The Tucker and Jami show

LoveforTucker

Active Member
Hi FDMB Family. I thought I would go ahead a start a journal here for Tucker and his new journey with FD.

Brief history. I have had two cats previously that had FD. One, Kitty, back in 1996 went untreated. I was 18 at the time and my parents really had no idea on how to treat his condition. We took him to see the vet after he started urinating outside of the litter box. Then he was dx with FD. He eventually had to be put down due to renal failure. I'm really not sure if the vet offered insulin at the time? He was 11

2ND was Fraidy. He was a Maine Coon rescue that I actually found homeless. Skin and bones/dehydrated etc. I took him in, got him vetted. I took care of him for 6 years. Then I met my husband, got married and moved out of my parents house. Fraidy had to stay with them because the place that we moved to didn't allow animals. Fraidy was dx with FD in2010. My mom took care of him and actually gave him his insulin shots, however, I really don't feel as though she was regulating him as good as she should have. He stayed on prescription dry cat food. smh His condition kept getting worse until my mom called me to tell me that she had to put him down. He was also 11.

I was given Tucker as my Birthday present in 2015 from my husband. He was a rescue from kcpetproject. Oh my gosh he was cute. Just a babieee!!!

I really thought that I kept both my cats healthy, Katie is 13 and Tucker just turned 5 in May.

Last week I noticed he really started to lose weight. He was acting crazy one day. Pus in eyes, ravenous thirst and hunger. I took him to be seen my our vet.. Yep! You guessed it! Dx with FD! BG 495.. DANG IT! Why again! After tears and more tears. He rx'd us Prozinc 2u.

I went home and scoured the internet to find something to give me hope on getting him into remission. I had a friend that I met 10 years ago on a Low Carb Message Board, she mentioned that she reversed her cats diabetes by feeding her cat FF. Eventually her kitty died at 18 I believe. So, with remembering that story, I knew there was hope.

Then, I found FDMB! Wow!! I couldn't believe how much I have learned in just a few short days! The lovies that welcomed me really put me at ease. I'm ready to fight this fight and to get my Tucker to his Honeymoon!!

I should get my glycometer in the mail tomorrow and I'll do my first test on him.
 
Welcome to the club! You’ve done the first important thing, researched FD and found this site. This site is amazing. I’ve learned different shooting techniques and dosing and food advice. My Max is on FF LC as well as the Purina DM can. We stopped the DM dry when I saw how high in carbs it was. Good luck!
 
We’re getting there. He’s finally starting to act himself, gaining weight and his coat is shiny again. Thank goodness for teleworking or it would be much harder and less aggressive.
That's awesome! This is my first day back to work since last Wednesday. I'm having such a hard time concentrating, thinking that I should be home with Tucker. My husband is home but, well.. ya know. ;)
 
I'm so excited! My Relion has been delivered! I'll test Tucker when I get home from work at 530.
Does anyone have a recommendation for a feeding schedule? I work 4 -10hr days. I feed and shoot at 6am I get home around 530, feed then give him his shot at 6. I know that multiple meals are day are best, thank you Shelley & Jess, Its just not possible with our working schedule. Luckily I have 3 days off so I have more time to work with him. If I could take 3 months off to help my little guy out I would! :arghh:
 
My Relion has been delivered!
That's good news!!
I'll test Tucker when I get home from work at 530.
Yup, your new schedule will be to test, feed, shoot.
I know that multiple meals are day are best, thank you Shelley & Jess, Its just not possible with our working schedule.
I've never had to use one but I've seen it recommended over and over for folks that need to be away from home to try a timed feeder. I'm sure others will chime in about this or you can do a quick "timed feeder" search in this ISG or the Main Forum - I tried a search and got a lot of hits (looks like Petsafe 5 is a common one).

Good Luck with your first test!!
 
That's good news!!

Yup, your new schedule will be to test, feed, shoot.

I've never had to use one but I've seen it recommended over and over for folks that need to be away from home to try a timed feeder. I'm sure others will chime in about this or you can do a quick "timed feeder" search in this ISG or the Main Forum - I tried a search and got a lot of hits (looks like Petsafe 5 is a common one).

Good Luck with your first test!!
Thank you Shelley!!! I'll look into that! OK.. First test was actually a fight! He resisted me so many times. I tried his ear.. saw blood, then a hiss fight.. paw.. fight, ear again, fight :arghh: I had to prick his ear again while he was eating. Sigh poor buddy!! 331 BG! Better then the initial 497 last Friday. Making progress!
 
