The Ultramarathon Part 22

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know you said you'd still hang around here (thank goodness!) so please do keep us updated on how the switch goes. I'm so hoping that Lantus turns out to be the answer...I know it's not likely to just be the miracle cure, but with luck over time, it will make things easier!
 
I intend to keeping renting my apartment over here in ProZinc Land. I'm not sure what my Lantus forum posting routine will be yet. Feeling overwhelmed right now. I'm so accustomed to working with ProZinc that even drawing up that small amount of Lantus was frustrating me this AM - blasted air bubble!! o_O

Anyway, AMPS was 20.6. I gave him 2.5 u of Lantus because it's a new (sort of) insulin and I'm not sure that my ProZinc wasn't losing a bit of its oomph. Didn't want to chance 3 u.

See - there's a Lantus post on the ProZinc forum. ;)
 
Last edited:
We'll be anxiously waiting all day for his numbers along with you. Make that we'll be excitedly waiting along with you. :)
 
All fingers and paws crossed that Teasel reacts well and his bouncing flattens out. We are rooting for you! But we will agree to free rent on your condo here in exchange for your hanging out with us. :p
 
Yikes Teasel. How are you doing Kris?
Hi Pati,

I'm fine. The row of pinks doesn't surprise me. I lowered the dose from my last ProZinc dose just in case and it's probably too low. Lantus can be slow to show its effect as the depot is filling over the first few days. I'm relieved that I got through the heebie jeebies of this first day though ...
 
Well, Day 2 in L&L Land begins! This whole "waiting on the depot to fill" thing is new to me. No immediate effect of a dose like there is with ProZinc (sometimes). It really is a totally new experience compared to the beginning when Teasel was on it for 2 months. I'm aghast at how little I knew! :confused:

Here's a thing: we're so used to thinking about what dose to give here in PZ Land, taking our kitty's idiosyncrasies into account, etc. that we learn to be quite confident and independent. It's easy to get reliant on the "Rules of Dosing" that Lantus has if you've never experienced using ProZinc, Vetsulin, etc. Yes, those guidelines have to be followed but it's good to have that independent mindset.
 
I think it's going to be so interesting to see your account of how Lantus is different than ProZinc...and how you can use your ProZinc experience to help the Lantus.
 
Goodness - looking forward to seeing Teasel's progress. Migs has been declared a 'difficult diabetic' and the specialists are considering moving him onto Lantus as well. Although the 'last chance on ProZinc' procedure which was to try a dental appears to perhaps have helped. Who knows, they certainly put you through the wringer don't they!
 
So Lantus is usually 6 cycles also?
It's 6 cycles when you're following what they call the "Tight Regulation" protocol. I'm doing this because of Teasel's tendency to get stuck in high numbers if he's at an ineffective dose for too long. They have another protocol called "Start Low and Go Slow" where doses are held 5 to 7 days. You can't change Lantus dose on the fly like you can with ProZinc because of the effect of the depot that builds up.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top