Thinking of coming on board here

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
Could you guys take a look at my boy Loki's ss and let me know what you think? He is doing better I think, could it be because the nice weather is finally here and he gets to go out some with me? He is doing well eating and the 5 P's are fine. I wonder if this is the best he and I can do and just looking to see what you guys think.
Thanks so much,
Mimi and Loki
 
Hi there, Nice to meet you. What insulin is he on, this is a great place someone should be by to check on you soon.Were pretty new here to Lucky has been getting better since we have been here. I can't give advise still to new at this but if on Lantus those are high units.Hang in there and welcome. Linda
 
Our vet said the same thing! That her diabetic patients do better in the summer, maybe because of more exercise, she didn't really know. Of course, here in LantusLand, unless a kitty is OTJ, he could always do better. :roll: :lol:

Where would you like Loki to be?

We have these goals for Zener, even though he rarely meets them. First is to be under renal threshold which is about 200 to 240. Next is to be in normal numbers, 50 to 120. The lower the numbers, the more testing we have to do. The minimum testing is preshot and mid cycle, so that is a minimum of 4 tests per day.

So another question for you is how much testing are you willing to do? The most important thing is to keep Loki safe so you have to balance all these things out. Whatever you decide works for you and Loki, people here are willing to help you with that.
Liz
 
Thanks for getting back to me, sorry I did not give more info. My boy is on Lantus 1.25 2 x's per day. We started on PZI last year and if you look at his SS you can see how high he was. He is 16 years old also. We started Lantus when his vet went to a conference and had a meeting with a New York vet who had great luck with regulating and having cats go OTJ, we started at 1 unit but his #'s were still in the 300's, so he upped him to 1.25.
I have stayed up and tested before every 2 hrs for 24 hrs, so testing is not a problem. I am in school also and work and older (55) so be kind :lol: please. I would love to get him in the 200's then work towards the 50-120 maybe but do you think with his age it may not be possible? He is in awesome health otherwise. He eats 3 oz per meal 3 x's per day sometime maybe 4 oz. Anything else I may have forgotten let me know please and thanks.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

It looks like you've been hanging around FDMB for a while and have all of the basics about shooting, food, etc. under your belt. The biggest change looks like you switched from ProZinc (?) to Lantus in April. If you've not already done so, you may want to take a look at the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board.

Lantus and ProZinc are very different. With ProZinc, the dose is based on pre-shot numbers. With Lantus, dose changes are based on the lowest point in the cycle (the nadir). As a result, it's important to get not only a test before you give a shot, it's also important to get one or more spot checks during each cycle whenever you can. It looks like you've not been getting any tests during the PM cycle. Is it possible for you to get at least a "before bed" test every night?

With Tight Regulation, we evaluate the dose after 3 - 5 days, depending on where the nadirs are typically falling. So, from the perspective of the TR Protocol, we'd have suggested a change in dose providing you had some additional PM data.
 
Can you get in a before bed test daily? (2-3 hours or more after his PMPS).. That would tell us much more.

Also what meter are you using?
 
I can test 2-3 would stay up all night if I had to, his pmps is 10 pm (eastern standard time) but can do it, would I have to do it for 1 or more weeks perhaps?
 
Loki is beautiful, I know the feeling over 50 early to bed early to rise. I'm glad you found it here If you look at lucky's SS we have those same high's we go up ad down. I had such a hard time getting up for that +5 I was harder on myself then these gals.they all under stand and no one will beat up here. good luck. Linda
 
Me too but after waking up to bailey measuring at 16 at +7 one night and unresponsive having been high pink at PMPS, I get up with no problems!!! Although I might be going greyer quicker..
 
Hi Michelle!

Good idea posting here. The TR protocol, if you choose to follow it, should benefit you and Loki. The biggest advantage to posting in this forum is the activity level here. You'll get 50 replies a day, and within minutes of posting usually. :-D And someone is here pretty much 24 hours a day, so never a lack of or a wait for feedback.

Nice to see you,
Carl
 
Thanks Carl, so nice to see you here and knowing your around to keep an eye on me makes me feel much better. This group already have been awesome with responding and helping.
:-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top