Baby steps Jami. Each little step with Tucker is a new baby step.
Thank you! I tried to get him used to me rubbing his ears prior to getting my Relion. This morning, the only way I could get him tested was to do it when he started eating. I know its not the best way to get accurate readings, but at least it'll give me a window/ball park, right? Or is that just a waste of testing.. :(
325 BG this am
 
You're doing good! Real good! All tests are good tests - the more data the better. If you tested right when he started eating this morning it'll be a 'real' number - it takes a bit more time than that (but not much more) for food to raise the BG. However, you're right, you want to get those preshot tests before feeding & any chance of food influence. It's extra important for when he throws you a low preshot number so you have a chance to stall for 20 to 30 minutes without feeding to see if his number is rising on it's own and it's safe to shoot.

It's okay to feed or to have recently fed for mid cycle tests. We expect some food influence when getting mid cycle tests - like when doing curves or spot testing during the cycle to try and catch the nadir.

This is a good read if you haven't stumbled across it yet: Ear Testing Psychology. (Found under Hometesting Links and Tips)

 
Last edited:
You're doing good! Real good! All tests are good tests - the more data the better. If you tested right when he started eating this morning it'll be a 'real' number - it takes a bit more time than that (but not much more) for food to raise the BG. However, you're right, you want to get those preshot tests before feeding & any chance of food influence. It's extra important for when he throws you a low preshot number so you have a chance to stall for 20 to 30 minutes without feeding to see if his number is rising on it's own and it's safe to shoot.

It's okay to feed or to have recently fed for mid cycle tests. We expect some food influence when getting mid cycle tests - like when doing curves or spot testing during the cycle to try and catch the nadir.

This is a good read if you haven't stumbled across it yet: Ear Testing Psychology. (Found under Hometesting Links and Tips)
The "Ear testing psychology" link was a great read! Thank you! The author really answered so many questions and unasked questions. I had such a difficult time getting blood this morning. I probably stuck him 6 times. I rubbed his ears first to warm them a bit. I didn't get a preshot number. I know its critical and now thinking back over the last 20 min I should have just waited a little longer. Fail on me!! *stomps foot
 
The "Ear testing psychology" link was a great read! Thank you! The author really answered so many questions and unasked questions. I had such a difficult time getting blood this morning. I probably stuck him 6 times. I rubbed his ears first to warm them a bit. I didn't get a preshot number. I know its critical and now thinking back over the last 20 min I should have just waited a little longer. Fail on me!! *stomps foot

It helps me a lot to have someone hold Max standing up. I cam do it myself but it takes twice as long. You’ll get the hang of it. Baby steps.
 
I know its critical and now thinking back over the last 20 min I should have just waited a little longer. Fail on me!! *stomps foot
So you do it differently next time. No big deal. Live and learn. If we all knew EVERYTHING about managing feline diabetes, there wouldn't be the need for this message board in the first place.

Yes, those pre-shot tests are important, because you don't want to shoot insulin if your cat has a really low BG level.
Stalling, waiting without feeding for 20 minutes, can help your cat to calm down and maybe let you get that pre-shot BG test.

Instead of rubbing the ear, have you tried the rice sock or the pill bottle with warm water in it?
 
+2 217 bg
It helps me a lot to have someone hold Max standing up. I cam do it myself but it takes twice as long. You’ll get the hang of it. Baby steps.
Thank you!
So you do it differently next time. No big deal. Live and learn. If we all knew EVERYTHING about managing feline diabetes, there wouldn't be the need for this message board in the first place.

Yes, those pre-shot tests are important, because you don't want to shoot insulin if your cat has a really low BG level.
Stalling, waiting without feeding for 20 minutes, can help your cat to calm down and maybe let you get that pre-shot BG test.

Instead of rubbing the ear, have you tried the rice sock or the pill bottle with warm water in it?
Ugh.. I know. I'd hate to put his health in jeapordy. I havent tried those ear warming tricks yet but I will! Thanks!
 
the pill bottle with warm water in it?
Worked like a charm this morning! Thank you! AMPS 253

I received my autofeeder yesterday! Cat Mate C500. This is going to take away so much stress from me..
Tucker has his F/U appt today at noon. I'll make sure that he is NPO a few hours prior to appt time.
 
Last edited:
I'll leave in about 20 min. He was fed after morning shot, then a few tbs 2 hours later. ok. I'll give some LC Thank you!
 
This is tricky - normally I'd say give him some LC food to try and slow him down and test again in 20 minutes to make sure he's surfing or rising but since you're headed to the vet....

Let us know what happens at the vet.

And Dose Reduction tonight. We can talk about that later when you get back.
 
This is tricky - normally I'd say give him some LC food to try and slow him down and test again in 20 minutes to make sure he's surfing or rising but since you're headed to the vet....

