Thomas pre AMPS

Status
Not open for further replies.
I gave him a little spoon full of fancy feast classic and he actually ate it! just wondering what that will do regarding the numbers?

He is late with his insulin again by 2 hours, is that bad with his number being so high?
 
gave him a little spoon full of fancy feast classic and he actually ate it! just wondering what that will do regarding the numbers?
I doubt it will affect the numbers at all. It will only start making a difference once you start to replace the dry with the wet low carb.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) Would you take a look at my chart? I am going to bed now but would like your input. Thank you!
That is a very big drop from 600 to 258 in 2 hours. That is a big red flag for you that the BGs this cycle could drop lower. I would feed Thomas some food now and get another BG in an hour to see what he is up to. Can you do that?
 
I doubt it will affect the numbers at all. It will only start making a difference once you start to replace the dry with the wet low carb.

That is a very big drop from 600 to 258 in 2 hours. That is a big red flag for you that the BGs this cycle could drop lower. I would feed Thomas some food now and get another BG in an hour to see what he is up to. Can you do that?
I had to get sleep. I am running on very little and it is catching up with me. My dad had quintuple bypass surgery so I have been caring for him, he lives 2 hours from me. We are doing Thanksgiving today so I will be gone part of the day. Hopefully I can talk with you later!
 
You mentioned only doing one thing at a time... insulin or food. what is the reason to work on the insulin before the food. I am surprised that he ate the wet food. I would think not having he high carbs would be true numbers when doing glucose test. Again things that makes sense to me with all this are incorrect until someone explains it to me.
 
If you were to test yourself after having fasted for 2 hours and then retested after you'd eaten something very low in carbs, you are likely to see a change in the numbers. Food, regardless of whether it's high or low carb, will have some influence on the BG numbers. Obviously, low carb will have less of an effect than high carb. A previous Moderator's cat was exquisitely sensitive to carbs. She could give her cat a piece of freeze dried chicken and get a 30 point bump in her numbers. To some degree the influence of food depends on the cat since every cat is different.
 
If you were to test yourself after having fasted for 2 hours and then retested after you'd eaten something very low in carbs, you are likely to see a change in the numbers. Food, regardless of whether it's high or low carb, will have some influence on the BG numbers. Obviously, low carb will have less of an effect than high carb. A previous Moderator's cat was exquisitely sensitive to carbs. She could give her cat a piece of freeze dried chicken and get a 30 point bump in her numbers. To some degree the influence of food depends on the cat since every cat is different.
Sienne, what should she do first, work on the food transition or switch to Lantus? Given she had to get a new vial of Vetsulin, I’m wondering if she shouldn’t do the food transition first.
 
Sienne, what should she do first, work on the food transition or switch to Lantus? Given she had to get a new vial of Vetsulin, I’m wondering if she shouldn’t do the food transition first.
Hi! I am needing to buy another bag of food. Since I am going to change vets it would be great to transition his food over to the Fancy Feast Classic. Then I can use the rest of this bag to transition.
 
Hi Bron I can give @Jenn Slade some information about generic lantus

Rather than me type the whole thing out just tap on this blue link below
that I gave to another member about it and also some med and high carb foods for you hypo kit. Look at the post number 4 and number 5, they are to the right of each post
Tap on this link
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member-11-8-and-i-am-tired.283363/#post-3121360

Also some info on auto feeders
Here is an auto feeder that hold 5 slots and comes with 2 ice packs for wet food
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-C500-Digital-Automatic/dp/B01AUYLVU8/ref=sr_1_6?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIuM_y2p79_AIVDvrICh1_xAy6EAAYASAAEgJBDfD_BwE&hvadid=178540036693&hvdev=t&hvlocphy=9003521&hvnetw=g&hvqmt=e&hvrand=6990619631848479728&hvtargid=kwd-12652445711&hydadcr=10635_9894649&keywords=petsafe 5-meal automatic pet feeder&qid=1675560889&sr=8-6

Extra ice packs so you can keep them in the freezer ready to go
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Rep...5c-bd5c-e23f6094563c&pd_rd_i=B091HTXNHR&psc=1

This one has 3 slots with one ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Automatic-Feeder-Digital/dp/B01MXDFB28?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Extra ice pack
https://www.amazon.com/Mate-Replace...cb-974a-deec2fb8a80c&pd_rd_i=B07KFP7PRG&psc=1

You can even order the stainless steel inserts for the 5 slot if you don't like your kitty eating out of plastic, from what I have heard plastic could cause acne on some cats
https://www.amazon.com/Cat-Mate-Sta...36-830d-6cc20f385409&pd_rd_i=B0B3MS1MWR&psc=1

Jenn is there anyway you can get another test in before you leave for work and on weekends do more.Also during the night cycle I would get another test in maybe @+2 and one before you go to bed
Thank you! I am going to order one so that his feeding schedule will be easier and get out of the habit of eating when someone get up and goes to kitchen. I would think he would get into the habit of hearing the feeder change.
I just started doing his glucose tests last weekend. I am doing every 2 hours on weekends and I will be able to do a test a couple hours after in the evenings.
 
