NadineTheodore
Member Since 2023
Accidentally posted below in wrong forum earlier
Hello,
I am really struggling with Theodore. I am just looking for some support perhaps.
His numbers have gotten horrible. I increased him to 6 units. I did a quick temporary switch back to Lantus as I am struggling that I saw better lows with Lantus VS Levemir. He is back on Levemir in any case. I don't know what to do anymore. Theodore is FIV, Diabetic, has barely any teeth left (almost full dental extraction), megacolon (requires dry food as part of his diet otherwise gets backed up).
Dr. Esleys was recently backordered and I have NO option of getting it here in Ontario. I was forced to buy Purina DM as vet suggested it's for diabetics. Numbers perhaps increased due to this food but still seems awfully high given we are on 6 units of insulin.
What am I doing wrong? What can I do? He's been diabetic officially since April 29, 2023 but likely since March. I am really struggling as I feel nothing I am doing is working. I am trying my best and his numbers constantly seem unchanged when earlier on we saw some movement in the numbers with the Lantus. We even saw some blue numbers.
I will attach his blood work here as well. I noticed his T4 went up, Hematocrit down, ALP up, UREA (Bun) also up....He has no ketones.
We have an appointment with an internal medicine specialist next week. Things crossing my mind, hypothyroidism, acro, insulin resistance, tumour/cancer. Is there anything I should specifically ask for?
Previous post:https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/theodore-11-10-2023-amps-513-5-445.283441/
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12xCz_cP0ZAXkPKv3s_0DG4mAJv1WbMn77XQ-mkr5nbA/edit?usp=sharing
Today at 12:26 AMEditReport
Reply
Hello,
I am really struggling with Theodore. I am just looking for some support perhaps.
His numbers have gotten horrible. I increased him to 6 units. I did a quick temporary switch back to Lantus as I am struggling that I saw better lows with Lantus VS Levemir. He is back on Levemir in any case. I don't know what to do anymore. Theodore is FIV, Diabetic, has barely any teeth left (almost full dental extraction), megacolon (requires dry food as part of his diet otherwise gets backed up).
Dr. Esleys was recently backordered and I have NO option of getting it here in Ontario. I was forced to buy Purina DM as vet suggested it's for diabetics. Numbers perhaps increased due to this food but still seems awfully high given we are on 6 units of insulin.
What am I doing wrong? What can I do? He's been diabetic officially since April 29, 2023 but likely since March. I am really struggling as I feel nothing I am doing is working. I am trying my best and his numbers constantly seem unchanged when earlier on we saw some movement in the numbers with the Lantus. We even saw some blue numbers.
I will attach his blood work here as well. I noticed his T4 went up, Hematocrit down, ALP up, UREA (Bun) also up....He has no ketones.
We have an appointment with an internal medicine specialist next week. Things crossing my mind, hypothyroidism, acro, insulin resistance, tumour/cancer. Is there anything I should specifically ask for?
Previous post:https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/theodore-11-10-2023-amps-513-5-445.283441/
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12xCz_cP0ZAXkPKv3s_0DG4mAJv1WbMn77XQ-mkr5nbA/edit?usp=sharing
Today at 12:26 AMEditReport
Reply

NadineTheodore
Theodore blood work 9/16/23 - https://share.icloud.com/photos/0bbFelm_-ePQHUdGDYALbTV6g
Theodore ultrasound results after having dka
https://share.icloud.com/photos/0d8MP7H9yWSXaVOPzm04F_uKA
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/12xCz_cP0ZAXkPKv3s_0DG4mAJv1WbMn77XQ-mkr5nbA/edit?usp=sharing
