Hello Mike and Lilith and welcome to FDMB. So glad you found us. Sounds like your vet didn't give you a lot of info and I can completely understand your confusion and concern. Kudos for deciding to home test despite no advice from your vet to do so. You may have saved Lilith's life.
First of all since you are using a pet meter normal non diabetic cats generally run in the 68 to 150 range. As you can see from the readings you've taken, Lilith is often within normal range. When we are giving ProZinc insulin to our diabetic cats, we generally aim to keep them in the 90 to 150 range at least until you get more data. At that point you may be able to aim a wee bit lower but the goal is to keep BG down but not necessarily to get BG all the way to the bottom of normal range.
If you can get the spreadsheet set up and plot in the readings you have taken so far, it will be very helpful for us to help you get Lilith sorted out and on the path to better health.
For now, I'd suggest you reduce Lilith's insulin dose to 0.25u. You will have to eyeball that dose as close as you can. I am suggesting that reduction because Lilith went below 68 on the 0.5u dose and we don't want her going that low.
Always test Lilith's BG before every shot before feeding her and after at least 2 hours without food. This will be your pre-shot reading and if it is below 200, I'd suggest skipping the shot right now until you get a bit more data and we get a handle on what she is doing. Then whenever possible, get a test mid cycle. ProZinc usually reaches peak action sometime between +4 and +7 hours post shot so concentrating tests in that time frame will catch when Lilith is hitting her lowest BG and that is the info you need to determine when and if dosage adjustment is needed. You can test at +4 one day, +5 another and so on. Also make it a habit to grab a test on the night cycle at least once. If all you can manage is a before bed test that is fine. Our extra sweet kitties have a habit of going lower at night than during the day so those night time tests are very important to ensure you have a complete picture of how Lilith is doing.
Keep the questions coming. We are here to provide all the support you need or want. You're off to a great start and Lilith is one lucky kitty to have such a pro-active person caring for her.
