This is crazy!!! the numbers LANTUS

Status
Not open for further replies.

squirrelliewrath

Member Since 2012
Hello all My name is Gary and My cat is Imo. He is newly diagnosed with diabetes. His numbers have not been good. I did my first curve with numbers 436 pre shot then every two hours 250 144 87 261 433 531 then the next day his numbers the same till last night. His number was HI which is over 600 great another fir shot. He has been not gaining any weight and seemed miserable and I thought he is going to die soon. So last night I finally decided no more DRY CAT FOOD. If he is hungry he will eat. SO last night gave him his wet food and he ate some. I got up early and gave him more wet food. I checked Imo's glucose number preshot today. His NUMBER was 87. 87 wow did the taking the dry food away make that huge of a number??????? This is crazy. I know that the insulin builds up in their system and I will watch this closely but, I am happy that his number is so good. I DID NOT GIVE IMO HIS SHOT TODAY since the number was under 100. The only concern now is if his numbers do rise slightly HOW DO I KNOW HOW MUCH LANTUS to give???? We are still very new to this and I do not want to give Imo to much.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Hi Gary, and Welcome :-D

It looks like you are home testing and that is a life saving first step. Taking away the dry food can really affect his BG numbers, so please monitor closely as you do that.

The people in the Lantus TR forum are very numbers driven, and can help you with the dosing, if you can set up a Google Spreadsheet.

Ask all the questions you want, as there is a wealth of experience, and help, support and guidance here.
 
Yes, dry food WILL significantly elevate the blood glucose like that. Just like it will in humans! Any human diabetic could tell you how CRAPPY they'd feel if they were eating nothing but Twinkies, potato chips, and Coke!

How much Lantus are you giving Imo now?
 
started the day wet food only 79 preshot six hours we are at 74 WOOOOHOOOO great numbers thanks everyone for the help I am loving it. I hope the numbers will keep in the good range. will keep checking his BG.
 
squirrelliewrath said:
started the day wet food only 79 preshot six hours we are at 74 WOOOOHOOOO great numbers thanks everyone for the help I am loving it. I hope the numbers will keep in the good range. will keep checking his BG.
OMG. Those are GREAT Numbers! Keep up the good work, Imo! :mrgreen:
 
Gary

If there is any way you can do the spreadsheet...and put all the numbers and doses you have since you started lantus..that can help us help you at shot time tonight.

What time do you shoot..MDT right?
 
I started with 3 units as per the doctor said but with the lower numbers I gave him 2 units last night and nothing so far today his normal shot time is 12 noon and mid night since I work mostly nights and am home those times.
 
If you could post what his BG is two hours before his shot time, that would be great...so that's 10 pm your time. I'm in AZ so I'll watch for you.
 
thanks Marjorie and Gracie that would be so helpful. It is hard to take his BG readings all day because he is home alone most of the time when my family is working. but today I am off and will watch his numbers closely and will post his number at 10 thank you so much.
 
Wow. Without a spreadsheet, I can't recommend that you shoot a number below 150 even with 2u.

You can post his number about 15 minutes before his shot time...I'll still be up.
 
Gary,
The numbers you have been getting.... you may not even need to give ANY insulin.
Dry food is the problem for many cats, and once they switch over to wet low carb food, they become DIET CONTROLLED cats.
I would say to just let Imo settle with the wet food, and test him as usual, putting the numbers into your spreadsheet.
Give Imo a few days because it's possible he may not need insulin, and if he does, it won't be anywhere near what that 'vet' said to give. Most diabetic cats never need that high of a dose.

Once you see Imo's numbers leveling off, you can decide if he needs insulin.... maybe you can try something more like .5u.

I am so glad you were testing; you avoided a possible bad situation and trip to ER.
 
Great job on the SS, Gary!!

Gayle ("Blue") is right. You might find he doesn't need the insulin but lets see where he is in a bit.....if he's going up, maybe a bit of insulin would work.
 
I am so glad I found this group because the vet wanted me to get their meter and I did not have the money so I got a human on from Wal-Mart. If I had given him his insulin this morning without testing Imo could be dead. Thanks so much to everyone again.
 
Oh my. It usually takes a while for dry food to wear off.

In this case, I'm not sure what to tell you to shoot. He had such a quick reaction to no dry food that if the dry food is up now and you give him too much insulin, he could be back low again when the dry wears off.

It is your decision whether you want to give insulin and how much but if you decide to shoot, I'd just give a token dose.
 
Just keep an eye on him.

We always say that the caregiver holds the syringe and makes the final decision. now you just need to monitor ...a few tests tonight like a +2, +6, and +11 to see where he's at. If at +2, he's a lot lower than his preshot, he's probsbly going to come down fast and you'll need more tests.
 
Gary,
That qualifies as a token dose. If you'll be awake, if you test at +2 or +3, it can sometimes give you an idea of where a cycle is heading. If you ever see a large drop by that time, post here for "eyes" so that someone can help you out in dealing with possibly lower numbers.
Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top