Thinking of upping Aida’s insulin a bit

I agree with this as I know that you will be careful to monitor her closely when making the change back to .2 units. It’s odd that she’s had yellow. Even when she was on .75 units she very rarely had any yellow. Did you receive the food delivery yet?
Oh, and a housekeeping matter. I see both your signature and the top of your spreadsheet still say SLGS. Would you please change those to say MPM since we are definitely not following SLGS with Aida. Thanks! I don’t want any new people or SLGS people to be confused about when reductions should be taken.
 
Feloro is slowly arriving, I still give him 50mg gaba in the evening. I'll soon bring him for his check-up, thinking of bringing Aida as well for a full blood pannel/chemistry and all. Want to have both their BP checked too.
She was yellow at PMPS… Let's see how it evolves.
 
It's going up and up and up…
I wonder if maybe the insulin's gone bad? I have it since the end of May.
Should I up the dose again, maybe 0.4, and see the impact on her BG? If it keeps rising, then I guess I'll go get lantus and start her on it.
 
Something is going on for sure, either with Aida (I don’t mean anything bad) or the ProZinc. They don’t have ProZinc in Greece as I recall? I would wait until at least six cycles on this dose before increasing. Would that be tomorrow evening?
 
Prozinc no, not in Greece.

Yes, tomorrow morning will be her 4th day on 0.2 if we stick with it.

I remember the vet tech that sold me the vial telling me that, once opened, it lasts for 6 months approx. I started her on May 22.

I hope it's not something with her! She's super playful, sleeps right next to the computer right now on her back like she always does, has a good appetite, poops correctly - with help for the constipation, she does go a bit to the water fountain, which she very seldomly does, it must be the high BG.

The neighbor put a fence on his balcony to protect his cat, so she's not coming over to stress them out.
She eats the food she had been eating, etc etc…

Before leaping to the Cushings rationale I think that I should try everything else. Is that a mistake? Should I maybe take her right away to repeat the Dexamethasone test?
 
Yes, at +4 hours after the desamethasone it was positive for Cushings, at +8 hours post it was right on the limit. So, inconclusive…
 
I can't wait to see if her numbers will come down with the increase tomorrow (I am being impatient!) Her numbers aren't terrible, but so frustrating after all the other better numbers. Maybe it's all that fresh air she's getting!
 
Sorry I’ve been caught up in many family and medical stuff (human-animal), not had time to update her spreadsheet, she’s quite bouncy, PS quite hight (260, 280) and then nadir is at +2 very low (50, 60), I have an early appointment now, not sure I’ll be back in time for her am shot, depending on how late I am and how high she is I’ll improvise I guess.
I’ll be back later with all the updates!
 
Yes, I think she's still adjusting... No idea what happened, her pancreas started working and then decided that no, it's too much work?
She so so lively, she plays, she loves it when I open the blinds, goes out from one balcony door and in from the other running, she brings me her pray-games to play with her, I kind of worry that she might have a slight hyperthyroidism…But there is no weight loss, she sleeps like a beauty, her pupils are not dilated, I don't see any of the signs that Feloro had.

Still, I have to bring them both for a check-up.

We are all right thanks! No need to worry about us, I just have to get a minor surgery (meniscus tear), sort things out, and make a definite appointment, and next week I'll have again a day when I have no idea how to sort Aida & Feloro's medications. I guess that, since I'll be coming back later in the afternoon after the surgery, I'll give them both their T4 and insulin before leaving, 1 hour before regular AM shot time.

I've finally updated the spreadsheet!
 
Thanks! I love it! Forwarded it to my sister (she also has a diabetic cat but doesn’t care about her that much unfortunately… have been giving her 2U for years now, lately she noticed multiple times hypo signs and gave her honey thinking that’s good and then back to 2U, I scolded her yesterday)
It’s good that you scolded her!
 
Sooo…
Thinking of doing a curve tomorrow - is it too soon after the change from 0.2 to 0.4?
I wonder if I shouldn't increase a little bit more, to be in the greens a bit longer than now (and hopefully not see yellow again), but I'm not quite sure about her nadir time at this point. These yellows make me visualize quite vividly the damage being done to the xy cells…(don't remember their name)

What do you think @Suzanne & Darcy?

My sister is meant to come by so that I can show her how to poke an ear and give her the glucometer from France (she lives there, so she won't need to buy a new one). Let's see how determined she is! She was meant to come by yesterday, then today, now it's tomorrow.
 
She’s been on the .4 long enough to do a curve. And you could consider increasing afterwards. I would love to see those yellows go away.

Beta cells in the pancreas? Is that what you were thinking of?
 
