? Thelonius >300 AMPS & PMPS, should I increase dosage?

Thelonius

Member Since 2019
Hi, my cat Thelonius was recently diagnosed, and the vet originally put him on 2 units of Lantus twice a day. After they did a curve at the office, the vet told me to cut to 0 (the said he dropped really low), so he had two missed dosages. This is when I started home testing, and based on my first results the vet had me bring it back up to 1 unit.

Based on the past few days, this doesn't seem to be enough, but I'm pretty new at this so any advice would be appreciated. I'm going to try to get a reading +6 hours tonight, so hopefully that will be informative.

Thanks in advance!
 
Hi and welcome! I would think that you need a little more data (mid-cycle tests) before you can increase. Also, can you take a before bed test?
 
Hello and welcome. It is great you are home testing now, We determine how to change the Lantus dose based on the nadir, or low the dose can take the cat. Nadirs vary somewhat, but are generally somewhere in between the preshots. Cats often go lower at night, so we strongly recommend getting a test before bed, to give us an idea what is happening at night. I would recommend gathering an it more data, then we’ll have a better idea what 1 unit is doing and which way to go next. When you have a chance, you might try getting a curve done, to try to pinpoint onset and nadir for Thelonius.

If you haven’t already, I recommend reading the Sticky Notes at the top of this forum. That also includes the one on dosing methods, which will give you an idea how we decide to change the dose. There is a lot of information in these notes. So feel free to keep asking questions, we love to help here.
 
Took a before bed test last night (180), not sure if it was far out enough from the shot. He was pretty high again this morning. I will get a +6 later today for this cycle.
 
Try mixing those mid cycle tests up a bit. Not all kitties nadir at +6. Start with somewhere in the +4 to +7 range. The +5 last night was a good one, and still tells us he is hitting blues.
 
Just got a 244 reading at +6.

One of the reasons I want to get this under control ASAP is that I have a month-long trip planned (that has been booked since way before his diagnosis). I'm not sure if I can get a sitter that will be able to get readings every time so I'm trying to find a dosage that might work. This has me quite worried.
 
Could be bouncing due to last night's blues, which he's not used to yet.

Have you checked with the local vet offices to see if there is a tech wanting to make a little extra? I've used pet sitters from my vet before. How long until you leave for the trip? Normally we'll lower the dose a little for the vacation, it the dose is getting numbers lower than you'd like when away. People here can help you find a vacation dose.
 
When is your trip? Just wondering how much time you have to prepare before leaving for a month.

You're doing a great job of setting up the SS and testing. Just get in a few more tests in at random times as Wendy suggested so we'll have a better handle on how low he's getting on this dose. I love his name 'Thelonius' - sounds like a lawers name - did he get his JD? Cute!

Welcome to the forum!!
 
I leave for my trip on December 10th.

I talked to the vet office I currently go to about boarding him there and they didn't have any suggestions about any techs that may want to pick up the work.

He was lethargic when I came back from a run, so I took a test and he was back up to 348 (though he had eaten after my +6 test).

His name comes from Thelonius Monk, the jazz pianist.

Really appreciate all the help!
 
When I moved to Columbus, I did a search on Yelp and I think Google re. cat sitters in the area. I interviewed people and looked at their ratings. I'd also suggest putting a note here and on the Health board asking if anyone can recommend a pet sitter. You'll want to include your general area in your subject line.

We've also had members who had another member's kitty as a house guest.
 
Just had a PMPS of 402, and he's been peeing quite a bit all day.

Would it be safe to increase dosage? I'll get a pre-bed reading too.
 
His name comes from Thelonius Monk, the jazz pianist.
I figured that's why he found the blues last night. :cool: Which unfortunately is causing some bouncing and those higher numbers today.

Do you have U-100 syringes with half unit marks on them? We increase or decrease by 0.25 units at a time.

Also, have you read the Sticky Notes on the top of this forum? There is one on Dosing Methods, which describes the two dosing methods we use here. One of them (SLGS) would have you hold the dose a week, then do a curve. Not sure how long he's been on 1 unit now. The other dosing method is the Tight Regulation Protocol. With that dosing method, you hold for 6-10 cycles, depending on the nadirs you are getting, before increasing. There is an increased testing requirement with TR, and you need to be feeding all low carb wet or raw food. What are you feeding now? Based on your ability to test and what you are feeding, you should eventually pick one or the other dosing method, which ever one suits your life style better. The choice of dosing method dictates when you increase.
 
I do have U-100 syringes with the half unit marks.

I have read some of the documents pinned above. Not sure which way I'll go but I think I should decide when I get back from my trip. He's been on one unit almost a week, based on the reading last night of 141 I was going to keep him on it for now, and try to get a curve done on Wednesday.
 
May I also make a request?

We typically encourage people to open a new thread (aka "condo") every day that they post. You then link the previous day's post to the current condo so it's easy to back track if necessary. It's also a way that the thread doesn't get so long that people won't read what's there. (The format on this forum is different than on Health where they tend to keep one thread active even if it's very long.)

The idea is one condo per cat per day.
 
Back
Top