The Ultramarathon Part 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Very Active Member
AMPS was 20.1. He'll get 2.6 u this AM. And on we go ... :banghead:
Even though Teasel is an almost impossible cat to predict, I welcome any/all advice as I persist - I'm nothing if not persistent!
 
Last edited:
I have read this in the past, Sue. I know that insulin resistance and glucose toxicity are intertwined in a complex fashion and that the way out is through aggressive dosing with insulin. That's why I was up at 3.6 u on 08/03 - my first entry on the SS with data from pre-FDMB days. It had obviously worked in bringing his BG into good numbers after one week. That dose was held (blindly!) for 2 more weeks until I did the testing that gave the data entered on 08/16. It looks good but the PMPS that day was not really a PMPS. It was at +1 after his evening meal. The AMPS of 6.9 the next day is what scared me and made me sign up here.

In thinking back to those days, I don't think that Teasel's clinical picture was remarkably better at those numbers even though he NEEDS to be closer to those values. In fact, my notes show that on several mornings during that period I found large urine puddles just outside the litter box. I have 3 cats who share it but my gut told me it was him and I've since speculated that it's connected to him going too low overnight. It hasn't happened when his BG is higher. I might have to set the alarm for a few +5 or +7 tests when we get into lower values.

Overall - I'm getting a much better picture of him by keeping the SS. My feeling is that he might be a cat who does best with preshots in the high 200s up to 300 and a nadir in the mid 100s - ie., a little higher than ideal but numbers that give a good clinical presentation but don't go too low. I'm not aiming for remission because I don't think it's in the cards. Just being realistic!
 
I too have a mixed feeling about aggressively dosing. Much more comfortable when there is a lot of data and an experienced member - and only to be used when standard dosing hasn't worked. Just wondered if it could another thing for your toolbox.
 
I too have a mixed feeling about aggressively dosing. Much more comfortable when there is a lot of data and an experienced member - and only to be used when standard dosing hasn't worked. Just wondered if it could another thing for your toolbox.
Aggressive dosing can certainly get results but it's a much bigger burden on the owner - frequent testing, small meals to control BG drops, being available to monitor, threat of hypo, finding a way to feed overnight when there are multiple cats with different needs, etc., etc., etc. The trick is to get NEARLY to that level but have a regimen that permits a little more latitude. No extreme program is sustainable over time - my opinion only. I always strive for the "middle way" in dealing with life's issues. :)
 
omg, I know I’m not supposed to laugh but I just had to laugh at your subject “The Ultramarathon Part 2” especially the ultra part! hahaha Kris you're doing great, now it's Teasel's turn to show you that you are doing great!
 
Who knows, Sue. The 3.6 u dosing of a month ago seemed to be a breakthrough but I don't have enough information to judge that data. What I'm fairly certain of is that if too low doses are held too long (weeks, not days) he becomes resistant. As I follow the FDMB protocol, doses that are too low are seen immediately and I don't linger there. It seems though that he's better if he gets a dose for 2 days rather than changing AM and PM doses. At least for now ...:confused:
 
PMPS is 19.7. I'll finish up this evening with 2.8 u. That will be two days on this dose so I'll think about raising it to 3.0 u tomorrow morning. It'll depend on tomorrow's AMPS.
 
18.9 at +3. Hmmm ... resistance could be building. Or is he bouncing off that nice yellow yesterday AM? Will soldier on.
 
Last edited:
AMPS is 17.4. Morning dose will be 3.0 u as per my own "Teasel protocol" -ie., 2 days at a given dose before changing.
 
+7 is 15.5. I had to go out earlier so this is his first daytime test. I wasn't too concerned about his BG plummeting because today seems to be a carbon copy of yesterday. Yes, he is gradually lowering and I'm gradually raising his dose. Maybe we'll eventually meet in a good spot??
 
AMPS is a nice 15.3. I'm sticking with 3.00 u another day to see what happens. I won't be able to monitor today as much as I'd like if I were to raise the dose.
 
Thanks for checking in, Tara! What are you doing with all your "free time" now that Miss Tempest is OTJ?

Lol I'm still here! That creepy weird feeling someone is watching you! That's me! ;)

Actually I took some time off work to 'Spring clean' I didn't do much but cat watch the whole time! So the house now looks less like the local fly tipping spot and more like a house :rolleyes:
 
AMPS was 14.2! I'll give 3.0 u again this morning because I don't want fiddle with a dose that seems to be giving us (slow) progress. He's too easy to spook into bouncing to make more changes than absolutely necessary.
 
AMPS is 17.8. I gave him 3.2 u this morning. I have to go out until about +6 so cross fingers he doesn't do a nose dive - my gut tells me he won't. I didn't want to leave him on a slightly too low dose any longer. I'm cautiously optimistic at this point. :cat:
 
Well, I was wrong about the nose dive! BG at + 6.5 is 4.4! He doesn't seem to be feeling unwell but that's awfully low. I'll test again a few times before PMPS. I fully expect bouncing later. :(
 
D o you mean 4 in US numbers? Could something be wrong with your meter? I don't think he'd be conscious at that level.
No, Sue. I mean 4.4 mmol/L (79 in US units - and I use an AlphaTrak meter). I always state my BG values in world units when I post on here. I'll be testing again in 2 hours because I gave him food when I got home (after the BG test). He always gets a small mid-day meal.

There are other examples on his SS where a 0.2 u dose increase brought his BG way down. - on 08/23, on 08/29, on 09/11. I think that's what happened today. I'm already working out how to proceed if he's low at PMPS.
 
What scared me was that on the US side of the spreadsheet, it says 4.4. So glad to hear it's 79 - that's good. It's good that he has finally come "down". Maybe you've hit his threshold. But yes, big bounce expected!
 
My mistake. I entered it on the world SS and it doesn't transfer to the US SS automatically. I forgot to change the units when I input the BG on the US SS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top