It doesn’t really matter whether you do the transition to low carb diet or swap over the insulin first. You just need to do one or the other. Not both together. do you have the Lantus yet?
I am going to ask @Suzanne & Darcy to have a look at the Vetsulin numbers and the dose as she is a Vetsulin user.
 
It will be a couple weeks before I can get the new patient exam. I have to do that before they will prescribe the insulin.
 
It will be a couple weeks before I can get the new patient exam. I have to do that before they will prescribe the insulin.
So it sounds as if you have a couple of weeks to do the change over of food. But you will need to be testing more than you are as the BGs will start to fall as more low carb is introduced and the high carb dry is taken away.
 
Last edited:
Thank you! I don’t think Thomas will be stubborn this time around to switch him. He has been eating the canned food as a treat the past couple days and he actually likes it!

The test numbers falling is good correct? Just not if they go lower than 88?
 
As the BGs start to fall as you slowly transition to the low carb food, the dose will need to be adjusted. The only safe way to do this is to be monitoring and testing the BGs frequently.
 
To make sure I understand. I will watch his numbers. If they go below 90 he needs carbs? I just want to make sure I am thinking correctly.

His current chart seems to be on the higher end all the time.
 
At the moment he is being fed a high carb dry food diet so we would expect his BGs to be high unless you increased the dose of insulin. Once you start to transition slowly, you should start to see the BG numbers start to lower. I would post daily so we can keep an eye on the BGs and the dose.
IF the BG drops under 90, the dose needs to be lowered immediately. Make sure you have some high carb wet food that you can give if the numbers drop below 90. Fancy Feast gravy lovers is high carb wet food.
Food with carbs above 16% is high carb. Wet food is better than dry to use as a high carb if the BGs drop.

When you start the transition can you put into the signature ‘ transitioning to low carb wet’ please
 
I have been reading the link that you sent regarding the wet food and transitioning. The author is adamant about lowering the insulin. She even specifically named the dry food he is on and changing to fancy feast. You are saying not to change the insulin until his numbers are 90 right? and if they go to 90 what would I change him to? I want to be prepared incase no one is available here. Seems like everyone is on a very different time zone than me.
 
Just some information
I am in Australia and I am around in the US afternoon, evening and night.
@Bandit's Mom is about 4 hours behind than me as she lives in India.
Then @tiffmaxee lives on the west coast of the US.
And @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) is in the US.
Between us one of us should be around. You can always try tagging one of us.
But it is good to be prepared.
If Thomas drops under 90 at any time, you reduce the next dose by 0.25 units. You stay at that new dose unless/until he drops again, and then you reduce again by 0.25 units.
because you are transitioning from a high carb to a low carb food, we can expect to see the BGs drop. At what rate and how much we cannot say. Every cat is different.
You will need to be prepared to monitor some cycles a lot, (including the pm cycle) and on days that you are not going to be home to monitor, I would not change the food that day.
Do it slowly for 2 reasons. One to be safe and the other if you do if fast, Thomas could get diarrhoea from a fast food change.
 
Just some information
I am in Australia and I am around in the US afternoon, evening and night.
@Bandit's Mom is about 4 hours behind than me as she lives in India.
Then @tiffmaxee lives on the west coast of the US.
And @Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) is in the US.
Between us one of us should be around. You can always try tagging one of us.
But it is good to be prepared.
If Thomas drops under 90 at any time, you reduce the next dose by 0.25 units. You stay at that new dose unless/until he drops again, and then you reduce again by 0.25 units.
because you are transitioning from a high carb to a low carb food, we can expect to see the BGs drop. At what rate and how much we cannot say. Every cat is different.
You will need to be prepared to monitor some cycles a lot, (including the pm cycle) and on days that you are not going to be home to monitor, I would not change the food that day.
Do it slowly for 2 reasons. One to be safe and the other if you do if fast, Thomas could get diarrhoea from a fast food change.
Yeap, I’m in California too so same time zone as Elise :)
 
I knew Ale was in the west coast. I am in Florida so we are way different time zones. I am getting it tho and feel more comfortable and its only been a week.

I will try to tweak my schedule so that I can do atleast one test during the week while changing his food.

The only question I have right now is.... if his numbers are high, like over 400 why do I need to wait 30 minutes to give insulin? Will this be the same on Lantus?
 
That only applies to Vetsulin because it hits hard and fast. Lantus takes about 2 hours to start to work so you can test, feed, shoot all within minutes.

We told you to hold the dose for 7 days so it’s looking like he’ll get an increase to 2.25 on Tuesday if you don’t see any numbers below 150 until then.
 
I just started switching him to the wet food last night. I mixed 1/4 wet with 3/4 dry last night and his feedings earlier. Honestly I thought his numbers would go down a bit.
 
He’s still eating high carb foods though. I’m not sure that it’s about the amount of it. I think it’s more about whether he’s eating it at all. Others will correct me if I’m wrong, but I think you’ll see that once he’s fully off of high carbs.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top