The Ultramarathon Part 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Very Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/the-ultramarathon-part-3.165498/#post-1792655

New thread for a new week. Just distracting myself from cats who are having their breakfast delayed because Mr. Teasel had to have his evening shot later last night. Will be backtracking the schedule today. Everyone eats on the same schedule, each in a separate room. Dishes are removed (licked clean!) afterward and that's it until next meal. They're now trained this way so I don't have to worry about Teasel eating the others' food. We run a tight ship here! ;)
 
Nice! I've never been able to get my cats to eat in different rooms...when I tried they refused food! I'd love to get them eating all their food at once in separate rooms...ah well! We do what we can I guess.
 
We run a tight ship here!
Baco and Minnie also are trained that way since Baco got diagnosed, haha a real tight ship indeed!
As Baco is OTJ, they still need to be on that ship everyday ;) And you konw what, I think that's the best way!
If I ever get new kitties I would do the same to them although they aren't diabetic. If there's something i've learned from a diabetic kitty is that they don't need to eat all day.

I'm curious for Teasel's AMPS :woot: Hopefully another nice yellow/blue-ish number!
 
AMPS was 18.8 but I'm not surprised. A dose of 2.6 u was a bit low I think but I didn't want to take any chances overnight after his low PMPS yesterday. I'm only raising it to 2.7 u this AM because I've learned that he's a jumpy jittery boy.
 
BG at +6 is 17.1. Not surprised but will give 2.7 u again tonight and raise to 2.8 u tomorrow morning if needed. No sudden moves with this boy! :rolleyes:
 
A blue surprise this morning! AMPS was 11.1 (AT strip). Gave him 2.7 u again and will monitor today.

(First test with FS strip gave me 12.4 and because it was low, I retested with an AT strip and got 11.1. I would have made the same dosing decision if I'd only used the FS strip test. So far the AT strip number has been lower than the FS number when I've done same drop tests. The average difference is now running a bit over 5%. I'm including this info for anyone else who might be thinking of trying FS strips in their AT meter after doing their own comparison testing of course. :) )
 
Last edited:
PMPS is 13.4. I'll stay with 2.7 u tonight - don't like to raise dose at PM unless absolutely necessary. That higher number mid-day seems to be a squirrel number ....
 
Last edited:
Happens to us all! I never raised at night either if I could help. Hopefully those darn squirrels will take off!
 
8.3 at AMPS! I'm stalling and have three impatient kitties harassing me. Thinking about whether to keep 2.7u or lower to 2.6u. Teasel is full of surprises these days ..
 
Whoa! Teasel is sure trying to keep you on your toes! Hoping the stall brings him up a bit.
 
After 25 min stall, BG was 10.3. He seems to take about 2 days to react to ANY dose increase, no matter how small. I bumped him up from 2.6 u to 2.7 u on 10/03 AM and here I am this morning. Similar patterns elsewhere on his SS at a variety of doses. I think I'll give 2.6 u for a bit of breathing room. Yes, just gave him 2.6 u.
 
Last edited:
Looking at Teasel's big picture SS, he really is making progress
You are doing great - patience, patience, patience !!
Hang in there :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks a lot for this, Carol! I think we're getting somewhere (finally) and I've learned not to react to individual numbers but to look at the big picture. So different from when I did a weekly BG curve for my vet - those test days were torture for me. Everything seemed to hinge on those values because I had no clue what was happening day-to-day. This is SO much better! :)
 
15.1 at +5. Might still be remnants of a bounce or it's telling me the dose is slightly too low. I'm starting to think that in addition to eyeballing between marks on the U100 syringe, I'll have to draw up the next higher dose and let out a drop as another method of "in between" dosing. Trust Teasel to need this level of microdosing when he's nowhere near a remission dose! :banghead:
 
12.9 with FS strip at +4. Estimate that AT strip would give about 12.3 so same essentially. I have to go out soon until about +8.
 
PMPS is 10.4 with FS strip in AT meter. AT strip would likely be 5% lower or 9.9. Close enough to my "no shot" number of 10 mmol/L. I'll give 2.65 u again tonight, will test before bed and give him a late snack as well.
 
