The Ultramarathon Part 3

Status
Not open for further replies.
Looks like it! Interesting that sometimes the first cycle on an increase is a little lower, then he flattens out, then he gradually drops. Sure has his own individual pattern!
 
Looks like it! Interesting that sometimes the first cycle on an increase is a little lower, then he flattens out, then he gradually drops. Sure has his own individual pattern!
He sure does! I try to imagine the scenarios in his physiology that create this pattern. I think if the dose is too low he flattens and stays there. I hope that a dose that's near the mark will get him coming down within a few cycles. There may be signs of that happening now??
 
Last edited:
Spoke too soon about a red: PMPS is 23.3. A bit of bouncing going on today I think. I'll continue with the 3.2 u dose this evening.
 
Woke up to AMPS of 8.0! Stalled 20 min and BG was 10.8. After total stall of 40 min BG was 10.1, essentially unchanged. As per earlier discussion on Fabienne and Terry's thread, the BG I'm officially entering as AMPS on the SS is the final value where I decided to shoot. Three cats were VERY unhappy at having their breakfast delayed!

I'm dropping his dose to 2.6 u. This is based on what I see on his SS on 09/05 AM, 09/11 PM, 09/20 PM and 09/24 AM. I'm trying to avoid "no shot" as much as possible. I have to be out from +3 to around +6. I'll test and give him a snack before I leave.
 
Last edited:
Looks good. It is always scarier to try to decide how much less than how much more. Tassel and Chuck (StephG) are in the same quandary.
Whew! Relieved to see your response, Sue. I had to exercise all my brain cells when making that decision and Teasel himself is still the wild card. These situations are very scary! :nailbiting: The up side is that a dose of 3.2 u seems to get results. We might be getting near the tweaking stage.
 
BG at +2.75 is 20.8 - lowered dose, continued food spike after breakfast, etc. I gave him 2 T of his usual food just in case. I think I can go out with some peace of mind ...
 
I empathize, Kris. I'm in a similar situation with Bunny. It was much easier deciding to increase his dose than trying to figure out how to decrease it--especially on days when I'm at work and can't test. Very nerve wracking!!
 
AMPS was 9.8 so I stalled 10 minutes. Retest BG was 10.8 so I'm in the same situation as yesterday. I gave him 2.8 u (instead of yesterday's 2.6 u) and will monitor. I have to go out from around +3 to +4.5 or 5. I might give him a small snack before I go.

What I have learned (maybe!):
1. 2.6 u yesterday AM was a little too low but he was safe;
2. 3.0 u last night was a bit too high given his jumpiness with almost every dose increase. 2.8 u might have been better;
3. I should have done a before bed test last night. Unfortunately I collapsed with fatigue and fell asleep early.
 
Last edited:
You have mastered interpreting the spreadsheet - even when it is Teasel's spreadsheet! Congrats! Those kind of conclusions are wonderful. Now if those patterns would just continue a little while....

And PS, you get to be exhausted and fall asleep. He will be fine AND we know he wasn't up worrying about it...
 
You have mastered interpreting the spreadsheet - even when it is Teasel's spreadsheet! Congrats! Those kind of conclusions are wonderful. Now if those patterns would just continue a little while....

And PS, you get to be exhausted and fall asleep. He will be fine AND we know he wasn't up worrying about it...
Thanks, Sue!! I feel like I've graduated to a new level ... but Teasel won't let me get too confident or comfortable. :):):)
 
Holy moly! A beautiful green 4.6 at +5. I suspect it's still the aftermath response to a dose increase to 3.0 u last night. If he follows his usual "pattern" I'll see some yellow or pink later. He's just been fed his mid-day small meal so he should be OK. I'll test again later.
 
Last edited:
Beautiful numbers! I love reading your posts and seeing how you're interpreting the data to make decisions. Very cool.
 
Beautiful numbers! I love reading your posts and seeing how you're interpreting the data to make decisions. Very cool.
Thanks for this Angela! I'm sort of thinking "out loud" so that the pros here can see why I do what I do. I've been dealing with Teasel's diabetes for 8 months now but have only been doing things the FDMB way since mid August. I'm barely getting the hang of seeing his trends and deciding how to proceed. That's the beauty of the SS along with the help of others here. He's very tricky so I'm guesstimating a lot. :)
 
AMPS was 21.4. Debating about dose because this high value might be a bounce or from a too low dose last night or both. I'm pretty sure that if I give him 3.0 u we'll see some action but that can cause too low to shoot preshots. I think I'll try 2.8 u to see what happens again - data, data, data.

Changed my mind - I was able to draw up a "fat" 2.8 u so I'll call it 2.9 u and will go with that.
 
Last edited:
Every day is a new day full of potential (wonderful?) surprises. He is not dull - you aren't posting threads about him staying flat and being stagnant.:confused: I like your dose. Let's see what happens.
 
AMPS is 12.2. Trust Teasel to like a dose of 2.9 u! He wants me to have to squint at the syringe while holding it in front of a desk lamp so that I can guess where to put the plunger between half marks on a U100 ... So 2.9 u it is for this AM.
 
Haha... I was squinting this morning, too! Who knew managing feline diabetes would be an exercise in eyesight and coordination trying to move that little syringe to just the right point, spot air bubbles, etc.
 
BG at +6.5 was 19.6 - a bit of bouncing I think.

Viewers of Teasel's SS will notice that I'm starting to do a comparison of values between BG reading with AT strip versus Freestyle Lite strip in my AlphaTrak 2 meter. I'll continue the comparison over time until I get a good feel for how the BG values relate. I hope to reduce the use of AT strips to critical times - eg., scary lows, curve for vet, etc. - because they're so gosh darn expensive!! Fellow Canadians know Shoppers Drug Mart's senior's discount day and also the points program. I got a coupon from Abbott.ca online for a free Freestyle Lite meter if I bought a box of 100 strips. I can use this meter as backup in a pinch after I do some comparison readings. I also bought a box of 100 lancets (same as AT lancets and half the price). So, with senior's discount and cashing in some points, I walked out with meter, strips and lancets for $14 CAD and change. Very pleased with myself.
 
Very nice blue of 9.8 at +5. :) More data required but so far with these Freestyle Lite strips and the AT meter set at code number 38, I'm getting very similar BG values. AT strip value is what is in my SS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top