this time got ear stick on 1st try

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Tiger

Member Since 2012
I tried the ear stick again at 1:15 PM today and had success on my first try. It read 184. He gets insulin at 9:00 PM tonight and I am going to check BG before I give him the insulin and if it is still 184 or less should I give him the full 2 units or cut it back to 1. He is getting ProZinc
 
I wouldn't shoot 2u on a BG of 200 or less, for sure. Not even sure about the 1u when it's that low.
Have you tested again yet?

Carl
 
yes, I just tested and it was 134. So, I shouldn't give him any. He is just so week. And meow's really loud sometimes. He is still not eating or drinking.
 
Have you tried syringe feeding? Do you have a way to do that?
 
Had to take Tiger to hospital last night and they gave him fluids and sent home Viyo to syringe feed. It's back to the vet today for more fluids. The vet last night said he has gone so long without food she doesn't know if he is going to make it :( Pray for my Tiger.
 
Tell them to check for hepatic lipidosis, "fatty liver disease", which can occur when a cat won't eat for an extended period. They need to find the underlying cause for the refusal to eat. Not eating is not "normal" for a newly diagnosed diabetic. They usually eat like they are starving to death, eating much more than normal even though they keep losing weight. It isn't the diabetes itself that is causing Tiger to not eat.
Sending healing prayers,
Carl
 
Just got home from the vet. He said he would meet me at the office on Sunday to administer fluids for Tiger, when I suggested taking the fluids home and doing it from there for the weekend. He said that would be great and said his BG was good also. He gave him a B12 shot and shot of valium to stimulate his eating. I got Tiger to eat a little ViYo and put the fluids in. He is sleeping now. The vet said we have to get him to eat because of the liver disease. He said he is still showing pink color
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top