Thinking of lowering lantus dose

bombay14

Member Since 2020
Hello! My kitty was diagnosed sept 17 w a sugar of 573. He was started on 1 unit of lantus every 12 hours. Unfortunately it took me a while to get blood successfully to check his sugar. One week later I finally got it 4 hours after his dose and it was 476. I was still transitioning him off of bad dry food. He had a vet appointment and the vet recommended to increase him to 3 units a day. I increased him to 2 units once a day since we were still changing food. Finally I’ve been more comfortable and able to get blood sugars from my guys ears. So yesterday at 8 hrs after his dose of 2 units he was 134. This AM preshot he was 164.

Should I give him 1 unit ? Or skip?
 
Do you have a spreadsheet we can look at? I'm still new to the dosing guidelines here, but I think either skip or give him half his normal dose if you're able to monitor him and test bg throughout the day.
 
Back
Top