Thumper 11/1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
Last night
PMPS - 429
shot 2 units
+4 - 284
+5.5 - 215
AMPS - 355
shot 2 units
+9 - 194

I had hoped to get a +6 today but that didn't happen. I hope she's not so high for PMPS but if she is I think I'm gonna stick with 2 units.

Carl, I got my insulin Aug 1 & haven't even left it on the counter once! I've got less than 1/4 of the bottle left so it won't be long before I start another.
 
PMPS - 231

Yay! Except now I don't know what to shoot! Should I go back to the scale? Only problem with that is it seems like all of a sudden she needs more insulin. Scale calls for 1.4 but I'm not sure it's enough since I had increased from a maximum of 1.8 to 2 units the last couple of shots.
 
I would say by now you know Thumper and you have a pretty good gut. I would go with it. Maybe Robin can readjust the scale up? Wish I understood the scales better.
 
Thanks for the vote of confidence Sue but Thumper is not consistent so that's why I'm always wondering. What worked for her 2 weeks ago doesn't seem to work anymore, that's just her pattern...and way to keep me crazy!! It all gives me a headache! :smile: Sometimes I wish I could be like one of those mindless people who just shoot....like the one I met Saturday. She runs a local rescue but does not test her diabetic. She gives him a couple of spoonsfull of MD :roll: then shoots THEN puts out the kitty krack! :roll: That's probably the only reason he's still alive! She was not at all interested in what I had to say about diabetes. :roll:
 
Too late to advise again!
If the scale says 1.4, I'd suggest 1.5 if you think the scale may need to be increased slightly

Carl
 
shot 1.6
+4 - 228

Ugh....she loves to keep me guessing. I suppose I shot too much? I don't understand her. I bet if I had shot 1.4 she would have stayed high just to trick me! :lol:

Denise, what kind of dance was this? I hate it!!! :mrgreen:
 
Barbara,
Can you one more time post her scale?
Carl
 
The originial one:

150 - 200 = 1 unit
200 - 225 = 1.2
225 - 250 = 1.4
250 - 275 = 1.5
275 - 300 = 1.8

We had tweaked it a few times but I was sort of falling back on this one when she got those higher numbers. At one point we had decided to reduce the 225 - 250 to 1.3 but again she got better numbers overall then.

Please DO NOT duplicate this scale - it was formulated as a trial for Thumper ONLY!
 
Since Denise is not around........I hate this $#%^$## dance!!!!!!! :lol:
 
I know, Denise goes to bed with the chickens....I should follow her lead. But, she was without power the last time she posted.
 
kse said:
Since Denise is not around........I hate this $#%^$## dance!!!!!!! :lol:
I thought it was her who was much more delicate by saying "I hate this fng dance!!!" Same sentiment, just kinder and gentler... :lol:

Barbara,
Maybe that is what Robin is saying. Adjust the scale to what you have seen "work". Higher doses on higher numbers, but reduce it on the lower ones. Instead of just shaving or adding .1 to all the numbers, adjust as needed, but stick with "a" scale. I know when she makes these scales, she spends a lot of time looking over SS's to see what happened in the past on various numbers, and she develops a dose that makes sense. But then our kitties change along the way, so you have to tweak them. But the concept remains the same. Lower doses on lower PS numbers and vice versa. From what I have seen in the past few weeks, the scales seem to work a lot better than same dose every time for the cats that are using scales.

You don't believe you have this dancing thing figured out, but you have done so more than you think. Your "gut" instincts are good. I think the scale can be tweaked to get the results you are looking for, and you've done some of that already.

So, go with a tad higher (Or lower) when you think it is needed, see what happens, and pencil it in to the scale. Overall, although Thumper drives you crazy occasionally, she is responding to what you're doing. It's easy to lose sight of the forest through the trees.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top