I saw your post about Feloro on the tanya group. It seems like he’s doing well now (gained weight). I would love to know if the Porus One has reduced his BUN on his next bloodwork.
 
Oh, I almost forgot. I also have cut those small Amlodipine tablets into fourths and used them. They seemed to retain their effectiveness for my cats’ blood pressure.
 
Oh thanks!!!
It's really crazy the size of these Amodip pills, isn't it?

I'm also curious about PorusOne's impact on bloodwork although Feloro's BUN has always been quite good.

If I could I would bring them right away to the first vet practice for a check-up! I'm a bit of a paranoid however, many cats carry the FIP virus here, it's very improbable that they would be susceptible to it given their age but but but… And then the majority of practices don't operate with appointments, the first that comes is served and I remember very long waiting times, and that, for Feloro and his phobia of vets it would amount to torture…
So I'm waiting to regain a bit of mobility, take the car and bring them to one a bit further away with an appointment.
 
Oh thanks!!!
It's really crazy the size of these Amodip pills, isn't it?

I'm also curious about PorusOne's impact on bloodwork although Feloro's BUN has always been quite good.

If I could I would bring them right away to the first vet practice for a check-up! I'm a bit of a paranoid however, many cats carry the FIP virus here, it's very improbable that they would be susceptible to it given their age but but but… And then the majority of practices don't operate with appointments, the first that comes is served and I remember very long waiting times, and that, for Feloro and his phobia of vets it would amount to torture…
So I'm waiting to regain a bit of mobility, take the car and bring them to one a bit further away with an appointment.
Yes. A blood pressure pill specifically for animals and it’s huge!
I think it sounds like Feloro is doing well right now and he can definitely wait to see a vet. That’s sad about the FIP. There is a treatment for it though.
 
Oh well it could be a side effect of the medication, how much is the cat currently taking, when was the methimazole started and at which dose, is the hyperT well controlled, and is the methim in pill form or creme?
One quick thing to do to check if it is the medication is to withhold it for a couple of days and see if the appetite improves.
How are all the other parameters? Thinking of renal cause of nausea…
 
Hey all, I'm sorry to ask this here but can someone help me post a new thread question? The only thing I can figure out is "forum", but that doesn't"s seem right. I have a question about figuring out how to use this caliper. So sorry for hijacking your post.
 
Curve done, not perfect, I’ll repeat tomorrow the morning part that I kind of missed today… Still not sure about her exact nadir time.
What do you think Suzanne?
 
I’ve started yesterday with the administration time change-30min per day. This way, on Thursday I’ll be able to give her her insulin shot and then go for the surgery.
I’m also thinking of upping her dose after it, since I’ll probably won’t be back before late in the afternoon and not able to monitor her, I kind of know how low she gets now with the 0.4 and it’s ok.
 
Oh well it could be a side effect of the medication, how much is the cat currently taking, when was the methimazole started and at which dose, is the hyperT well controlled, and is the methim in pill form or creme?
One quick thing to do to check if it is the medication is to withhold it for a couple of days and see if the appetite improves.
How are all the other parameters? Thinking of renal cause of nausea…
Poor kitty didn’t make it. It was my friend’s cat. Remember I told you about the anemia she had. It finally resolved to a sort of borderline anemia and for a long time the vet had them stop giving the Methimazole. Then finally the vet restarted is at a very low dose. The cat continued to lose weight, of course, since when the vet finally tested the T4 (she refused to test the T4 for a couple months because she “wasn’t worried about it”) it was sky high. So the methimazole was increased last week by a small amount. Poor kitty had lost so much weight she was about 5 lbs. when she had been 10 when she was healthy. She just couldn’t go on anymore like that. I feel like the vet really screwed this up. I also urged my friend to do the radioactive iodine treatment a month or 6 weeks ago. I urged her to have the vet check the T4, but the vet said they had to correct the anemia first. Anyway, that is what happened. If there’s one thing this whole situation with my friend’s cat has taught me, it is that if any of my cats become hyperthyroid, I am getting them the radioactive iodine treatment. Many cats just don’t seem to do well on methimazole and this is not the only one I have heard of doing poorly.

Did your sister ever come over to see how you test Aida?
 
I’ve started yesterday with the administration time change-30min per day. This way, on Thursday I’ll be able to give her her insulin shot and then go for the surgery.
I’m also thinking of upping her dose after it, since I’ll probably won’t be back before late in the afternoon and not able to monitor her, I kind of know how low she gets now with the 0.4 and it’s ok.
I think this is a good plan regarding the insulin. I hope the surgery will be smooth and successful. How long will the recovery process be? Let me know how you are- that you are home and okay!
 
