Thumper 10/7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barbara

Member Since 2011
+4.5 - 227 (last night)
AMPS - 328
shot 1.5

Ok, so I knew those good numbers would come to an end. Been there, done that. I just don't know why. Maybe this time will be different & she will come back down.
 
Last night you shot one unit, right?
I am thinking about what robin said yesterday about shaving....
As her numbers come down, shaving the whole scale down. As she improves it won't take as much insulin to get the same results. If Thumper shows a good drop today like she did yesterday, I am thinking adjust all of the doses on the scale downward by .1 or .2
Hopefully Robin will see this and provide her thoughts before PMPS
Carl
 
I know Robins said she was having a crazy week. This is where I get so confused. At this point I'm not really sure why she's gone higher. The scale called for 1.8 today so I reduced the same thing happened yesterday. I shot according to the scale last night. I'm hoping that's what it is & if I reduce she will come back down.
 
As well as thumper has responded to the sliding scale, there is no way the high numbers indicate upping the dose. You reduced yesterday morning and got good results from that. Last night she climbed after the shot, either from a bit too much, or because the am dose had an unusually long duration and you had a little overlap going on. That's why I was thinking maybe shave .2 off.
Let's see what Thumper has to say today!
Carl
 
+7 - 115
PMPS - 197/227

So, old scale would put me at 1.3 if I use the 227. I don't know...should I just shave .1 off that & go with 1.2? Last night I shot 1 unit into a 196 and didn't seem to get much action then a high AMPS so is 1.2 too much for a 227? Ugh...I don't like decisions!
 
I'll offer words of positive support but give no dose advise....since u guys are all scared of me now ;)
 
I ended up shooting 1 unit. I'll be back later....see my post over on Donna's thread...gotta go!
 
Good vibes comin your way Barbara. Sounds like a stressful situation to say the least. All the best to your FIL.
Take care, xoxoxoxox
 
I swear I get so stressed from reading this stuff!
I am sure you did the right thing!
hang in there!
 
Surgery went better than expected! He is 87 & they discovered a subdural hematoma (guessing on the spelling- a brain bleed) he had been acting a little crazy lately but we just passed it off due to his age...he has a right to be a little confused at that age! Anyway, if they had done nothing he would have had to have 24 care but he was lucid enough that it would have been a major fight to keep him out of the car, etc. So we went for the surgery. It didn't take anywhere near as long as expected & was easy to repair. Seems they are thinking he will make a full recovery! He is in ICU for now but they are already talking about moving him out of there tomorrow! He's certainly a tough old guy!Thanks for all the good wishes & prayers!

+4 - 177

She was a bit lower last night on this same dose but I put 2 cans of food out when I left since I didn't know how long I would be gone. I know she was eating when I left. I just don't know where to go from here. Is 1 unit still too much? She hasn't hit a green in a few days. :sad:
 
Barbara,
So you actually ended up shaving .3 off the dose, right? No, I don't think 1 unit is too much into a 227.
At +4 she hasn't reached nadir yet, and I think the +4 is more food related than dose related. I don't think this is a bounce. You got good action from the 1.5 this morning, and her low was right near the "green line" I am guessing, if she was at 155 and hour past then. She didn't zoom back up for PMPS, it wasn't high enough to indicate a "too high dose" this morning. Last night's increase after the shot still confuses me, but it was a one-time thing it looks like.

Do you have any idea where the original "sliding scale" that you got from Robin is? What thread it is in (so I don't have to keep asking "what's the scale say?").

Carl
 
But I WANT green!!! Here's the scale:

150-200 = 1 unit
100-225 = 1.2
225-250 = 1.3 actually originally it said 1.4 but we reduced from that
250-275 = 1.5
275-300 = 1.6
over 300 = 1.8

FOR ANYONE READING THIS - DO NOT DUPLICATE - IT WAS CREATED AS A TRIAL FOR THUMPER ONLY!!!
 
Thank goodness that he did so well at that age. I hope I even get to that age.

My good crazy week is almost over.

We will figure it out tomorrow.
 
Glad your Father in Law did well with the surgery. I will cotinue to keep him, you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.
 
Barbara,
thank you for the scale!
And God bless you and your family. You are all in my prayers tonight. I am so happy to hear that your FIL came through the surgery so quickly and with such a positive prognosis! My Dad just turned 82, and he's a tough guy too. I hope it runs in the family, for me, and for your DH.

Carl
 
Thanks for all the good wishes everyone! We didn't get any calls from ICU over night so I'm counting on that as a good sign also!

I should put a disclaimer on that sliding scale post.

FOR ANYONE READING THIS - DO NOT DUPLICATE - IT WAS CREATED AS A TRIAL FOR THUMPER ONLY!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top