The Ultramarathon Part 8

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Member Since 2016
AMPS was (FS) 24.7. No surprise. I upped his dose a tiny bit to 2.4 u. I'd like to find a dose I can keep for a few cycles. I also prefer being able to use the syringe marks when I can because there's so much error trying to measure in betweens.
 
It would be awesome to have syringes with 1/4 unit marks! I used calipers to measure on the u40s but the u100s are so tiny...

Our bouncy, reactive kitties want us to have eyestrain too :p
 
+4 this morning was 17.5 and PMPS was 21.0, both measured using FS strips. Just gave 2.4 u again. Will tweak upward a tad tomorrow AM unless he surprises me. Could be bouncing or could be too low dose.
 
Well, well, an ugly black 28.4 for AMPS! This is with a FS strip that I know gives a slightly higher value. I should have repeated the test with an AT strip but I wasn't on the ball. I'm sure last night's shot was a good one because I always put my nose right to his side into the fur to feel and sniff for insulin. It all went in.

I'd planned to up his dose a bit this AM and so I gave 2.45 u (fat 2.4 u). I'll try to do a bit more monitoring. It's been a very busy week for me with a lot of time away from home. I'll also aim for at least a before bed test tonight.
 
A plague of squirrels today! PMPS was (FS) 28.0. Gave 2.45 u again. AMPS permitting, I'll be bold and raise the dose to 2.6 u tomorrow AM. It's obvious that he needs to go up.
 
Last edited:
Ug, sorry Teasel is catching Hermione's attack of bad numbers. Here's hoping he settles into better numbers soon!
 
AMPS was (AT) 19.7 - not black at least! His AM dose was intended to be 2.6 u but he got a bit less - poor aim with needle caused a bit of insulin to escape/not go in. I'm getting better but still struggle a little with the injections along his sides because of my problem hands. When I get it right he feels nothing. Practice, practice, practice.
 
PMPS was 23.7. I gave him 2.5 u instead of 2.6 u because he had a lower than intended dose this AM. I also gave his PM dose 40 minutes early because his BG was high and I thought he might have a low-ish AMPS tomorrow AM. So - a bit off the 12/12 regimen today.
 
Two tests last night: (AT) 19.3 at + 3.5 and (AT) 10.7 at +6.5. I knew he'd be low this AM because the 2.5 u PM dose was actually an increase over yesterday's flubbed AM dose. He always (over)reacts to a dose increase so no surprise - AMPS today of (AT) 9.3. Close enough to 10 to proceed now that I have lots of data on his responses. My plan going forward is to be a little bit bolder when this happens. I gave him only a slightly lower dose this AM of 2.4 u. I'll monitor midday.
 
AMPS was an hour late because of clock change. It was (AT) 30.2. I gave him 2.6 u. I have enough data on my SS to make me think there's some absorption factor since I moved to rib/flank area injecting that has the effect of causing ultra high bounce numbers. It's clouded by doses being low since then and starting a new vial of ProZinc but I'm suspicious. To that end, I've created a new column on my SS to enter injection site for each shot to see if I can track this better. I went back to his rear scruff area for this AM's shot. More experimenting ...
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top