Thoughts on Whisky's numbers?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by whiskysmom, Dec 5, 2019.

1. whiskysmom

whiskysmom Member

Hey ProZinc users! I'm a newbie and am curious about your thoughts on Whisky's numbers. We just started home testing recently so don't have a ton of data, and I know we need to get more mid-cycles during the night. But I'm curious your thoughts based on what we have.

A couple of pieces of info that might be helpful:
    • Whisky is 6.6kg or about 14.5 pounds (stable weight since initial hospitalization)
    • Whisky was diagnosed with Pancreatitis and DKA. Testing ketones regularly - no ketones since his hospitalization.
    • We are feeding him the bulk of his food AM and PM with his shot, plus 1 or 2 snacks between meals. I'm not marking all snacks in the spreadsheet - just ones where it might affect BG test numbers.
    • Whisky wakes me up once each night for a snack.
    • We are using the FreeStyle Lite human meter. We recently compared it with our vet's AT2 using the same blood sample and ours read lower (ours read 11 and his read 16).
    • His fructosamine test 2 weeks ago was virtually unchanged from the month before (in the 600s). So the vet suggested a substantial dose increase to 3 units. We were nervous so tried 2.5 and his behaviour really changed and he would barely eat, so we reduced to 2.0 Units and have been there about 2 weeks. The vet agreed with this reduction and we're supposed to have another appointment in a couple of weeks.
    • His pees have started to grow a little bit in size again.
    • We will try to get some more mid-cycles in the night, now that we're more confident testing and getting into the routine a bit better. We've missed some pre-shot tests for various reasons but are getting much more consistent.