? Theodore Question RE: LEVEMIR PERFORMANCE +3 441 11/1/2023

NadineTheodore

Member Since 2023
Hello,

So I am on day 9 of 4.5 units. I didn't make any changes after 7 days because I had to push his dose up an hour Monday....In any case I am not showing the lows I had with Lantus. It seems more of a straight line vs curve. Should I increase dose this evening and should I consider going back to Lantus?

Also I am feeding Fancy Feast Pates and Flaked Trout and Flaked Tuna. Should I consider something else? He does get a little dry, Dr. Esleys but considering changing that since they are out of stock across Canada at the moment...

Just looking for advice and next steps to help my angel.

****FORGOT TO ASK***
I purchased the Levemir pens which they say are good for a month after you open, there's no paper cover over the pens, just the cap, what's keeping these from expiring? I bought 5 pens which I get insulin through a needle with them but it just seems odd because Lantus had a little sticker over the top...
 
****FORGOT TO ASK***
I purchased the Levemir pens which they say are good for a month after you open, there's no paper cover over the pens, just the cap, what's keeping these from expiring? I bought 5 pens which I get insulin through a needle with them but it just seems odd because Lantus had a little sticker over the top...

Can you call where you purchased them and ask them why there is no expiration date on them?

I did a search on our site and found this posted by one of our members, and copied it
I've never thrown away Lantus or Levimer (vials or pens)...

The 30 day recommendation is for humans who leave it out on the counter or carry it in a pocket or purse for use while they're out and about. It can last for a year or more (my own personal experience) as long as it's kept refrigerated (not in the door)...

Throw the box and that paper away since you're using this for kitty, not humans...those 'rules' only apply to us 2-legged creatures :)

@NadineTheodore
 
Hi Nadine linking you last post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/theodore-10-17-2-545.282646/#post-3115066
Take a look @Bandit's Mom post #2 from the previous post I linked.
Question what Re those BG numbers you have on your spreadsheet for 11-4?

Can you add the date to your title above please :cat:
@NadineTheodore
I am not sure how to change the title, I only see to edit the body of the post? In your experience does Levemir have less "drops"'? It seems he doesn't go down much at all.
 
Hello,

So I am on day 9 of 4.5 units. I didn't make any changes after 7 days because I had to push his dose up an hour Monday....In any case I am not showing the lows I had with Lantus. It seems more of a straight line vs curve. Should I increase dose this evening and should I consider going back to Lantus?

Also I am feeding Fancy Feast Pates and Flaked Trout and Flaked Tuna. Should I consider something else? He does get a little dry, Dr. Esleys but considering changing that since they are out of stock across Canada at the moment...

Just looking for advice and next steps to help my angel.

****FORGOT TO ASK***
I purchased the Levemir pens which they say are good for a month after you open, there's no paper cover over the pens, just the cap, what's keeping these from expiring? I bought 5 pens which I get insulin through a needle with them but it just seems odd because Lantus had a little sticker over the top...
Tagging @tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Bandit's Mom
@Suzanne & Darcy
@Chris & China (GA)

Should she increase the dose?
 
Last edited:
I am not sure how to change the title, I only see to edit the body of the post? In your experience does Levemir have less "drops"'? It seems he doesn't go down much at all.
To add the date to you title look to the right and you will see the work Thread Tools tap on that then tap in Edit Title add the date in front of your question mark and then tap save.
We always add the dates on our posts
I tagged a few members for you to answer you question
Did you read my post #3 ?
@NadineTheodore
 
To add the date to you title look to the right and you will see the work Thread Tools tap on that then tap in Edit Title add the date in front of your question mark and then tap save.
We always add the dates on our posts
I tagged a few members for you to answer you question
Did you read my post #3 ?
@NadineTheodore
Title updated :)

I did see your post, so I suppose the Levemir is still good but previously I saw better drops with Lantus so I am thinking maybe I should switch back?
 
I always bought Levemir in a 5 pack of cartridges, cheaper and less waste. Never had any paper tabs over the top - and neither did the Lantus cartridges.

It would be really helpful if you could get before bed tests at night, each and every night. It's entirely possible Theodore is going lower at night, then bouncing. You are also holding doses too long, allowing glucose toxicity to set it. Don't hold doses more than 7 days if his nadirs (plural, not a one shot) are all above 150. Theodore does seem to be getting less black numbers on Levemir so that's a positive. I wouldn't switch back to Lantus at this point. Doing steep drops is not a sign of a good insulin.
 
I always bought Levemir in a 5 pack of cartridges, cheaper and less waste. Never had any paper tabs over the top - and neither did the Lantus cartridges.

It would be really helpful if you could get before bed tests at night, each and every night. It's entirely possible Theodore is going lower at night, then bouncing. You are also holding doses too long, allowing glucose toxicity to set it. Don't hold doses more than 7 days if his nadirs (plural, not a one shot) are all above 150. Theodore does seem to be getting less black numbers on Levemir so that's a positive. I wouldn't switch back to Lantus at this point. Doing steep drops is not a sign of a good insulin.
Thank you Wendy
 
I always bought Levemir in a 5 pack of cartridges, cheaper and less waste. Never had any paper tabs over the top - and neither did the Lantus cartridges.

It would be really helpful if you could get before bed tests at night, each and every night. It's entirely possible Theodore is going lower at night, then bouncing. You are also holding doses too long, allowing glucose toxicity to set it. Don't hold doses more than 7 days if his nadirs (plural, not a one shot) are all above 150. Theodore does seem to be getting less black numbers on Levemir so that's a positive. I wouldn't switch back to Lantus at this point. Doing steep drops is not a sign of a good insulin.
How to you correct glucose toxicity? It seems I am consistently having to increase his dose.
 
Back
Top