A blue surprise this morning! AMPS was 11.1 (AT strip). Gave him 2.7 u again and will monitor today.

(First test with FS strip gave me 12.4 and because it was low, I retested with an AT strip and got 11.1. I would have made the same dosing decision if I'd only used the FS strip test. So far the AT strip number has been lower than the FS number when I've done same drop tests. The average difference is now running a bit over 5%. I'm including this info for anyone else who might be thinking of trying FS strips in their AT meter after doing their own comparison testing of course. :) )

Just so you know Kris, you may have your AT meter set to the same code that produces the most accurate readings for that vial of FS strips. Just don't be lulled into thinking all vials will produce the same results and do a comparison test with each new vial to get a sense of any difference because there are 4 known cat codes and each uses a slightly different algorithm and may or may not be THAT accurate.
 
Just so you know Kris, you may have your AT meter set to the same code that produces the most accurate readings for that vial of FS strips. Just don't be lulled into thinking all vials will produce the same results and do a comparison test with each new vial to get a sense of any difference because there are 4 known cat codes and each uses a slightly different algorithm and may or may not be THAT accurate.

Thanks, Linda. I have anticipated this and if you look at the AT/FS table attached to my SS, you'll see that I did comparison testing with the remnants of the previous vial of AT strips and am now doing periodic comparison tests with my current vial. I'll do more testing at less critical times for this vial and then for each new AT vial going forward.
 
Wow! That's looking really good Kris! Teasel is obviously putting you through your paces but it looks like you are playing chess and winning! :) delighted for you. :) keep it up!
 
I'm curious, what code is your AT meter set to? I have been using FS strips too and when I compare them the numbers are within a couple of points or exactly the same (and I mean points in US numbers). Mine is coded 07.
 
I'm curious, what code is your AT meter set to? I have been using FS strips too and when I compare them the numbers are within a couple of points or exactly the same (and I mean points in US numbers). Mine is coded 07.
Mine is set to code 38 because that's what's on my current vial of AT strips. As you can see, I'm using world units. If you go have a look at the AT/FS comparison test page on my SS, you can see what I'm doing to get an idea of how to interpret FS numbers. I'm planning to do a few of these tests whenever I start a new vial of AT strips. I really want to be able to use FS strips (the AT strips are so $$$) more but need a clearer idea of how they read. So far, I'm pleased with the results. I'll use the AT strips at critical times.
 
AMPS was 11.6 (FS strip - likely 10.8-ish with AT). Good number. I gave him 2.65 u again. Getting better at having the syringe plunger just nudging the bottom of a barrel mark. :)
 
Last edited:
Mine is set to code 38 because that's what's on my current vial of AT strips. As you can see, I'm using world units. If you go have a look at the AT/FS comparison test page on my SS, you can see what I'm doing to get an idea of how to interpret FS numbers. I'm planning to do a few of these tests whenever I start a new vial of AT strips. I really want to be able to use FS strips (the AT strips are so $$$) more but need a clearer idea of how they read. So far, I'm pleased with the results. I'll use the AT strips at critical times.

I wonder if you will find certain AT codes that give closer results for the two strip types. I was really surprised to see the numbers be pretty much identical on mine.

The prices are crazy... I bought the AT meter without realizing you could use a human one. Didn't know what I was getting myself into :) The FS strips are better, though still pretty darn pricey. The things we do for our cats!
 
I wonder if you will find certain AT codes that give closer results for the two strip types. I was really surprised to see the numbers be pretty much identical on mine.

The prices are crazy... I bought the AT meter without realizing you could use a human one. Didn't know what I was getting myself into :) The FS strips are better, though still pretty darn pricey. The things we do for our cats!

Check out MrWorfsMom's note to me above. As she has said, some codes probably give better agreement between the AT/FS strips. That's why I'll be testing each new AT or FS vial against the other.

Yes, the strip prices are crazy and particularly bad here in Canada because of the low $CAD. My animals are worth the world to me though! :cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top