Let us know what happens at the vet.

And Dose Reduction tonight. We can talk about that later when you get back.
Thats what I thought too.. Tricky.
Ok! Sounds good! Thank you so much for your help!
 
Goodness that was fast! They test using an Alpha Trak. His BG was 152. I told them about the 69 and they really didn't seem to concerned. They thought that I was doing everything I should, testing before shots. They were actually quit impressed that I was testing, staying that most people dont test routinely. Initially my vet said not to change food. I told him that I did switch to FF he said good! Now hes on the "Catkins diet", lol. The other vet that was in the room with us told me that Tucker would have a better chance of getting into remission if he was on a diabetic cat food specifically for gluco support. Did they drink the food rep kool aid? LMBO

No changes to dosage either. I go back on the 24th for another follow up. These follow ups are a no charge! YESS!!!

I"m back to work tomorrow so I will only be able to test AMPS and PMPS. I wish I could take the rest of this month off!
 
Last edited:
Goodness that was fast! They test using an Alpha Trak. His BG was 152. I told them about the 69 and they really didn't seem to concerned. They thought that I was doing everything I should, testing before shots. They were actually quit impressed that I was testing, staying that most people dont test routinely. Initially my vet said not to change food. I told him that I did switch to FF he said good! Now hes on the "Catkins diet", lol. The other vet that was in the room with us told me that Tucker would have a better chance of getting into remission if he was on a diabetic cat food specifically for gluco support. Did they drink the food rep kool aid? LMBO

No changes to dosage either. I go back on the 24th for another follow up. These follow ups are a no charge! YESS!!!

I"m back to work tomorrow so I will only be able to test AMPS and PMPS. I wish I could take the rest of this month off!


Great job girl....you are doing fantastic
 
Just in the middle of some work stuff, but quick question - are you going to follow the FDMB Prozinc SLGS Dosing protocol?

"Anytime the BG drops below 90 mg/dL, reduce the dose by 0.25u at the next shot."


If not, I'll have more to add, we want to keep Tucker safe.
Yes, I saw that.. I saw your response on this matter on another thread.. retested +7 446.:arghh:. He sure bounces! He just ate when we got home at 1145, now 115.pm
 
Yes, I saw that.. I saw your response on this matter on another thread.. retested +7 446.:arghh:. He sure bounces! He just ate when we got home at 1145, now 115.pm


Yes I see that he did bounce, probably a couple things going on there....The vet visit may have made him a little nervous and that will raise his sugar for sure....Does he like vet visits?
 
So, tonight I'll test, if at his regular evening bg levels, reduce dose by .25u?

Yes, following SLGS protocol, if his number is above 200, reduce the dose by .25u tonight. New dose 1.75u.

Just in case #1: Don't let a high preshot fool you into thinking he doesn't need the reduction, it's the lows that determine the dose changes.

Just in case #2: If the number is less than 200, stall, don't feed & post and ask for help - don't know where that late cycle drop is going to take him yet.

Can you get a test or two in during the pm cycle as many cats drop lower at night & you seen how low he went today. 69 was a safe number, but we don't know when he hits his nadir yet - he may have kept dropping today if it hadn't been for the car ride & vet stress. If you can get a +2 at night and/or a before bed test to see if the BG is much lower than the Preshot then you could set an alarm and test again to make sure Tucker is safe.
 
Yes, following SLGS protocol, if his number is above 200, reduce the dose by .25u tonight. New dose 1.75u.

Just in case #1: Don't let a high preshot fool you into thinking he doesn't need the reduction, it's the lows that determine the dose changes.

Just in case #2: If the number is less than 200, stall, don't feed & post and ask for help - don't know where that late cycle drop is going to take him yet.

Can you get a test or two in during the pm cycle as many cats drop lower at night & you seen how low he went today. 69 was a safe number, but we don't know when he hits his nadir yet - he may have kept dropping today if it hadn't been for the car ride & vet stress. If you can get a +2 at night and/or a before bed test to see if the BG is much lower than the Preshot then you could set an alarm and test again to make sure Tucker is safe.
Your information is priceless! Thank you so much! We go to bed pretty early. I'll set my alarm to test him again! :bighug:
 
Tucker jumps up on the counter to be tested now. When ever its meal time he jumps up there to let me know now.. I only have a minute to mess with him until hes done with me. He growls still, but at least he doesn't fight. At least he knows, meal times mean, test time!
 
