve shape in a 12 hour period. a move downwards, a nadir (low point) and then a move upwards.
your sheet looks more like some of the other insulins around here.
I really don't see a nadir.
So you may have a really low amps tomorow...and i would shoot anything over 150...if you see it going up. but i would REDUCE the dose. how much? maybe .3
and if we can get another curve tomorow that would be great to see if this curve is a habit with her.
hope this made some sense to you???? confused_cat
 
oh in case i have'nt said it enough...always make sure you are shooting a rising number both amps and pmps. like tonight...altho that number was higher it was only slightly higher and she did have a double dip today so normally i would want to wait a half hour and make certain she was on the rise.
we NEVER shoot a falling number ok?
 
No not giving insulin those mornings would not necessarily cause her to be higher today. I would suspect maybe she got into some higher carb food, treats, dinner roll, etc. Especially since she's dropped to a lower PS already.

I suspect you'll have a lower AMPS tomorrow and maybe that curve would tell us what is happening during those type cycles. I'm not sure I would shoot a .3 on a low ps but once you know you've got a rising # you might shoot something. Maybe post in the morning what your PS is and we can see what she does tonight and go from there.

I'll be around in the morning, gone for 1hour than I should be back all day.

If you could get a +4 or +6 tonight would be great.

Great job getting that curve today.
 
I decided to do one check tonight, +3 is 207.Wouldn't you know, my cat has to do something weird! I wrote myself a note to never shoot a falling #. I guess I didn't think about it since she was over 200. I have never waited & retested when she's over that. Thanks for saying something. I'm anticipating a low AM # & my plan is if she's under 200 I will wait & test in 20 mins. assuming she has a rise I will shoot .3 as long as she's over 150. And thanks for the explanation on the marks for the U100 insulin...for some reason when you pointed that out it sorta clicked....maybe I can remember it that way! :smile:
 
Yeah I'd probably pull back to 0.3 or 0.4. Since you got those two PSs that were too low to shoot, and you want a dose that will let you shoot consistently every 12 hours. Also when you look at the overnight shot on 4/21, your next PS (149) is lower than your mid-cycle check was (+4 176). Now she may well have gone lower than the 176 and then came back up to the 149, but you don't really know. So based on those cues, I would try a slightly lower dose. I'm not sure the last day or so supports that, could be several reasons for the higher numbers, but that's what I'd try as a first line, and see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top