Think we have discovered the reason for the high #s

arthur-kitty

Member Since 2024
It's stress. He just doesn't like having his ear pricked.

My partner tested his BG this morning and Arthur hissed at them. 536 AMPS when his PMPS was 120 last night.

I think he minds me doing it much less, and I've gotten way, way better at doing it in a way that stresses him less. But this is all still a challenge.

Accepting any advice - thank you.
 
Hi. I was just trying to link your last couple of threads to this new one for continuity. My mouse is broken though and won't do it. I'm sorry you are having trouble! What kind of treat are you giving with every BG test (even a failed test.) If stress is elevating BG and it's just from the testing then the BG would probably go back down fairly quickly. I will now take a look at his spreadsheet.
 
The evening of 9/10 (last night) was a great cycle from what I can tell. This morning's black was likely a bounce from those beautiful numbers, but I can't determine too much since there aren't any more tests after the red at +1. How did things go today? No asthma flares recently?
 
Last edited:
I apologize - I'm not used to forums and didn't realize when to make a new thread. I will keep that in mind.

We have had zero asthma flares since running an air purifier 24/7 after his asthma dx.

Just updated the spreadsheet with his numbers! I also added a weight tab - Arthur has lost weight, and we are calling the vet today to see if we should be concerned. This weight loss happened after we decreased food from 4 cans daily to 3 cans daily, but he lost too much weight I think.... so as of today we increased back up to 4. The vet told us Arthur was overweight.

We are planning on doing a full curve this weekend with both the human glucometer and the AlphaTrak since what's the vet requires for dosing decisions.
 
I apologize - I'm not used to forums and didn't realize when to make a new thread. I will keep that in mind.

We have had zero asthma flares since running an air purifier 24/7 after his asthma dx.

Just updated the spreadsheet with his numbers! I also added a weight tab - Arthur has lost weight, and we are calling the vet today to see if we should be concerned. This weight loss happened after we decreased food from 4 cans daily to 3 cans daily, but he lost too much weight I think.... so as of today we increased back up to 4. The vet told us Arthur was overweight.

We are planning on doing a full curve this weekend with both the human glucometer and the AlphaTrak since what's the vet requires for dosing decisions.
It’s okay. We usually ask that these threads don’t go over 50 posts, but you don’t have to let the threads get that long if you don’t want to. But we do like to link the previous thread to the new thread so that anyone can follow what happened before. I don’t think any of your threads have gotten very long.

It looks like his weight is roughly back down to where he was in 2019, 2020 and then he gained a lot in 2021-2024 - until recently. Was he underweight back then? He gained a lot of weight and then it looks like he went from 15.7 to 13.6 in just a little over 2 weeks? That is too fast for a 2 pound weight loss. Is his appetite good? I also noticed on his labs tab that his white count was extremely elevated. Is that correct? It says 36.65. Can that be correct? What is the reference range listed on your lab work? If it’s that far above the reference range for your vet’s lab then it is likely that Arthur has an infection. I am hoping it’s just a mistake. You didn’t mention that he was on antibiotics, or at least I don’t recall that you did.
 
I’m also looking forward to seeing how the curve goes for today and/or tomorrow. I know your vet likes the Alpha Trak, but does that vet also recommend the Libre sensor? A lot of vets do, but they never seem to think about the fact that the Libre is a human “continuous glucose monitor.”
 
His appetite is good and he's eating all of his food. When I got him from the shelter he was very lethargic. As a new pet owner, I fed him according to the amount recommended on the bag which led to some weight loss. I ended up feeding him more after that which led to some weight gain. At his vet appointments I would ask about his weight as I was concerned that he was overweight, but I was assured that he was a healthy weight. The most recent time I was told that was when he was at 15 lbs, but I believe that may have been at a different vet. If anyone had told me Arthur was overweight, I would not have not treated him. :(

I will try and look for images of Arthur shaved where he would be 15-16 lbs. It's challenging to properly assess his body comp for me because he's so fluffy.
 
Yes, our vet recommended a Libre which install failed and I don't think it's a good option for Arthur.

I am trying to upload a redacted file about Arthur's labs but it's saying I'm not allowed to perform this action
 
Yes, our vet recommended a Libre which install failed and I don't think it's a good option for Arthur.

I am trying to upload a redacted file about Arthur's labs but it's saying I'm not allowed to perform this action
I’m just saying it’s silly for vets to — on the one hand recommend a human Libre and — on the other hand insist on an Alpha Trak! Makes no sense! But it’s okay. You are placating the vet but using the ReliOn for regular testing.
Oh, about your file… because the upload link doesn’t work, you have to copy and paste a photo of the file or sometimes you can copy a link to the url.
 
Yeah, it's wild. The vets are so interested in all my #s until they know it's a human glucometer and then they don't care. Thank you! I will work on that in a minute.

They said he had a UTI, but I believe they gave him an antibiotic injection. Most of the discharge meds were optional according to the vet.
 
Yeah, it's wild. The vets are so interested in all my #s until they know it's a human glucometer and then they don't care. Thank you! I will work on that in a minute.

They said he had a UTI, but I believe they gave him an antibiotic injection. Most of the discharge meds were optional according to the vet.
Oh. So they gave him a Convenia injection. I am definitely not a fan of Convenia injections, but I am not going to overwhelm you with all that information right now. I’m glad he’s doing better now!
 
:cool: I like seeing the blue. It was a bit faster than I would like to see it, but I hope he can maintain the blues for a while this cycle. Can you test him again in an hour or two hours at most? Feed him a low carb teaspoon of Fancy Feast — well you wrote that almost two hours ago so I hope he got a snack and that you have tested him again.)
 
Cycle for Sat and Sun updated on spreadsheet! We log on paper and then I go in and put it on the spreadsheet so I apologize for the delay

Anyone have any thoughts?

Also thank you Suzanne for your continued support. :cat:
 
Excellent cycles this past weekend. This 2 unit dose seems to be working well. Now we just need things to smooth out a bit, that can take time. On days when you are gone all day and cannot test, try to get a night time test.
 
I did this is the response I received. Note that she is referring to AlphaTrak #s.

"Hi! Thanks so much for sending that! Actually those numbers are great, I don't want to increase his dose any more. Ideally, we stop increasing once their lowest value is between 100-200. How is he acting at home?"
 
Back
Top