Thomas AMPS 386

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonya

Member Since 2012
Whew! Not as high as I thought it would be. I just gave him 1/2 unit of insulin and he is eating a full can of FF. I think I haven't been feeding him enough. I am learning they need more canned than they do kibble. I'll give him another 1/2 can before I leave for work.

I'm also looking at the timed automatic feeders online so maybe I can leave him some for that midpoint of the day. Any suggestions from others who use these?

Thanks again for the support! I am so glad to find this group and board. I haven't even talked to my vet this week. She had me up to 5 units and still feeding kibble. When I gave him the 1/2 unit this morning it was almost like I wasn't giving him anything! Such a small amount.

Hopefully this will level him off. My plan is to continue with wet only, 1/2 unit and do a curve this weekend.

Sonya
 
Sounds like a good plan, Sonya! :mrgreen:

FF cans have approximately 100 calories (some a bit more, some a bit less). Any idea how many calories you were feeding before? Is there a calorie content on the dry food bag?

The timed feeders are great, if the cat will use them (my FD cat just free fed w/o it). I have taken to them with my fosters.
Ive used this one:
http://www.petsafe.net/products/fee...d-pet-feeder?gclid=CPnXguKDra8CFY0BQAodskEApw
Pros: You can set an exact time for it to turn/open, I believe it had a spot for an ice pack, multiple feedings
Con's: Kitty I used if for had a hard time eating wet food from it because they are deep compartments. She was on a weightloss program and felt she needed to eat every 5 min, so I put treats in there to open every 2hrs while I was gone. :lol:

This one I like for my purposes (I do not have the one with the ice pack, tho):
http://www.amazon.com/Ani-Mate-Inc-C20-Feeder/dp/B0013IX9YC/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
Pros: Easier to eat wet food, not as big, use as regular food bowl, reliable (unless batteries are worn down)
Cons: Cannot open at an exact time.
I use this for my current non FD foster. I set it to open about 2 hrs after I leave, and she eats whenever she wants.

Some people will freeze their cat's food so it wont get dry or go bad. You can freeze it in ice cube trays, or just a small container. I have never fed a cat that way, but have tested to see how long it would take to melt. 1/2 can ff took approx 3-4hrs to get to its pre frozen, peas soup stage.

Just remember when you do the curve this weekend, deciding to adjust the dose may be a challenge without any mid cycle tests (nadir). The dose is increased/decreased due to nadir...not the preshot #'s. I know you cannot get mid cycles because you are working. BUT, if you can get an 'out the door' test, and 'bed test', that can help give you an idea which direction and how fast he is heading there.

Would something like this work for the next few days?
6AM- test/feed/shoot,
8AM (before leaving the house) test/feed
10AM-12PM (have timed feeder open for snack)

6PM- Test/feed/shoot
9 or 10PM (before bed)- test/feed
12AM (have timed feeder open for snack)

How was the hunt for the 1/2 unit syringes? They can be hard to find sometimes. Walmart/Sam's club is often the best bet!

Regarding your vet...I see nothing wrong with letting them know what you are doing. It is good to keep them updated. And it is good for them to see when they have offered medical advice that is either helpful or harmful to their patients. Show your vet the protocol, and show them your spreadsheet. It is quite obvious how the change of food drastically reduced Thomas' insulin needs. You guys should be a team. She may even learn something that could help another cat down the road! :mrgreen:

Hope your day was good! I work late tonight, but will check in when I get home. There should be others around, if you need help. If not, you can always post on health or the TR Lantus forum.
 
Sonya said:
Whew! Not as high as I thought it would be. I just gave him 1/2 unit of insulin and he is eating a full can of FF. I think I haven't been feeding him enough. I am learning they need more canned than they do kibble. I'll give him another 1/2 can before I leave for work.

I'm also looking at the timed automatic feeders online so maybe I can leave him some for that midpoint of the day. Any suggestions from others who use these?

Thanks again for the support! I am so glad to find this group and board. I haven't even talked to my vet this week. She had me up to 5 units and still feeding kibble. When I gave him the 1/2 unit this morning it was almost like I wasn't giving him anything! Such a small amount.

Hopefully this will level him off. My plan is to continue with wet only, 1/2 unit and do a curve this weekend.

Sonya
I loved my autofeeder because I could ration out foods at exact times, and it felt good to know there would be food at proper times if I was out or at work.
Petsafe 5-meal Auto Feeder

You can now teach your vet all about feeding low carb wet food and use Thomas as an example that it works! Who knows.... Thomas could go even lower and then off insulin, just by the food change and giving a little insulin to help his pancreas heal.

Good luck with the feeder; it really gave me peace of mind when I was away that my cat would get food spread out over the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top