Poor kitty didn’t make it. It was my friend’s cat. Remember I told you about the anemia she had. It finally resolved to a sort of borderline anemia and for a long time the vet had them stop giving the Methimazole. Then finally the vet restarted is at a very low dose. The cat continued to lose weight, of course, since when the vet finally tested the T4 (she refused to test the T4 for a couple months because she “wasn’t worried about it”) it was sky high. So the methimazole was increased last week by a small amount. Poor kitty had lost so much weight she was about 5 lbs. when she had been 10 when she was healthy. She just couldn’t go on anymore like that. I feel like the vet really screwed this up. I also urged my friend to do the radioactive iodine treatment a month or 6 weeks ago. I urged her to have the vet check the T4, but the vet said they had to correct the anemia first. Anyway, that is what happened. If there’s one thing this whole situation with my friend’s cat has taught me, it is that if aony of my cats become hyperthyroid, I am getting them the radioactive iodine treatment. Many cats just don’t seem to do well on methimazole and this is not the only one I have heard of doing poorly.

Did your sister ever come over to see how you test Aida?
Oh no! That’s terrible!!!
Why did the vet let that happen?
In the hyperT group I read a lot about vets that prefer cats not being treated because it makes the renal parameter look better, they’re either wholly ignorant or don’t care… It’s so so sad, she let the kitty die of hunger and sarcopenia…Anaemia can be corrected while at the same time the hyperT treated, that’s so so wrong what happened there…
If Feloro hadn’t have all the side effects of the methimazole, I’d probably still been treating him with it, the vet gave me no information about the radioiodine treatment. She told me either we treat it with Hill’s bonckers food or methimazole. It’s done very rarely in France - maybe in entire Europe. I think that the level of care is very poor in France, I’ve heard of many kitties and dogs dying from UTIs, the vets prefer to let them die in pain because of fear for AB resistance…instead of stopping giving AB to cattle, they let dogs and cats die… It’s just… Don’t know what to say about THAT one…

My sister YES! She came today in the morning! I showed her with a very compliant Aida how to test, currently making her a paper note with the basics, I urged her to join here, crossing my fingers!

I think this is a good plan regarding the insulin. I hope the surgery will be smooth and successful. How long will the recovery process be? Let me know how you are- that you are home and okay!
Thanks!! It’s a meniscus tear surgery, not invasive, the surgeon told me that I’ll have to be immobilised for 10 days and I can start my activity with great care after that. Not spending a night in, so that’s really good! Many many thanks!
 
It all went smoothly and well, came back super late - the doctors here work crazy hours, really really too much…
Anyway, because she didn't have anything all day her BG was in the blues, and today it was again the yellow pattern, so I upped her from 0.4 to 0.5.
Hope I didn't rush it! I hate seeing yellow…
 
Sooooo
I keep upping her insulin dose and her BG remains the same.
Starting to think that the vial isn't good any longer.
I really need some guidance… should I directly go to 1.5U to see if there is any impact? I just upped her from 0.6 to 0.8.
Many many thanks!!!
 
I would not make large dose adjustments because of the green nadirs that she has had, but it really does look suspicious doesn’t it (that the vial isn’t any good any longer.) You might want to go ahead and move her to 1 unit (drawing to 2.5 on the U-100 syringe) but only if you can monitor. I would wait until she had .8 for 3-6 cycles. It’s such a shame. Her numbers before were so great!
 
Suzanne!
I had a phone consultation with our previous vet in France, she looked at the spreadsheet and asked me if there were any signs of illness/infection (not eating, not peeing normally, lethargic, sleepy, etc…) to which I answered negatively. Ideally, I would bring her for a blood draw to check everything up but my finances are a bit stretched right now with my own health issue. She assessed that most probably the insulin has lost potency, which is what appears with her BG numbers. Her BG reacts to the shot, but it isn't kept in check for long enough.

So I went off and bought a vial of Lantus.

I'm thinking of maybe changing her tomorrow (tonight might be risky as I'm too tired and risk sleeping through a potential hypoglycemia…)

What do you think about this plan?

What dose should I start her with? I guess lower than currently? Or the same, 0.8? On the U-100 syringe, it would then rather be 0.75 right? Or something completely different?

I'm going to post on the Lantus part of the forum.

Anyway, Suzanne, thank you so so so much for your care and assistance and patience and everything here!
 
Yes. Definitely post on the Lantus forum. We can probably start her at .75 as long as plan to do TR. You were already doing MPM so I would think you would do TR.
 
Back
Top