Thinking I should try another insulin?? any advise?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I’m not that worried with a 94 on an AT as it is the more accurate for a cat. He’s getting close to nadir so I’d feed him some higher low carb and retest in 30.

Where is he in the cycle? About +5 I’m thinking? The SS is not updated.
 
I’m not that worried with a 94 on an AT as it is the more accurate for a cat. He’s getting close to nadir so I’d feed him some higher low carb and retest in 30.

Where is he in the cycle? About +5 I’m thinking? The SS is not updated.
Yeah first day on lantus and human meter. Should be+- +5 I think too. The 47 scared me. Not familiar with at numbers.
 
Yeah first day on lantus and human meter. Should be+- +5 I think too. The 47 scared me. Not familiar with at numbers.
I understand. If I hadn’t used an AT2 myself, I would also be very cautious.

Karen...we need to get an update from you and it would be best if you pick one meter and stick with it. It’s confusing for other members helping if you are using both meters.

As an example, with the AT2, he didn’t earn a reduction even under our Start Low Go Slow method. But he definitely did with the human meter.
 
O.K. just tested again. AT 96 The Relion is 55. I am doing side by side to try to get an idea of differences. I like the Alpha Trac but as you it expensive! Thanks
 
O.K. just tested again. AT 96 The Relion is 55. I am doing side by side to try to get an idea of differences. I like the Alpha Trac but as you it expensive! Thanks
Eating again, I have been keeping him to about 190 calories a day as per Dr. Lisa for weight reduction. I think he is about 2 lbs overweight. Maybe that's effecting numbers?
 
Eating again, I have been keeping him to about 190 calories a day as per Dr. Lisa for weight reduction. I think he is about 2 lbs overweight. Maybe that's effecting numbers?
Doubtful that the weight is the issue.

I’d give him 30 minutes after he’s done eating and just make sure he is continuing up. If he is, you can give him a testing break for an hour....or more if he’s zoomed up.

Yes I did. I try to feed him every 2 to 3 hours.
That might be one of the reasons he dropped on you so much on Novolin and might do the same on Lantus. We will have to see his patterns but many cats need more of a feeding schedule to work with the insulin.

I’m on the way out but Heidi will watch for his numbers and I’ll check back in when I get back.
 
Karen when you're numbers are lower and you need to get them up for safety it's good tho keep in mind: feed a little and retest, don't worry about regular food schedules, don't feed too much cause you might need kitty to keep eating to raise bg. :bighug: when will you test again? Can you update the ss?
 
Next is 3 p.m. I have updated SS and enter only Relion numbers. I got the Relion because on the Sticky regarding Lantus that is what was suggested. AT is as you know expensive. Thank you again for all of your help.
 
I wonder if amount of water would have an impact. Every time I feed him, I add water so it's almost a soup. Dr. Lisa suggested as much H20 as possible. So he is indeed getting a lot of water?
 
Just an observation to toss out there but, generally, after mid cycle or nadir, unless kitty is hovering under 50 or has dropped suddenly, we want to feed low carb food. If you feed a higher carb food later in the cycle when numbers are rising, you risk ruining the duration of the cycle.

Since you’ve decided to stick with the human meter, then I would go ahead and reduce and see what he does. You might have to go back up but since he is new to Lantus, we should be cautious and opt for safety. I would suggest you drop him back to 0.1u. The sticky on Syringe & Insulin Info & Drawing Fine Doses has a picture of 0.1u for you to look at. Your 0.1u doesn’t have to look exactly like this but you want to try and draw it as consistently as possible. You might want to practice just using water.

I’d like to suggest that you post on the Lantus/Levemir ISG as there are many more eyes experienced with Lantus there. Thankfully, Heidi saw your post on Health. We have a bit of a different protocol for posting there so if you have a few moments to read Making the Most of your Lantus/Levemir ISG Experience, it will be helpful to you. I’d also recommend that you start to read the stickys at the top of that forum as well. Lots of good info, especially New to the Group.

If he were my cat, I wouldn’t wait two hours to test. If you fed him gravy, it would be good to see what that does for him and how it affects his numbers. The goal in his diabetes treatment is to get him well regulated and you have to know how he responds to different foods (i.e. % carbs) at different times in the cycle. It would be great info for you to test him an hour after he finished his last meal to see what it did to his BG.
 
Thank you Marje, he is at 90 now. I will look at the sticky for info on the o.1 dose and definitely practice first. I will also post on the Lantus/Levimir site.
Wonderful!!! We’d love to have you. It’s a very close group.

I would suggest you give yourself about 15-20 mins before PMPS to test him and post for help in the Lantus/Levemir forum in case he’s 150 or below. If he is 150 or higher, go ahead and shoot but if he’s below 150, don’t feed him. Post for help and we can walk you through the options.
 
Wonderful!!! We’d love to have you. It’s a very close group.

I would suggest you give yourself about 15-20 mins before PMPS to test him and post for help in the Lantus/Levemir forum in case he’s 150 or below. If he is 150 or higher, go ahead and shoot but if he’s below 150, don’t feed him. Post for help and we can walk you through the options.

Marje, I did post to the Lantus group and his pmps is 120. I have not yet gotten a response. Thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top