Your information is priceless! Thank you so much! We go to bed pretty early. I'll set my alarm to test him again! :bighug:
Yes, following SLGS protocol, if his number is above 200, reduce the dose by .25u tonight. New dose 1.75u.
I kinda worded this weird :facepalm: If I may re-word it please.
Yes, following SLGS protocol he earned a dose reduction. His new dose is 1.75u going forward starting tonight and hold this dose for a week "Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
Pmps. 535.. really? This cat is throwing me wild cards today!
Ah, rats. I was hoping he wasn't going to bounce too high.

I copied this from a post awhile ago. Written by MrWorfMen's Mom. It might hit home with you, it did for me.
The highs (bounces) are not because the insulin is not working but rather the opposite. As kitty gets reacquainted with more normal BG he won't bounce as high and those higher readings will lessen.
 
I kinda worded this weird :facepalm: If I may re-word it please.
Yes, following SLGS protocol he earned a dose reduction. His new dose is 1.75u going forward starting tonight and hold this dose for a week "Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.

Ah, rats. I was hoping he wasn't going to bounce too high.

I copied this from a post awhile ago. Written by MrWorfMen's Mom. It might hit home with you, it did for me.
The highs (bounces) are not because the insulin is not working but rather the opposite. As kitty gets reacquainted with more normal BG he won't bounce as high and those higher readings will lessen.
I understood what you were saying though.. it wasn't weird.;) thank you! I'll keep his dose at 1.75u he sure had a weird day, but, a lot of things happened to him today. Why do kitties have to be so complicated! :banghead:
 
I didn't expect tucker to bounce so high either. When I saw the numbers I was like.. really? ! I was possibly thinking maybe 4 hundies. Oh well. Regulation isn't complete text book.
 
:):coffee:amps 341 1.75u shot fed. I'll do a +2 PM shot tonight. I fell asleep and didnt set my alarm last night, :banghead: Yes, I'm like a toddler and I go to bed at 8 LOL But I also get up at 5 everyday.
 
Hi FDMB Family. I thought I would go ahead a start a journal here for Tucker and his new journey with FD.

Brief history. I have had two cats previously that had FD. One, Kitty, back in 1996 went untreated. I was 18 at the time and my parents really had no idea on how to treat his condition. We took him to see the vet after he started urinating outside of the litter box. Then he was dx with FD. He eventually had to be put down due to renal failure. I'm really not sure if the vet offered insulin at the time? He was 11

2ND was Fraidy. He was a Maine Coon rescue that I actually found homeless. Skin and bones/dehydrated etc. I took him in, got him vetted. I took care of him for 6 years. Then I met my husband, got married and moved out of my parents house. Fraidy had to stay with them because the place that we moved to didn't allow animals. Fraidy was dx with FD in2010. My mom took care of him and actually gave him his insulin shots, however, I really don't feel as though she was regulating him as good as she should have. He stayed on prescription dry cat food. smh His condition kept getting worse until my mom called me to tell me that she had to put him down. He was also 11.

I was given Tucker as my Birthday present in 2015 from my husband. He was a rescue from kcpetproject. Oh my gosh he was cute. Just a babieee!!!

I really thought that I kept both my cats healthy, Katie is 13 and Tucker just turned 5 in May.

Last week I noticed he really started to lose weight. He was acting crazy one day. Pus in eyes, ravenous thirst and hunger. I took him to be seen my our vet.. Yep! You guessed it! Dx with FD! BG 495.. DANG IT! Why again! After tears and more tears. He rx'd us Prozinc 2u.

I went home and scoured the internet to find something to give me hope on getting him into remission. I had a friend that I met 10 years ago on a Low Carb Message Board, she mentioned that she reversed her cats diabetes by feeding her cat FF. Eventually her kitty died at 18 I believe. So, with remembering that story, I knew there was hope.

Then, I found FDMB! Wow!! I couldn't believe how much I have learned in just a few short days! The lovies that welcomed me really put me at ease. I'm ready to fight this fight and to get my Tucker to his Honeymoon!!

I should get my glycometer in the mail tomorrow and I'll do my first test on him.
hey :) Commented on your other post but i am also here :)
 
remember when you change a dose...you have to keep it for 3 days :) Tucker is so beautiful. You had many cats...even a Maine Coon. Its nice to have you and you will get all the help you need here :)
 
Last edited:
remember when you change a dose...you have to keep it for 3 days
Hey Lalkabee - Jami is following SLGS protocol where you hold the dose for a week and then do a curve to determine if the dose needs changing - unless, of course, if at anytime during the week Tucker falls below 90 then Jami would reduce the dose immediately.

I wonder if you're thinking of the Prozinc Modified method that has you holding the starting dose for 3-5 days (6-10 cycles) and subsequent doses held for 3-6 cycles.

Prozinc Dosing Methods
 
Back
Top