How does everyone that has switched from vetsulin to lantus feel about it? Or should I go with something else. My cats numbers are bouncing everywhere with vetsulin. Does that happen with lantus?
Typically on this board, you would want to start
here and then on the
Main Forum where we can get to know more about your cat and can help you get set up with a
spreadsheet. This way, we can give you the best advice when we can see the patterns and doses.
Cats can bounce with both but Vetsulin is a short-acting, harsh insulin. Lantus is a long-acting and gentle insulin. Cats usually do better on Lantus due to its duration.
The starting dose on Lantus, when switching from Vetsulin, would be equivalent to the Vetsulin dose where the kitty’s BG (blood glucose) is the best. For example, if 2.5u Vetsulin is getting your cat’s BG to, but lower than, 92, I’d start the Lantus dose at 2.5u.
If you post as indicated in my first paragraph and do a SS, we can help you determine the exact switching dose. That is safest.